PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food

Contains Omega Fatty Acids for healthy skin and fur. These tasty recipes are a nutritionally complete and balanced daily diet for kittens and adult cats.
Overall rating:
4.929 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 13
14 of 14(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Review 1 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Best Nutritional Brand for kittens and adults

April 26, 2012
by rdavies032
fromParamus, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
2 of my 4 cats are extremely picky eaters. I decided to try Avoderm because it's grain free and natural. Now it is the only brand my cats will eat and they LOVE every flavor, especially the sardines, tuna and crab, swoardfish, and tuna with prawns. I love that I can feed it to my 2 kittens and 2 adults. Great Food!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

AvoDerm Helps Feline UTI and Bald Spot Problems

February 6, 2011
by CatORAMAsMom
fromMidwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My cat recently began having problems with UTI's and was also pulling out her hair creating a large bald spot. She was treated with several rounds of antibiotics for the UTI and the vet also said the bald spot was more than likely a skin allergy.
My cat had been on one of the "better" major brands of dry cat food. I fear this may have contributed to her problems. After much research I found that canned food was better for cats due to the moisture content, low ash and magnesium and some brands have less or no grains that could cause skin allergies.
It has been very hard trying to switch her from dry to canned. She really just wanted her dry food. I tried all of the more high end canned foods in all the flavors and AvoDerm is the only one she would actually eat.
I am very impressed with the ingredients and when a can is opened you can actually see the real meat and Omega oils in it. We are still in the beginning stages but I can already see that her coat is getting more shiny.
I am hopeful that the bald area will grow back with AvoDerm and that the Omega oils will help with the inflammation she has had with the UTI. So far it looks promising!
I am so happy with this company that I am going to try their shampoo/conditioning and skin relief products on my cat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great Food

September 15, 2010
by Sauza
fromDallas, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have three cats. Two young ones and a 17 year-old with IBD. She cannot eat any food with beef or chicken in it, and she has no teeth and has deficient kidneys so she needs to eat mainly wet food.
Before, I had been feeding Fancy Feast Flaked Whitefish and Shrimp feast, which is the one FF brand I've found that contains no beef or chicken products.
One day when PetSmart was out of that flavor, I bought some of the Avoderm seafood flavors. They were the only other non-prescription wet food I could find in the store that didn't contain any beef or chicken products.
My cats LOVE IT. My old cat eats twice as much of this brand than she did the FF, and since it's important to keep her weight up, that's a good thing. I guess the only "down side" is that my two younger cats that would only eat a little of the FF will gobble up a whole can of this stuff.
The only drawback is that it's about a dollar a can and thus about twice as much as FF. However, while with FF there would be a lot left over in the bowl afterwards, there is no waste with this stuff. Also, the extra fifty cents a can is worth it to me to make my cats happy. I've also noticed it does not seem to make smelly, runny stools like some cheaper wet food can. And also, though the food itself still does not smell good, it's not quite as smelly as the FF fish flavors and the fact that the cats gobble it up means no leftovers in the bowl to stink up the house.
I highly recommend this product if you can afford to pay a little extra.
Pros: cats love no byproducats good for ibd cats
Cons: cost
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

No more insulin, no more steroids

March 16, 2010
by mickey915
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My partner and I moved our cats from Royal Canin dry food to Avoderm Select Cuts about six months ago. Several things were happening that pushed us to make such a drastic change. Our 13 year old, Dorothy Parker, was diagnosed with diabetes. This was after she had been diagnosed with irritable bowel disease two years prior and spent that two years on a steroid. Add to this our 4 year old, Gatsby, reaching a whopping 21.5 pounds even after we moved to meal feeding and portion control. After significant research we found that because cats are obligate carnivors, they don't digest the filler well in dry foods and some wet foods. This can lead to a whole host of health problems. Long story short, we slowly transitioned them to Avoderm Select Cuts full time. After six months, the Dorothy no longer needs the steroid and her diabetes is in remission, while Gatsby is down to a still heavy, but more healthy 18 lbs. and is running and playing more. As for our other 4 year old, Daisy, she's thrilled with the flavors. I will say they don't care for the chicken entree and the sardines don't set well with Daisy, but they love anything with Tuna.
Pros: healthy happy cats
Cons: the store is often out of the tuna kinds.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

