PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan

From one of the top names associated with durable home storage products comes a series of plastic litter care products.
Overall rating:
4.348 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 44
40 of 46(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Review 1 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 46 reviews

Right idea but needs small improvements

July 30, 2010
by RobertinCA
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This pan has been effective in curing our cat from "overshooting" when using the litter pan. But the lip is too low, allowing a lot of litter to be pushed out or carried out on cat's feet.
Also, as others have said, the labels are a real hassle to remove! I would think that Rubbermaid, having been in this business a long time, would know better. If there were another comparable choice with easier-to-remove labels on the market, I would definitely opt for that alternative. (Paint thinner with stiff brush is the fastest way that I've found to remove the labels, but wash thoroughly after using paint thinner before making pan available for cats.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Great litter box holds in 98% of litter spill

June 1, 2010
by DarcyKitty
fromShreveport, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
With regular litter pans I had a horrible time with my cats flinging the litter over the sides and hanging their booties over the edge and "missing" the pan. Both of these problems are eliminated with the high sidded litter pan. It keeps the cats in the pan (not hanging over the edge) and it prevents up to 98% of flung litter.
I would recommend this pan to anyone with cats!
Pros: prevents flung litter, prevents cats from hanging over edge of pan, spacious enough for xl cat to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 46 reviews

Dimensions

May 26, 2010
by elsa2009
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
22.8" length is inaccurate. If you have a larger cat which I do, the actual length is approximately 18" measured from "inside the litter box length". I do not count adding a decorative piece of plastic on the outside (back) of the litter box (1 1/2") or the extending lip of the (front) entrance (3 1/2") to be included in the actual length of the litter box. I bought two today and will be returning them tomorrow morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 46 reviews

Poor Design

May 19, 2010
by catfacier
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
With the high sides I thought this would be the perfect litterbox to control scattered litter over my laundry room floor. Little did I realize that with the VERY LOW front lip, litter would become a BIG PROBLEM! My cats are good diggers and I end up with a pile of litter out the front of the box.
Pros: high sides, large box for multiple cats
Cons: price, low front lip
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

We love this box

April 4, 2010
by JBicetime
fromLongmont, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This box has it all: high sides to avoid "near misses", a low entrance for easy access (even by older cats), sleek design, no scary motor or undesirable cover, and best of all (for us owners), a curved edge where the sides meet the bottom.
The curved edge makes cleaning this a cinch! The scoop slides easily from bottom to side and you don't get that "wet concrete" stuck in the corners or bottom edge like in a traditional square box. The cats like it for reasons listed above. I was actually given this box, but am buying another to replace some older square boxes. I'm also getting the Giant Litter Box with the storage on the side, as it seems to also have the curved bottom.
I was a little worried that the low front entrance would cause litter to end up on the floor, but we haven't had much (if any) spillage at all.
We have three cats, so anything that makes cleaning up after them easier is a good thing!
Pros: easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan

January 19, 2010
by MeowMeowMeow
fromNew York, NY
I got this pan in the gray color and it has been a great solution for my cat who would p00p over the side of his old litter pan. It is also a larger size than his old pan and since he has grown quite a bit this pan is a better size for him.
The only con of the pan was that the product sticker was very difficult to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

The best I've ever had for the cats

December 29, 2009
by Leila
fromBakersfield, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was hesitant at first to buy this high sided litter box. I have four cats who were used to using three large uncovered regular litter boxes. But for me that meant that when it came to cleaning the boxes, the floor all around the boxes was covered with litter that had been kicked out. These boxes are so much easier to clean except when they urinate at the front of the box where they are guided to exit. The necessary curve on the lip makes that area difficult to clean. But, exiting only from the front means they step directly onto a mat that is easy to pick up and shake over the pan to redeposit the litter that was carried out. The cats have had no trouble switching to their new boxes (3). Since they have no covers, the cats can tell if another cat is approaching. Personally, I am now considered to be "old aged." These pans have made cleaning up much easier for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

