PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness

Walk your critter companion in comfort and safety with the Walk-N-Vest leash and harness combo.
Overall rating:
2.692 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 25
12 of 26(46%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Review 1 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Hamster love it

September 21, 2013
by Astroloveit
fromHuntsville tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamster loves it fire ball gets all happy when she sees it
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, portable, easy to use
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Pretty Good

July 18, 2013
by PuppyLover20
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this harness for my guinea pig. It was enjoyable to play with my guinea pig using this harness, as he would follow wherever I went. It was easy to put on and easy to use which was very helpful to me. I would recommend this product for any adventurous, fun-loving guinea pig lover!
Pros: comfortable, portable, easy to use
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

June 27, 2013
by ShelbyB
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Does this work for baby bunnies? i have 5 bunnies and i want to get a harness for them.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Doesn't work.

May 8, 2012
by Rattsan
fromEugene, OR
Originally I got this for my rats, however since rats have no apparent neck - didn't work at all.
Despite that, I thought it would easily work for the guinea pig! ...He wouldn't walk in it.
But, of course, when I got my ferrets I remember this still sitting in my pet supplies and though - at last! Nope; it took my ferret 2 minutes to figure out how to squeeze out of it, even on the smallest setting. Cyrus is an adult male so it wasn't too big, but just in case I tried it on my bigger male Jasper - but no. It took him a little bit longer (more like 5 minutes) while running with me in the backyard to pull backwards and just pop out. I was also using my Marshall harness at the time and neither one could get out of it.
Moral? Don't waste your money. This may work on something like a rabbit or maybe even a different guinea pig - but it isn't very good for rats or ferrets, despite how they advertise.
Pros: comfortable, lightweight, portable
Cons: doesn't work
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Does not work

April 22, 2012
by ratlover350
fromMAryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought it for my rats and they hated it. I could only get it on one of them and then she could not walk. It was to bulky and she would pull her legs inside and lie there.
Cons: Not Easy to Use, heavy, doesn't work
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Got it for my rats

February 5, 2012
by Joannekangaroo
fromcanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My rats Noodle and Bobbi fit perfectly into this vest. I like how it is adjustable and soft against their skin.
But fair warning- it takes time for them to get used to it
Pros: comfortable, lightweight
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Great for young ferrets

November 1, 2011
by milosmama
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
While most ferret harnesses are way too big for ferrets under 6 months of age, this harness fit really well. I love that these harnesses come with a small bell that makes keeping track of them while they are out playing easy. My only complaint is that their is only Velcro to attach this harness around my ferrets' stomachs. Because their is only one buckle around the neck I wouldn't necessarily trust this harness with a walk around the town. However, it is a great way to introduce little ones to harnesses or as a way to keep a bell on them when collars don't work or don't fit.
Pros: easy to use, portable, lightweight
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

um! cheap

August 27, 2011
by ilovesofe
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
me and my frined iloverigsby were shoping at petsmart and just love these harness we thought they were adorable and just had to have, but as soon as we got home, and tryed them on are rat "rigsby and sofe" they did not like the feeling they would slip out or just fall over the whole time 2 star rating is for 1 cheap and 2 cute read more info "iloverigsby"
Cons: Not Easy to Use, doesn't work
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

EEEWWW

August 27, 2011
by iloverigsby
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i got it for my rat and hated it but its cute . so i made one out of string and its much beter than this .
Pros: lightweight
Cons: Not Easy to Use, doesn't work
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Don't bother

May 8, 2011
by Anonymous
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Don't bother getting this for a rat! I don't even see how this would work for any rat. I have large males, and they escape immediately. The proportions of this harness just do not work.
Cons: doesn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Fun for a little while...

November 7, 2010
by skkycat
fromEdwardsville IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had a hamster named Bubbles, she loved to be dressed up, played with, and most of all she liked to walk around my house. It was dangerous if I let her run around by herself, OBVIOUSLY! And I also have two dogs and two cats so that was REALLY dangerous, anyway my step-sister (the actual owner of Bubbles) bought this along time ago and then we found it so we put on Bubbles and she loved that thing! We ran her around the house all day!! The only thing is after a while the leash will start to break and the material will rip.):
Pros: fun for you and the pet, cute
Cons: material rips after a year, weak leash
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

This failed.

August 2, 2010
by Psychepirate
fromColorado Springs, Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this as a test, my two rats absolutely hated it. Well, I suppose only one did, because it didn't fit the other one. I tried to put it on Plato, my small fancy rat; and he struggled, pushed and squirmed out of it. The one time I got it on him, he couldn't walk, and if he tried he just fell over on his side.
Cons: didn't fit, difficult to put on, ill proportioned, hard to walk in
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Doesnt work for Guinea Pigs :(

July 5, 2010
by Anonymous890
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product doesnt work for a guinea pig. I only tried, but luckily I can return it. They had no guinea pig harnesses,and the stock on guinea pig products was low. My Daughter and I were sadly dissapointed,but when we return it, we'll get our money back and a REAL guinea pig harness. The guinea pig harnesses there were last time were good , but I didnt bring money,so my daughter had to pay.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Wellll...

March 25, 2010
by Conservative
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased one of these for my 2 male rats, and was planning on buying a second if it worked out. The harness its self was great. Soft, lightweight, a good price, and it came in purple :) One of my rats was quite laid back and very cuddly. I had no trouble getting this on him. My other rat, well, I never got it on. He was very skittish and shy (weird, they both came from the same cage, same place, polar oposite personalities). The problem was getting this to stay on. Granted, my rat was fairly small, but I bought the smallest size they had. He would just reach his paws into the neck and free his front legs. He never got it completely off, part would still be around his belly, but he did get most of the way out. I wish it would have worked for them. A neighbor did have one for their ferret, and it worked fine. I think this would be good for ferrets or somewhat less flexible pets, like cavies, but definately not suitable for rats.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

its ok

March 10, 2009
by gizzymomo
fromnorwood, pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
1 out of my 2 ferrets fit it. but thats because she is small, the things label is "Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness" did u not notice the 'small' in it. my other ferret gets the regular sized one cause he is larger. the only problem is that she is always trying to get out of it.
Pros: just the right size
Cons: always tries to get out of it
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

Not Good For ferrets!

February 20, 2009
by Anonymous
fromUnited States
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I tried this at the store and it was not long enough for both my ferrets (I have a girl and a guy). It seemed great for large rats but do not waste your money on this for your ferrets! I would buy the H harnesses that are not vests, My ferrets seem more compfortable and thye don't try to get out.
Pros: great for rats
Cons: bad for ferrets
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

takes time

February 7, 2009
by birdmaster
fromFL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i got this for my guinua pig and at first she didn't like it and
slipped out of it easly. What i found out is you need to put
it on her for a month and wonce she's used to it then put the leash on her. i haven't tryed it yet but it sher sounds like it's going to work!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

Most small animals don't like it!

January 6, 2009
by Cyanide
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just bought the last one at the store today and its pretty much impossible to get on my hamster! he just starts to gnaw on it. It's too bad because my hamster really loves to explore. Theres just no way of me communicating to him that with this he could run around everywhere. I'm going to give it another try later and see if i have any luck but if not i will just return it. I think it would be great for those who have slower hamsters that are not very active but for mine, hes just too hyper and won't sit still long enough to let me put it on him.
Cons: not for active hamsters, too hard to put on
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

December 30, 2008
by leigh3
fromRichmond, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product is not reliable for smaller pets like rats. My pet rat was able to slip out in less than a minute. But, I really love this product when it comes to larger animals like guinea pigs. My guinea pig loves it!!
Pros: works great for larger small animals
Cons: cannot be used with the smaller small pets
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ware Walk-N-Vest Small Pet Harness
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

oh rats!

October 5, 2008
by skinx
fromiowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product is way to difficult and uncomfortable for rats. They get out quickly and frankly do not like it at all!. I have three and one is quite big still he could get out. Not worth time hassle or funds. I want my money back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next