September 16, 2009
by LeMeowmy
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
The two seafood flavors REEK, but of course they love it! Just be careful not to let them breathe/yawn on you afterwards... lol
Pros: natural
Cons: stinky
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great for cats with food allergies

July 21, 2009
by RileyandSavannahsmom
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have a persian and a himalayan and both have food allergies. Chicken, tuna, beef and ocean fish are some of the things they are allergic to. So this leaves their diet very limited. Thank goodness for the sardine, crab and shrimp version of Avoderm. This has been a lifesaver. They love it and can finally eat something that will not make them itch and loose their fur. So as long as Avoderm makes this my kitties will be eating it.
Pros: cats love it!
Cons: a little smelly but not too bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

avoderm select cuts

December 29, 2008
by nicki0614
fromhope mills, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
This food has real meat. No grains, no by-products, no fillers.
You can see real pieces of meat with broth in the can.
My cats love this food, and I am very happy with the good quality ingredients!
Pros: real meat, no grains, no by-products, no fillers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Healthy fur...at last!

August 23, 2008
by SaucyMinx
fromPlano, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
When I adopted my cat, he had almost no fur - he had gnawed it off due to the stress of living in a cage, poor dear. Once he became acclimated to his new home (with no cages), he stopped the gnawing, but his fur still wasn't growing in well...until I got him on the Avoderm canned food. Now he has a gorgeous fur coat! I currently buy the canned Avoderm by the case as I know he loves it and none will go to waste. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has a cat with fur difficulties.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Excellent cat nutrition

June 17, 2008
by Kestrel
fromRegina, SK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I feed my cat the chicken variety of this food. It has a very unique appearance....like shredded chicken in a broth. This might be an excellent choice for someone worried about their cats fluid intake as it definitely has lots of moisture. I really like that this food doesn't contain any grains, meat-by products, or other fillers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Picky eaters LOVE this!

May 29, 2008
by momofmeows
fromBoise, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
The Sardine flavor is loved by all my cats from the picky eater to the one that eats almost anything. They just love it. I would highly recommend this to anyone with felines.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Finicky, picky boy!

January 28, 2008
by bustersmom
fromEl Cajon, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My boy Buster is a very large ( 17 lbs) Maine Coon mix. For most of his 8 1/2 years, I have tried every brand of canned food made, looking for anything he would eat for more that 1 feeding; his vet told me he was underweight & thin for his size and needed more protein. Getting him to eat anything to add that protein to his diet seemed impossible until I found AvoDerm. Buster consistently "cleans his plate" and will even wake me in the morning to feed him! We are both happy beyond belief to find a food he really loves!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

A very high quality food

January 4, 2008
by Puffy2008
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
After much research on cat food brands and ingredients, I placed Avoderm high on my list of desired brands. Fortunately, so did my cats. This is the one food that they will always eat and never seem to tire of, especially the fish and chicken flavors. I am very happy that PetsMart carries this brand as it can be hard to find.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Great Food!

November 9, 2007
by Shanie
fromPcola, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
My Bengal LOVES this food! You can see when you open the can its not overly processed as in the shrimp variety you can see the shrimp! I'm trying to keep my cat on a low carb and low grain diet because that's what a lot of research recommends and I just can't do the whole raw food diet for my cat. This food is grain and carb free which is fantastic! I feed it as a supplement to her dry cat food which is a low carb high protien blend. When we first got her she was on another brand and she had the typical bengal problems with irritable bowels. After getting all the cheap grains out of her diet with the help of avoderm natural select cuts and a low carb (wheat, corn free) dry food she no longer has any problems. I also give her a digestive supplement "Pet Authority Organic Cat Acidophilus" also available at petsmart. My cat is happy, trim and healthy I couldn't ask for more!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for AvoDerm Entrees Cat Food
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews