PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills

Uses synthetic feline facial pheromones to end urine marking and scratching and to comfort cats in stressful situations.
Overall rating:
4.14 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(107 reviews) 98
87 of 107(81%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Review 1 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Comfort Zone Cat Calm

March 15, 2007
by Hippy
fromIllinois
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I had a recent move and my 14 year old cat does not get along with other animals at all. My room mate has a 10 month kitten and I was very pleasantly surprised! I found this product very easy to use and without mess or unpleasant odors. Cat calm made for an easy transition for my pet to our new home and a big difference! This product made it possible for our pets to be calm enough to get to know one another and now they play instead of fight. My older cat has had wetting problems in the past, now without re-occurance and the kitten stopped scratching the furniture as soon as I start using this product. We have a happy family now and I highly recommend this product. I would not be without Comfort Zone Cat Calm in my home again!
A Very Happy and Calm customer, IL
+36points
36of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Worked for us!

December 7, 2006
by lynnation
fromDenver
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
My cat has been urinating in inappropriate places for YEARS. His new place this year has been my bed. I had to buy 2 sets of bedding and plastic mattress covers and do laundry almost every day for the last four months. My cat is 13 and has done this whenever he has been mad or stressed out for most of his life. After I put in the plug in he did not urinate anywhere outside of his litterbox AT ALL for four weeks! When the plug in ran out - boom, he urinated outside the box again - I'm on my way to get the refill right now. This product has made it so I can keep my beloved cat and I am so grateful : )
+48points
48of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

March 13, 2013
by FelineIncubus
fromThornhurst, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My vet recommended a pheromone diffuser when
I couldn't get my cat to stop marking. The vet said it was either caused by stress, or when she was spayed they didn't get every thing out. O joy!!! now what, I thought she was joking. But I guess my baby girl was having more trouble adjusting to her new environment or it was actually due to the vet who didn't do such a good job anyway, it didn't matter why any more after I plugged it in, the marking completely stopped. This product works so well I recommend it to everyone who is struggling with their cat. Do yourself a favor and spend the money on the diffuser. It's well worth the $ and time you save cleaning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Now a believer

January 26, 2013
by LoLo1481
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
My vet recommended a pheromone diffuser when
I couldn't get my cat to stop marking. The vet said it was caused by stress, and I was like - "what stress he sleeps all day??" I thought he was just being a brat. But I guess he was having more trouble adjusting to his new environment than I thought because after I plugged it in, the marking completely stopped. This product works so well I recommend it to everyone who is struggling with their cat. I don't, however, recommend the spray it doesn't do any good and if you read the labels on the other brands there are actually warnings saying they are toxic and to wash immediately if they come in contact with your skin - yuk. Do yourself a favor and spend the money on the Farnam diffuser. It's well worth the $ and time you save cleaning.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

A Miracle!

January 19, 2013
by MYCRAZYLIFE04
fromLAFAYETTE, INDIANA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
This product is amazing. My cats used to pick on each other all the time and has their little "issues". Since getting this and plugging it in, in the middle of the house, they have calmed way down. There is no more growling or hissing when one of them walks by the other and they are actually laying together. Something I never thought I would see. Definitely would tell people about this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 107 reviews

I am very pleased

January 16, 2013
by bojenie1974
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
We have 4 cats, all indoors except for 1. 3 females, one male. We have had behaviors problems with 2 of them. We purchased the Comfort diffuser last month and can't believe the difference. One of the problem cats is now sleeping with her problem.
Two are together and getting closer. That just leaves one and I think another diffuser in the room she frequents will help her.
I don't understand exactly how it works, but it does.
I will be down there today or tomorrow to pick up a refill.
It's definitley work a try!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 107 reviews

Not worth the money

January 12, 2013
by Martini86
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I tried using this product for my sphynx cat. It had no effect on her in anway. I had read such great reviews on it and thought I would give it a try. It was not worth the $$...and is pricey.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 107 reviews

Not really worth the money

January 7, 2013
by Jennifer14
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 107 reviews
These are pricey and I didn't feel like they did much to help. I tried placing a couple of these in areas where I was having problems, but the problems continued.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Amazing product!

