PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier

Place this Indoor Barrier near anything you want your pet to avoid.
Overall rating:
3.562 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
11 of 16(69%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Review 1 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great product. No more annoying gates.

April 7, 2013
by cam57
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product to keep my Shis Tzu in my family room and kitchen. I had 2 door ways to block. I put a transmitter in each door way. I only used the collar on him for 2 days, after that, he learned he would get a correction if he went too close. Now, as soon as he sees the transmitter he turns and goes the other way. It's been 2 months now and he still avoids the transmitter even without using the correction collar. Great product. No more annoying gates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier is wonderful.

January 8, 2013
by rjp1
fromAlbuquerque, NM
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier did exactly what we wanted, kept our dog away from the cat litter boxes. I would highly recommend this product as a behavior modifier.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Kind of speechless at how effective this is

September 17, 2012
by Brad353
fromCalifornia
I have a 110lb German shepherd and my girlfriend has an old cat and we just moved in together. Cat lives in guest wing and gsd in rest of house but we wanted to do away with the child door separating them as gsd was always at the child door, head hanging over the top and menacing the cat every time it passed by. No amount of coaching or scolding would keep gsd away, when our backs were turned he was always there. Bought this on Friday morning. Had to trim a little hair on neck for prongs to make contact but neither that nor the collar bothered him at all. Every so often we'd hear a small whine when he got zapped especially as we left the child door open all the time. It is now Monday and even without the collar on he won't go anywhere near that doorway. We even tried feeding the cat in the doorway right in front of gsd and he still wouldn't go anywhere near. Shame they don't hire these out by the day given how fast this did the trick. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone trying to teach a stay away zone to a dog smart enough to know when your back is turned. Range much less than advertised as I have at 80% setting and covers about 3ft although radio unit is mounted on the side of our wet bar so all the metal could give a little interference. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Not for long hair dogs!

August 16, 2012
by MrsKumaT
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
First, the collar does not have a 12ft range, maybe 4 ft at best. Second, if your dog has longer or thick hair, it will not go off at all, the beep is there (neither my dog nor I had any trouble hearing the beep), but even if he is right on top of the transmitter, no shock. We are returning this tomorrow. Saw some better ones on other websites, guess we will just have to wait for it to come in. :(
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This really works!!

July 25, 2012
by stillgang
fromAbbottstown, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have two dogs, a Westie and a mini-Dachsund. Both of them were trained with a compatible outdoor system so when we installed two of these inside they "got" it within seconds. We used gates to keep the in the kitchen/family room area of the house for years. Once these were installed the gates came down and the rest of us were free! The batteries last for months and months. I like to use the more expensive ones that are for electronic devices because they last significantly longer. I've had them last a whole year already. Buy this product already, you'll be so glad you did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

did not work for us

March 25, 2012
by worksok
fromrock hill sc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
bought it to put under our bed to stop our beagle going under bed (where he goes to chew up shoes...)
worked at first and then woke up with him under the bad this morning it was on and turned all the way up collar wasnt even beeping
tried it again just in the middle of the floor seemed very spotty with the distance it would start to beep
i dont know if i would recommend this product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Perfect for goldendoodle

November 2, 2011
by JennAndMika
fromVankleek Hill, Ontario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product works great! I have a 9 months old goldendoodle and she was eating everything we left on the counter. We never gave her table food, but she always found a way to go in the kitchen and grab what's on the counter. We put this machine on the floor of our kitchen with the 12ft diameter and it worked just amazing! She hasn't gone in the kitchen since she got shocked twice. The first day, she was realy scared and just layed down and wouldn't move for the rest of the day. By the second day, she started to realize she can walk around but avoid the kitchen. Now, 4 days later, she is very happy, plays in the house, and walks everywhere but still avoids the kitchen. When I came back from halloween, we droped all our candies on the kitchen floor. She ran to get the candies but as soon as she herd the beeping sound (the warning), she turned around. :) This product is simply amazing!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

This solved my couch problem.

October 15, 2011
by NDTD
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have two dogs that love to get on our couch, we placed the transmitter under the couch in the middle of the sectional. Both dogs learned very quickly to stay off the couch. Our big dog has learned exactly how close he can get without getting shocked, but has not jumped up on the couch since he got zapped. I don't think it actually works 12 feet away and that's why I am not giving it 5 stars, but it works good enough that I am happy and do not have to clean dog hair off my couch anymore. I really wished they had something like this for cats too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

This product works

July 18, 2010
by Macytrainer
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Jack Russell. I love this product. Works extremely well. I have one by my kitchen window and another by my patio furniture. My dog does not jump on my window like she did prior to the device. She would jump on my patio furniture and I would find my pillow in the middle of the yard. No more. The collar beeps and she runs. It only took one day of beeping and she no longer entertains the area. She is very aware of what the beep means and avoids the area. If you are interested in training the dog to avoid certain areas, this is the product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Terrified Jack Russells

September 20, 2009
by Anonymous
fromJefferson, Ga
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
My Jack Russells where terrified by this thing, it has a beep when they get near the zone, then they would get shocked and not knowing where it comes from they would run threw the zone anyway. Then they in the area wanted to keep them out of and would come back and be shocked again. This has been months ago and still to this day, if one of those commercials come on TV with the heart monitor that beeps or Accu check meter anything that has that beep, my dogs are scared to death and run all the way up my chest.The collars had to be cut because they where to long so therefore I could not return the thing.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

stuborn dog

September 3, 2009
by roger
fromedmonton
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
I have a miniature pincher and it is a very intelligent little dog. the problem is, is that we also have a cat and the dog loves the cat food. Unfortunately she waits till we aren’t in the room to catch her, to eat it. We have never really seen her eat the cat food since she is very sneaky but know she is because the dogs food dish hasn’t been touched in the past 3 days! The Zone is awesome. It has corrected the dogs misbehavior. Just make sure you get the batteries specified or it will not protect up to 12 feet. The dogs attempts are futile and a great stress relief, now I can go about my business without worry.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

does not work!

May 26, 2009
by whippetchick
fromNew Hampshire
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
Great theory, but this product dose not work consistantly. Over 50% of the time, the collar did not emit the beeps audible to humans, hence no zap or tone to dog. After 4 days of intermittant use, the collar went completely dead.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Good in theory,poor in reality

February 10, 2009
by catzanddogs
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews
I love the idea of this product. The pros were the size, and ease of use/easy to follow directions. Unfortunately it was very inconsistent; it only did what it was supposed to, at best, 20% of the time. Obviously consistency is the key to successful training. This is a fairly expensive product, and if I pay that kind of money I expect a product to work well. I followed the instructions completely and tried the suggestions they made for if it doesn't work, but to no avail. The interesting thing is I tried this exact same system a few years ago, and returned that one because it didn't work well either. I wanted to try it again, thinking maybe it was that particular unit, and I like the idea behind the product. I cannot recommend the Zone and I will be returning this one as well.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Works Great!

April 26, 2008
by DHinson
fromRaleigh, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews
The zones product works well. Although it was a little difficult to set up initially our 100 Lb. yellow lab is no longer getting on our couches when we are not in the house! We also bought an extra zone to put under our couch on our patio. Overall nice design and works well.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Could be better

February 10, 2008
by mslvrfx
fromPhenix City, Al
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews
I purchased 2 zone sets. One worked one did not. I had to return it. I am training a 9month old Doberman. The collar beep is so low that if there barking or there is noise he does not hear the beep and gets shocked without warning. the Battery holder has come off when they get to playing ruff. Somehow they got it turned from on to open. And you can't replace that piece. I had to buy a whole new collar.It says it has a range of 2-12 but Mine only reaches about 6 feet. And if I set it up on something even less. But it gets the job done even if the range and tone is not that good. For the price I would have expected a bit better.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for PetSafe Pawz Away Indoor Pet Barrier
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product