PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Laxatone Hairball Remedy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Laxatone Hairball Remedy

This malt-flavored preparation is useful in the prevention and elimination of hairballs. Can also be used as a laxative to treat irregularity.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
17 of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Review 1 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Laxatone

October 24, 2006
by jonnyrob1
fromAustin, TX
It is not only good for hairballs, but my 21 year old cat has had a problem with constipation all of her life. Laxatone "greases the skids" so to speak" and helps her immensely. She no longer cries when in the litter box, and she loves the malt flavor. It is like a treat for her. Our Veterinarian recommended it and I am sure thankful that she did. I highly recommend the product.
jonnyrob1
Austin, TX
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Laxatone: For Hairballs AND Constipation

November 12, 2012
by Chrlygrl
fromEvans City, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We have a 6 1/2 yr old male cat with long thick hair. His name is Whiskers and hes overweight also. Before I go on, yes, hes also on a strict diet. On the advice of our Vet, we are treating him with laxatone (malt flavor) to prevent hairballs and help with his constipation. After we noticed he wasn't eating or drinking much and not moving his bowels, we took him to the Vet. After some tests (his bowel was full) the Vet advised us to try some Laxatone regularly. It helped great on the hairballs but wasn't strong enough alone for his constipation and was put on a daily bowel softener also. I also have a Calico Cat that was always throwing up with little hairballs in it and staining our tan carpet. With regular use of Laxatone, she quit throwing up. I am so grateful for that. We now keep Laxatone on hand in our home for our Cats. I would recommend this for all Cat owners. It comes in 2 flavors that I know of. Malt & Tuna. I've tried the Malt and mine like it. I just squeeze some from the tube onto my finger and put it on their tongue if they won't lick it from my finger. Mine won't lick it off their paws.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, taste
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Works Great!

July 11, 2012
by vcisar
fromNorth Lawrence, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My 16 year old cat was miserable and losing weight fast. I read the reviews and purchased the salmon flavor. My cat did not care for the taste, she is quite picky. Therefore, I put a dab on her front paw and she licked it off. WORKS GREAT! she was better in 3 days! Great product!
Pros: price, easy to administer, works great
Cons: Taste
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Bunny loves malt laxatone

June 29, 2012
by Violetbunny
fromNorth Attleboro, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I use Laxatone for my rabbit. They can't cough up fur balls like cats. She loves the malt flavor.
She just hops over and takes it right from the tube.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

My 11 year old female cat loves it

May 31, 2012
by PaulaF
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Domino, aka, fat cat, loves the taste of the Tuna Laxatone. I give it to her primarily for her bowels. When constipated, i squeeze a little at a time from the tube and she just licks it and attacks the tube for more. I definitely will start to give it to her every other day. My beagle loves it too, but he loves anything.
Pros: price, easy to administer, works great, taste
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Cats don't like corn syrup

May 3, 2012
by Chessie1948
fromVancouver, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My cats loved another brand (P**malt) until that formula got ruined with corn syrup. So I changed to Laxatone, only to find it's going that way too. Laxatone is acceptable but barely so. The desired ingredient cats like is malt syrup, not cheap runny corn syrup. So, after I use up this Laxatone, I'm going to buy malt syrup and make my own recipe with natural ingredients.
Cons: Taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Works Great!

April 24, 2012
by jessenlisha
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
My cat had been consistently throwing up for about 10 months. It seemed like it was not always hairballs, so we had tried changing foods, eliminating treats, extra brushing, etc, but nothing worked. The last vet check up she had, I mentioned it to them, and they recommended the laxatone. We started giving it to Kitty, and she has not thrown up since! It has been about two months, and she is down to a once a week treatment. I have to admit, she doesn't like the taste (I haven't tried the tuna flavor), so we have to put it on her front paws to get her to lick it, but it is definitely worth it! She even seems more playful and active since her tummy troubles have been eliminated! I couldn't be happier with this product!
Pros: works great, price
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Works Great!

July 15, 2010
by Amashley
fromLake Havasu City, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I had a cat that started vomiting and I noticed a little hair in the vomit so I went and got some of this and she didnt vomit anymore. I did notice while cleaning the litter box that she had passed the hairball...gross I know but at least I know it worked great. My cat loved the taste she thought it was a treat I had the tuna flavored one.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Awesome Product!

June 6, 2010
by WIPetOwner
fromDe Pere, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is the best hairball remedy that I have purchased! I have tried several other brands and they did not work or my cat refused to eat them. My cat likes part of himself bald. My vet said it started as a stress reliever & now he just does it out of habit. Since he ingests so much fur he would regularly puke up hairballs. Any cat owner knows that there is more to hairballs than just hair & it was continually staining our carpet. I read everyone's reviews about the Laxatone brand so I purchased the large tuna flavored kind. He has been using it for 2 1/3 weeks and has no puked since he started using it. It may cost a little more than other brands but it worth every penny!!
Pros: stops the pukey hairballs!
Cons: once it gets warm on the skin/fur it gets runny
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Did not like taste

April 15, 2010
by Mystiques
fromKilleen, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I bought the malt flavour and the tuna flavour. My cat didn't like either. It did however seem to help with him being constipated. Since the next day he did defecate in his litterbox. I know it is for hairballs but had read an article written by a vet that if your cat is constipated it could be because of hairballs. Since he didn't want to lick it of my finger I just put some on his frontpaw which he then licked to clean it.
Pros: helps with constipated cat
Cons: cat didn't like taste
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

December 23, 2009
by meows2much
fromCharleston, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My cats both loved this product, they can't get enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Pretty Good Stuff

April 14, 2009
by MermaidCleo
fromCorpus Christi, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
This was the first time that I've ever used a hairball remedy like this. It worked pretty good and my cats licked it right off their noses.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Get the Tuna Flavored!

June 17, 2008
by Teeb
fromPalm Bay, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
If you are a cat owner, you absolutely dread that awful gagging noise and hunched-over, open-mouthed stance of a cat about to have a hairball. Yes, they are disgusting, and your poor cat doesn't like them any more than you do. Here's the great thing: it's actually easy to get them to take the treatment when you are talking about the tuna-flavored Laxatone Hairball Remedy.
All you have to do is put a little bit of the Laxatone on your fingertip for each cat (it looks like melted caramel, and it even smells good, surprisingly). The directions say that if your cat(s) won't lick it all off your finger, you can dab the Laxatone on your cat's nose, and that makes the cat lick and clean his nose off. I never even had to worry about that, because my cats love the tuna-flavored Laxatone so much they come right over and lick it off my fingers.
Highly recommended for its effectiveness (no more hairballs!) and ease of use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

No More Hairballs!

June 9, 2008
by tlcpets
fromArlington, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This hairball remedy is great. My cats love it and think it is a treat! It sure helps control hairballs! The tuna flavor is their favorite! Try it and you will see how good it is!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Laxatone Hairball Remedy

March 12, 2008
by OceanBlue
fromTucson, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this for my cat who seemed to be vomiting every day. She is older, so we were not sure of the cause. I purchased this product and administered it as directed on the package, and it seems to have almost entirely fixed the problem! She is like a different cat now; she is more energetic and even plays again. And we very rarely have vomiting incidents anymore. I am very happy with the results and I will continue to purchase this item for maintenance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Works

February 6, 2007
by Cashmere
fromGreensboro, NC
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My long haired angora used to have hair ball vomiting regularly in the worst places. Not any more! I put a dab on some wet food and she licks it up.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Laxatone Hairball Remedy

November 24, 2006
by Marcy
fromNew Jersey
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
If you have a cat, keep Laxatone hairball remedy on hand. My 14 year old 'special' kitty has a bad habit of chewing plastic bags. Now I do keep them away from her, but she has a way of finding them somewhere in the house. The Laxatone keeps her insides lubricated so she doesn't get sick if she finds a plastic bag. It is also great for hairballs!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Laxatone Hairball Remedy
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product