PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel

Provide cover for your pet and protect him from sun, snow or rain.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 18
20 of 20(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Review 1 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

October 22, 2011
by ToddInColorado
fromColorado
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I purchased three of the 4 X 4 X 6 Lucky Dog Uptown Kennels to set up inside our garage for our cats. The cats are normally in kennels outside at night, but with winter approaching we wanted to bring them into the garage at nights to keep them warm. A few of them do not get along with the other ones, so they cannot all be in the garage together. So I configured the three kennels into a connected kennel consisting of one 6 X 8 X 6 and one 6 X 6 X 6, with a gate for each one, and a gate that opens between them to make it one large kennel. Works great! We can keep three of the cats in the new garage kennel while the other cats are still in the garage. The installation set up was very easy and fast. I was able to do all of it by myself. The panels seem to be of very good quality. I will need to attach some plastic mesh fencing around the lower 2 or 3 feet of the kennel so the cats cannot stick their paws out though. The top is a little funky (just a tarp), but it works. I had to buy an 8 foot piece of pvc pipe to use as the ridge pole since I configured the kennel longer than it was meant to be. Worked out fine. Since the gate is actually only 5 feet tall, it is easy to smack your head into the top gate rail when entering the kennel. I attached a piece of split foam pipe insulation on the top rail for each gate, which is much better. Overall, I would recommend this kennel. It will be very easy to take apart and bring outside when the weather warms up. A great buy!
Pros: price, comfortable, easy to assemble, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Awesome product

February 9, 2011
by scrappergirl
fromGarner, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I use these kennels indoors. I love them. They are interchangable so I can make my kennels bigger. They are very easy to use. The dogs love them. Awesome product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Nice Kennel

April 9, 2010
by Mardan
fromDallas, Texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Really nice kennel ... The box clanked around when it was delivered because the panel clamps had broken out of their bag. The panels were in good condition and the product was pretty easy for one person to assemble. If possible I would prefer to order one more gate latch assembly for extra door security and eight more panel clamps to place mid-point on the panels for a more solid feel. Overall I am very pleased with the Uptown Kennel and I would absolutely order it again if my needs called for another one.
Pros: looks great indoors or outdoors, easy to assemble!
Cons: could use an extra gate latch for houdini pets, could use extra panel clamps for mid panel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Good not great

November 12, 2009
by Hope2010
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
Ihis is a 6 month review of product. Kennel is keep under part of the over hang of the house, so the kennel is protected. Rust is starting to show on metal parts and winter in Michigan has not even started yet. the tarp has fallen a part ( nothing has touched the tarp except the sun. A simple touch from a hand now will rip the tarp. I purchased two and made one kennel put down peastone and decorative landscaping stone edging. the kennel is used only as a out house. I love the idea of this kennel, the height is a plus. Enjoy the idea of the tarp - problem is how to replace it without looking tacky.
Pros: height, idea of kennel, connect two or more together
Cons: tarp falls part in 6 months, rust in 6 months, poor materials used, warranty
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Uptown Dog Kennel

April 2, 2009
by Hollywood
fromKansas City, MO.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I bought this kennel to use in my garage. It is perfect. I can put a water dish in it and a dog bed. My dog will be able to stand and move around a bit. Now I won't feel so guilty when I need to be gone for a few hours. She is still a puppy and is a chewer so she needs to be contained. I am very pleased with this kennel. I had it put together in less than an hour by myself. I would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

A Work of Art!

March 29, 2009
by temrouf
fromSouthern California
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Whoever designed this kennel deserves an award and a big bonus. It was a breeze to put together and can be configured however you want. (I bought two.) Even the cover tarp is of outstanding quality. It is cut and sewn to fit! This is the best quality "anything" that I have purchased in the last several years! (And all the parts were there!)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Excellent Kennel!

February 4, 2009
by GtrPknMama
fromYorktown, Va.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
This kennel is excellent!
A breeze to assemble with the ability to add on and make larger!
I'll be getting another one, joining them together for a large and perfectly safe play area outside for my Maltese;)
I recommend this product to anyone.
The quality is outstanding, stylish and much appreciated;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

December 24, 2008
by Fourwindfarm
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I orderd this kennel based on the ratings I've read. I've got a 10 month old Lab/Rott mix that already weights 100 lbs. Although he's an outdoor dog - I wanted to be able to bring him into the garage in bad weather. Since he's into his heavy chew and mischief stage - I had to have something that was both small enough to fit into my garage, and heavy duty enough that he couldn't get out. The kennel arrived today and I had it put together in about 20 minutes. Very easy. The design and quality is unbelievable. I've seen this same kennel elsewhere for over $300.00. It's well built, and looks great. I would highly recommend it.
Pros: well built, looks great, a great value
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great Product!

