PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems

Scientifically designed to make your life easier and the health and clarity of your aquarium better. Now that's technological advancement!
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 76
40 of 78(51%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

Will not keep small tank clean

March 5, 2014
by Shannon14
fromMiddle River, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
I bought this filter (for 30 gallon) for my 15 gallon tank and it will not keep the water clean. When you take the filter out it has little dirt on it. Its a shame I paid almost $30 for it and the water is dirty. Really expect better for Tetra. Stop changing the product it was better before. I will be returning it this week :(
Pros: easy to install, easy to clean
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews

Good filter but there are better ones

January 17, 2014
by FishGuyinKY
fromKentucky
What is your gender?M
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
I have been running this power filter on a 75 gallon tank for almost 2 years.
Pros
Reasonable price, easy setup, reliable, and filters are very easy to find and also reasonable in cost. The motor is outside of the box which means that you do not have to prime it if you water level is right. BIG plus for power outages.
Cons
Tends to get noisy after a month or so of use, the uptake tube has to be put back together if bumped slightly.
My tank has live plants, a very fine substrate and automated CO2 injection. The CO2 system also includes a mechanical and chemical filter on the front side. With that being said the water quality using this filter has never been a problem. I have never lost an animal because of this filter. With a moderate load of fish this system will do well enough. It is simple to setup and maintain. The biggest con in my book is how noisy the pump gets after such a short period of time. At first I thought it had picked up a small piece of substrate but after careful cleaning it was still pretty loud. There are better filters out there that has more options for media and more quiet operation, but for the reliability, simple operation and cost, this one is hard to beat.
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

November 29, 2013
by Cea197
fromSouth New Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
Bought this EX70 about a month ago. I have a 60 gallon tank that since I have this filter I have to change the water every few days. The water is cloudy and smells I had a flual canister 405 and this can't compare
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews

LUV THESE FILTER SYSTEMS!

November 26, 2013
by pamcracker
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
THEY ARE WONDERFUL PRODUCTS FOR THE PRICE, ABSOLUTELY GREAT!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

GREAT SIMPLE FILTER

November 3, 2013
by LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL
fromOttawa
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I guess some people think its so loud but its just not that loud. Its not the quietest filter ever but its a white sound that you get used to. If you take a look at the 1 star reviews, you'll see that must of them only talk about the sound. It does the job, once i put it, in my water got clear in less then 15 minutes. The cartridge is very dense, and the bio scrubbers are great. I put some bio-max between the bio scrubbers for even better biological filtration.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

Great filter

September 23, 2013
by rrf81
fromAbbotsford BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
I have the ex70 on my 55 gallon tank. The water never looked clearer. The filter runs silent. Which is nice since I had to move the aquaclear to another room and tank for the noise it made. I now have also purchased the ex20 for my smaller 15 gallon. love these filters they run silent, and it is very easy to change the cartridges. Think I will slowly replace all my filters with these ones.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews

If you're a beginner read this

September 17, 2013
by Anonymous
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews
A year ago only wanting to add some decor to the living room we purchased a 10 Gallon starter kit, I knew nothing about the hobby, of course after a couple of months researching and a lot of discovery I became completely hooked on it.
1ST rule of law, always have a filter with larger capacity than your aquarium, with that in mind I went to Petsmart and bought the Tetra EX45 to replace the poor 10 gallon filter that came with the aquarium.
I am not telling you this filter doesn't do the job, it does, for some time.
This filter is a nightmare to clean, specially if you have live plants in the tank, also the replaceable carbon filters come in packs of 3 and cost 16.99, consider that usually you need to replace each of them every 2 weeks and now you'll know how much you'll be spending per year.
Also, if you're new in the hobby, you'll learn sooner or later that by replacing the carbon filter you're only re-initiating the tank cycling all over again, yes I know this filter also has the bio-scrub cartridge to keep bacteria, but it's not enough. You could also try not to replace the carbon filter and just try to rinse it in aquarium water after a water change, it will work 2 or 3 times, but they are made on a way that they will start falling apart after a couple of risings, no escape.
I am not even going to enter into the details of cleaning the parts and disassembling the filter as it gets dirty, it's an absolute nightmare and you'll be feeling like smash it against the wall on several occasions.
For over a year I followed the recommended maintenance, performed the water changes, etc, but I could always notice the water flow in this filter was getting weaker and weaker, came a time I was cleaning this thing once a week, absolutely insane, finally last week I took a look at my water, at the ridiculous slow and little cascade effect and just went to petsmart and bought something new.
I know the guidelines tell us not to mention competitors, but I gotta say this, go with any of the Aquaclear filters, before they stop selling them, not only they are much better in quality, as they allow you a much better choice on the type of media you will use on your filtration, I know using 3 different types of filtration might seem confusing for a novice, but believe me, as long as you follow the manual you'll have it assembled and running in less than 20 mn.
And above it all, let's stop with this myth that activated carbon is necessary to a better water filtraton, it's not true, and I give you 2 reasons.
A) Activated Carbon will wear off about 2 weeks after you start using it, after you'll think you have it there, but it's just dead weight.
B) You only need Carbon filtration in case you have been running some sort of fish medicine or antibiotics and now you want to remove it from the water column as you don't need it anymore.
Again, please listen to me, go with Aqua Clear, buy one size above what you need, and after 2 weeks replace the carbon with Purigen or even another Aqua Clear Biomax.
You will see the difference, not to say that you will not be buying more replacement filters at 16.99 each pack.
You'll be replacing the sponge every 6 months (I know ppl who never replaced it in a year) and it costs 2.99 each. You don't need the carbon, so the biomax or any other similar media will also last you around half a year and the price is not even 5.00.
Pay a little more now, save a LOT in the long term.
I just wish someone would have told me this a year and a half ago.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: hard to clean
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

whispers can be heard loud and clear

August 19, 2013
by seenohearyes
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Its far from a whisper but it does the job
Pros: easy to clean, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

Easy, Quiet, Excellent.