The PUrrfect Litter Pan

December 22, 2009
by RED9
fromBuffalo NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've been looking for a litter pan like this for years. The high sides are perfect. My fussy older cat hated her covered pan - but would sometimes "overshoot" the sides of a standard tray style pan.
My cat now never has accidents, and really seems to enjoy using this model. I'm going to order another one so we can have one on each floor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Bought for use w/Miller's Litter Box Enclosure

December 9, 2009
by Meginok
fromCentral Oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
After reading reviews and looking at dimensions, I purchased this Rubbermaid Pets High Sided Litter Pan for use with the Miller's Litter Box Enclosure. As I had read in other reviews, the sides have to be pushed together gently to get it to fit.
The litter box is big enough for my cats (who are not at all used to the small, regular-sized litter boxes) and helps keep them from kicking *too* much litter out of the pan.
The item works perfectly for my purpose, and I recommend it highly.
Pros: works well with miller's litter box enclosure.
Cons: no cons.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

It's new and I love it

November 9, 2009
by mimiwthcats
fromSo Cal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a multi-cat home. They all like this new pan. I like the high sides and I have less to clean up. I feel that there are many pluses, the rounded edges and corners are more easily cleaned-no corners to dig out the remains, the handles are in the right places if I need to move or clean, it's lightweight but sturdy. I had no problem taking off the labels. I just picked a corner and slowly pulled them off. I really appreciate this.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

The Same But Different

September 25, 2009
by SpayandNeuter
fromMechanicsburg, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I ordered 10 of the boxes on line and the material is different from what is pictured and from the boxes I bought in the store. The boxes I received today are a pearly white and the material seems slightly less substantial. Just a heads up for those of you who have bought these boxes before. Everything else seems the same. (Actually, the white is prettier...less utilitarian than the industrial gray.)
Pros: great for all sizes of cats
Cons: not as pictured
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

RUBBERMAID HIGH-SIDED "GREAT" LITTER PAN

September 4, 2009
by MAGICSMOMMY
fromCAPE CORAL, FLORIDA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
AS PREVIOUS REVIEWERS POINTED OUT,
THE ENTRANCE IS A BIT LOW SHOULD BE AT LEAST 3 OR 4 INCHES HIGHER. MINE DID NOT COME WITH THE EXTRA ACCESSORIES BUT, STILL A GREAT PAN FOR THE PRICE.
MY MAGIC SEEMS TO REALLY LIKE HIS NEW LITTER PAN.
IT IS MUCH BIGGER THEN HIS PREVIOUS ONE. HE'S A BIG BOY AND REALLY LIKES THE EXTRA ROOM WHICH THIS PAN DEFINITELY HAS. THANKS RUBBERMAID & PETSMART FOR MY GREAT NEW LITTER PAN.
YOURS TRULY,
MAGIC & MAGIC'S MOMMY
Pros: great size & high walls
Cons: entrance too low
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Excellent Design!

June 24, 2009
by thumbsrocks
fromCleveland, OH
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The high sides on this box are great for keeping the litter and mess inside the box. There's a little dip at the entrance, which also helps direct the litter back inside. Instead of putting litter mats all around the box, I only need one at the front. I have traded out most of my litterboxes for this design. I love it! The hanging scoop is also a nice, neat accessory!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 46 reviews

Better than average....but still needs improvement

January 3, 2009
by CrazyCatWoman
fromWytheville, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this litter box because I have a disabled cat who had difficulty geting into and out of the regular litter boxes. This liter box is EXCELLENT for her! However, some of my male cats will overshoot their urine over the top of the litter box walls and I end up cleaning urine that gathers underneath the litter box on a daily basis. I think the entrance height is perfect but he wall height needs to be at least 2-3 inches higher.
I purchsed several of these as I have 13 cats. Again, it is a box that needs some improvments but by far better than other that are currently on the market.
I spent hours and all the elbow grease I could come up with to scrub the labels off the box! The manufacturer clearly doesn't want those coming off.
All in all, I am happy but wish the walls were a few inches higher to prevent the urine shooting out over them.
Pros: easy for disabled cats to get into and out of
Cons: some cats will overshoot urine over the walls, litter scatters easily, labels do not come off easily!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan

December 6, 2008
by TheMontage
fromSt. Louuis, Missouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this for our male cat who urinates high and over most litter boxes. It is a clear improvement over what we've had before because of the 11" height and MOST of the time Diesel misses going over the top. But not always. This will work fine for most kitties, but the really high shooters like our Diesel are going to continue to shoot over the top and make a mess. Here is an idea. Make a new version of this product with the sides higher - they are about 11" high now - I'd suggest 13" - I bet whoever makes this essential product with 13" high sides will corner the market on high sided litter boxes. How about it? I'm so tired of searching for such a box, I'm beginning to look into having one manufactured. Rubbermaid, save me the trouble and add an "Extra High Sided Litter Pan" to your product line. You'll thank me. I'll thank you. Kitty owners around the world will thank you.
Pros: higher sides then others, easy for my cat to get into, easy for me to clean and handle
Cons: sides not quite high enough for our high shooter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

Low entrance great for elderly kitties

August 19, 2008
by jelliajamb
fromBrooklyn, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this litter box for my kitty because he started urinating over the sides of his litter box. He is 21 years old, and is not as good at squatting as he used to be. The tall sides of this box are great for keeping the urine inside the box, and the low entrance makes it easier for him to climb into it. He really seems to like it. It's true that the cut-out opening is a bit low, so we still sometimes have messes by the entrance. However, I read an excellent tip somewhere, which is to use puppy wee-wee pads outside the box. I just place one pad on the floor outside the entrance area (partially under the box), and replace those as necessary. I also keep two of these Rubbermaid litter boxes for my kitty instead of just one, because he has kidney disease, and therefore urinates more than he used to. With two boxes, he has more space to wee-wee, and is less likely to step in the wee-wee clumps. This litter box has really made my life easier, and my kitty's, too! P.S. For anyone who is wondering, the height of the box entrance is 5 inches from the floor.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 46 reviews

good cat box

July 4, 2008
by hammiezrhoneyz
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a good cat box except when our cat digs in it, it gets all over the floor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 46 reviews

Still searching...

June 11, 2008
by Monkers8
fromMuncie, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I bought this litter box about 3 months ago and at first it was wonderful. We have one 8 month old male and a new female kitten. For our kitten this box is perfect. Since she is still so tiny the entry way is the perfect size but for our male who is still pretty small, he figured out to just jump out all the other sides of the box scattering litter everywhere. Putting a mat in front of the entry way does nothing since he can jump out whatever way he pleases. This box is great for kittens, but we are not that impressed. I would recommend this box over just a regular pan, but not against the other boxes in the price range. In fact, I am online now searching for a replacement box! I also agree with the person below about labels that peel off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 46 reviews

Big improvement!

June 1, 2008
by superreader
fromAugusta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm here for my second one of these. All four of our large cats use and like this box, and it's eliminated overspraying entirely. We'd love it if the box were 3 inches wider and longer, and 1 inch deeper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Rubbermaid High Sided Litter Pan
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 46 reviews

So good, the dog uses it!!

May 27, 2008
by Mermaids
fromAugusta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have searched high and low looking for litter boxes that are high capacity and as low maintenance as possible. We rescue cats and teach as many people as we can about proper cat care. This litter box has cut down on cast out litter. It has also solved the problem of those cats that don't squat low when they urinate , i.e. older cats (the low entry port helps them too) and gives them enough room to move around. We have a rescued Italian Greyhound who took to our cat community very readily, and they taught him how to use the litter box (convenient on those rainy days when he won't step outside; anyone who knows IGs knows this is a trait of the breed). He just steps into this litter box, does his thing and backs out. I plan to switch out all the other litter boxes for this one. It's easy to clean, and I haven't had to nearly dynamite dried clumps off the bottom, like some other models. The Cats have preferred this box over the others as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next