October 10, 2008
by criv
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
We bought this after having gone through two regular chain-link kennels that my rottweiler would chew her way out of. We absolutely love this kennel! It is sturdy, tough, weather-resistant (doesn't rust, however the tarp part finally ripped after going through a couple of tropical storms), and it is also not an eye-sore in the backyard. I definitely recommend this to anyone. The only thing is that it doesn't provide much shelter from the elements (rain and sun) so for that I would say a doghouse is better but for containment it is perfect.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great Kennel

September 7, 2008
by 11pets
fromChula Vista, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I have three of these kennels and they are worth every penny spent. In fact, the price is very reasonable for such a product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Excellent

August 21, 2008
by Cartwright
fromUpper Mid-West USA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Easy to assemble, disasseble, and reconfigure shape. Sturdy. Holds up well in bad weather. Good, latching door. Convenient tarp cover.
Tip: Attach upper clamps before lower; avoids panel tipping during assemble (reverse for disassebly).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Love it!

June 30, 2008
by razrdog1
fromWorcester, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I use the uptown kennel both for my puppy and for my birds. The puppy loves having full view of the yard.
The birds are in their cage inside of the uptown kennel when they go out and it is both a safe place for them to be and gives them 360 degrees of sights and sounds. I couldn't be happier. It has weathered our recent storms well, and can be hosed down for cleanliness. I would re-buy it in a heartbeat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

June 30, 2008
by goldenfan
fromKansas City
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
This kennel was very easy to assemble. It is sturdy and looks great. Very pleased with it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Not just for dogs!

June 9, 2008
by cincogatos
fromOrange County, CA
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I purchased this to place my new stray cat in, while trying to get her and my other 4 cats acclimated to each other. I placed it in my living room, and time will tell if the hissing and growling will abate. One of the best engineered and constructed products I ever purchased. A snap to put together, and flexibility in use. Excellent product. I'll donate it to a doggie owner after my experiment is completed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

GREAT KENNEL!!

December 12, 2007
by gk123
fromDE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I just bought this kennel to enclose my dog in a certain portion of my garage. I couldn't be more pleased with the quality of this kennel. It is very sturdy, and it was a snap to put together with the enclosed brackets. I used the sections in an L-shape and attached the two ends to the wall. It confines my dog to the portion of my garage where the pet door is located, but it also allows me access to the rest of my garage through the included kennel door. It works great! I searched quite awhile, both in stores and on-line, before I found a kennel system which I felt was sturdy enough for how I wanted to use it, but yet was reasonably priced at the same time....and I found both in this product. I had to actually order two extra sections from the distributor in order to get the size that I needed, and they were great to deal with. Both the kennel itself and the extra sections came within a very short time after I placed the order for both. I would not hesitate at all to recommend this kennel to someone who is looking for a reliable product for their pet!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Excellent Kennel

August 10, 2007
by mommy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I bought this kennel for in door use. I have an 10 month old puppy that jumped her play yard.
There is enough space for her litter box,, her food and water, her toys to play with and her bed.
It is very well made and easy to assemble with the instructions. Quick too! It is not flimsy and great for indoor use as well as outdoor.
When I have to be away from the house it gives her a very safe place to bed.
It is on expensive side but well worth the price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

5 out of 5

August 10, 2007
by Onelifetolive
fromLong Island, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
This product is absolutely great. It arrived quickly, and was easy to assembly. I needed no tools and was able to assemble it within 25 minutes. My 50 pound pitbull is safe in it and has enough room to feel comfortable in it. The kennel is strong and looks real nice. Theis kennel is worth every penny.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great for a small size pet, even a rabbit :)

May 27, 2007
by Manypets
fromCape May, NJ
Well, that is right! We spent $200 for my rabbit. My neighbor has a pit bull that roams around the woods in my rural area. I had the portable type of pen, but this could be knocked over in a minute. This is what lead me to this item. So here it goes with the review:
It is really a nice pen. The price had to grow on me for a while though. The cover really doesn't help with sun, nor rain. The pen is tall and usually the sun and rain are at an angle. I have a small piece of tarp on one side panel that is fastened by clothes pins for it to create shade. Please note, the pen is 4' x 4' in shape. It is working out great in size for my dwarf rabbit. I have a 45 pound dog and she gets scared thinking that I'm going to leave her in this small thing. You have to remember that there really isn't much room for your pet to move around in after leaving some type of small shelter in the corner for them to get in and out of.
The directions are also iffy at first. I contacted the company with a question about another unit they sell and they decided to email me a direction sheet that had pictures of this newly marketed dog pen. This is how I found out about it. The marketing directions is what we had to use so we could figure out how to put the dog pen together. However, we are not the handiest, so the included directions might be easier for you.
I also like that the dog pen is heavy enough so it doesn't need a tie down or stakes like my portable pen use to have. Without pulling things out of the groud, two of us can just go right over and lift the pen up a few inches so it can be moved to another spot while working on my yard.
I would recommend this pen to others that are looking for a safe haven for their rabbits or other small animals. The one thing that the company representive pointed out that I think is good, is that it has welded wires for the panels. A chain link pen is bad for a rabbit. Their claws could get caught real quick where all the links meet. This is very true. Mine likes to stand up on its hind legs and will just put his foot out to keep his balance. It think it could happen real easy for his front paw to get snagged while he comes back down to normal position. For $200, it is well worth it to have the Uptown Dog Kennel. And in my case, I'm using it to keep a dog (pit bull) out, instead of keeping a dog in. Either way, I still recommend this pen!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Lucky Dog Uptown Dog Kennel
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product