July 20, 2013
by Craven
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
I just simply do not understand all of the noise complaints and mechanical issues being brought up in so many of this product's reviews. I'm running this as a supplementary filter on my 55 gallon tank and it works beautifully. Easy maintenance, easy assembly, and an affordable price make this model a must have, in my opinion.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews

Not well made and a pain to maintain

July 7, 2013
by UnhappyINKS
fromWichita, KS
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews
Have been using the filter for months, cleaned the hood and found the intake tube had unseated. 2 hours to get it and the rubber gromet back on the filter. Will be replacing this hunk of junk today.
Pros: works great
Cons: hard to clean, Hard to Install
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews

February 17, 2013
by BHuizinga
fromHudsonville Mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
I bought it because it was cheaper to get a new filter than it was to put replacement media in my marine filter. It did a great job keeping my tank clean, but has a tendency to get plugged up in a tank that has sand for substrate. I had it a year,and the plastic is cracking.
Pros: works great, easy to clean
Cons: Hard to Install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews

LOUD LOUD AND ... yep, LOUD!!

February 12, 2013
by Asprinman
fromSeattle, Wa
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
Works great on keeping our tank clean (55gal with EX70), but way too loud. Yes it does quiet down "a little" as one reviewer said, “when the motor gets a layer of algae on it”, but not enough to even come close to recommending. Only bought because Pet Smart quit carrying the filters for their in house brand.
Pros: works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

Better then what i had before.

February 11, 2013
by Slappo
fromNJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
After reading reviews i was fenced on buying it or not but since my QuiteFlow 55/75 couldnt handle my tanks and made more noise them my bubbler, it was time to switch. Ive been very impresses with my EX70. Its a whole lot quiter then my Quite flow and my water is 10x cleaner then before and its been in use for the last few months. I have a 55 gal tank with 3 large gold fish and 2 sucker fis about the same size as my goldies and the water is still clean and clear. Alot of ppl have there opinions and mine is that this is a quiality product and if maintained properly, it will last your for a long time.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

Quiet and clean

February 2, 2013
by Quart
fromHudsonville, MI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this filter a few months ago and have been using it since. The tank is about 5 feet from me as I write this, and I can hardly hear it at all. When the water gets too low, I can audibly hear the water coming out of the filter, but if that bothers me, I just add a little more water. It keeps my 55 gallon tank very clean. Even after cleaning the gravel, when old bits of stuff get knocked back into the water, it only takes about 15 minutes for it to be clear again. All the parts stay together and I haven't had to rebuild anything since I got it. It does a great job!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 78 reviews

Not really what it's cut-out to be.....

January 31, 2013
by 904Rach
fromJax, FL
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I purchased mine about 8 months ago so it's had plenty of time to prove itself. I have a 39 gal aquarium that is overstocked, so I added a modified marineland powerhead with a fluval filter... The existing Tetra filter would never keep the tank parameters within range without it (I have the one rated for my tank size).
Cons:
Filters are pricey
Non-Carbon replacements not an option
Not as "convenient" or non-messy to change filter as Tetra claims
Pros:
Pump placement helps prime (stays below water line)
Works well with my sand aquarium
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

LOUD LOUD LLLLLOOOOOUUUUUDDDDDD!!

January 26, 2013
by pasha2001
fromflorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this for one day and it was lllooouuuddd I could hear it from my room to the living room!!
Do not buy!!!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 78 reviews

I have this for our 55 Gallon tropical fish :-)

January 22, 2013
by Mary2902
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
great product for the aquarium, the only nose I hear is when the water comes out of the filter. But It's relaxing feeling, sounds like a waterfall coming from a hard day at work or school. Nice to sit down next to the aquarium. Just make sure you add water to max level or it will not start. Good luck
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

Buy the AQUACLEAR instead!!!

December 11, 2012
by 2Toes
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This thing is big and bulky and doesn't pull it's weight. It also sits way too low over the side so if you want the water flowing out to break the water in your tank you have to have your water level in your tank a lot lower than normal. The pump sits inside the tank as well which spoils the look because you now have this big black thing in your tank. It also does not have a bio filter to help with ammonia build up. My suggestion is to do what I did and replace this with the Aquaclear filter. It is smaller, quieter has a bio filter sits perfectly on the tank and is far superior than the Whisper. The only thing that sits in your tank is a clear tube that sucks the water up. Far better than the big black pump of the whisper. I can only assume the people that gave this 5 stars have never used anything else.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews

Piece of trash- would not reccomend at all

May 17, 2012
by PurpleDonkey
fromNy
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 78 reviews
I bought this in April of 2010. Not even a year later- in March 2011, it started leaking. I jerryrigged it to work, and in May I called the company. They sent me a new filter- I thought "Wow, what an awesome company, this is great!". However, not even a year after getting the new one, it quit. It will not work at all. Not at all worth the price and I would not but Tettra again.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper EX Series Filter Systems
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews

very little noise

May 11, 2012
by mellie
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 78 reviews
I have the EX20 model, works really well and the water is crystal clear. I like the indicator strip when it's time to change the cartridge.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next