January 7, 2013
by Myranii
fromVentura, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 2 cats, a male and female from the same litter. Sweet Pea got fixed at about 3 months old, but Quinn needed a more intensive surgery so he was 6 months old when we could afford it. Sweet Pea has always been a timid and fearful cat, and any time I would take one or the other to the vet, Sweet Pea would hiss and bat at Quinn. This was at its worst when Quinn got back from his surgery. We had to keep him in our room for 2 weeks past his recovery because Sweet Pea would be very aggressive towards him, and Quinn doesn't understand to leave her alone if she hisses. We had been working on reintroduction (switching them between rooms, feeding on opposite sides of the door, etc) but there was no improvement until we got the Feliway plug in. As soon as we plugged it in, we were able to let Quinn out in the living room again, Sweet Pea was still not quite friendly to him but was not overly aggressive anymore. This was a year ago and to this day they aren't as close as they were before this but she rarely gets annoyed at him anymore, and I do still catch them cuddling occasionally ;)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Soothes the nerves

January 6, 2013
by j1975r
fromCalfornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We use Feliway as a regular staple for our older cat.
She has fear anxiety and I refuse to medicate her, so this really helps her to relax.
Feliway works, so I continue to use it for the sake of giving my cat a better quality of life.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Highly Recommend

January 5, 2013
by LisaC
fromKaty, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
Our neutered male cat "Bud" started urinating outside the box and was told it was because he was sick or it was because we had outside male cats hanging around our doors. Even after moving into a brand new home in a subdivision where there are no outside animals, he was urinating in the hallway to our guest master suite and he has always announced that he was going to potty rather it be the litter box or somewhere he wasn't suppose to be going. I purchased two comfort zone diffusers and the urinating and even his announcements stopped. Both have ran out and he urinated outside his box again, I am a firm believer that these definiteley work!!! Headed to PetsMart to purchase refills and another diffuser for another room to keep him calm in any room.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Works good if using it for the right reasons.

July 3, 2012
by LJohnson
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have used this product in the past when I moved and it worked great. I had 6 cats and they were are realatively unaffected by the move. This product isn't made to be a miracle cure to behavioral problems it's made to help calm cats in stressful situations.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Works Great!

May 2, 2012
by OkieCin
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I run a feline rescue/sanctuary. I had problems with picking & fighting between the kitties, especially unaltered vs spayed females--the same between males.
Pay close attention to the directions or you will be disappointed in the beginning as the plug-ins take apx 3 weeks to begin working. The reason being the product must build up a certain concentration level before the kitties notice.
I placed the plug-in in a room females are kept; within 3 weeks all fighting stopped suddenly. When the kitties were removed from the room, they would begin fighting & picking on one another within 5-10 minutes. Within 5-10 minutes of being put back in the room, the fighting stopped and I could see calmness about them which clearly indicated the product indeed works and very well!
If you are looking for immediate relief, buy the instant acting spray--it works wonders too!
I had heard great reviews of Feliway for a couple yrs, however due to the cost I was reluctant to purchase. It was on sale one day & I was told there is a 60 day no questions asked refund policy on the Feliway so I gave it a try and am completely satisfied!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Worth Every Penny!

March 20, 2012
by MrsChemDoc
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm a little anxious to write this review so soon but this stuff is amazing. I have a decent sized house with very high ceilings so I bought two because I figured "The reviews say there's a money back guarantee if it doesn't work."
I have a 16-year-old cat who has never been very friendly but has not had inappropriate peeing issues. We got two kittens for our boys. I expected them to not get along but our bigger problem was that the kittens were peeing and pooping inappropriately.
I put one downstairs near the spot where they peed in the living room and one upstairs in a bedroom where they spend a lot of time and have also peed.
1- My old lady cat has not slept on our bed for months, even before the kittens arrived. We've tried to figure out WHAT was going on. We had clues it wasn't anything physical because she would still jump up and down around the house, just not sleep with us. If we put her on the bed ourselves, she might stay for a bit but leave within a short time, definitely not stick around to sleep. The past two nights (we got the plug ins on Saturday, today is Tuesday,) she slept on our bed on her own accord.
2- The fighting is greatly reduced between all the cats.
3- My 10-y/o noticed that the little boy kitty is much calmer. He used to wander around the house meowing like he'd lost something. He's stopped doing this. I noticed the boy kitten going to the living room spot but he has not pooped or peed there since we put one of these in that corner!
4- The cats still mess around with each other but the growling and jumping on each other have greatly reduced. Now when they get mad at each other, their hisses sound like whispering. (Hey, it's a noticable difference.) I've caught them getting close to each other without any hostility.
5- My husband and sons cleaned up that bedroom on Sunday and this morning when I walked into it, it smelled glorious for the first time in months.
It's only been a few days but I'm so excited about the results I couldn't hold back any more. If nothing else, save the packaging and receipts just in case, but if you're having problems with your kitties, give this stuff a chance!!!
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Feliway Works!

February 25, 2012
by Pandabear1
fromOregon
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
My cat started peeing on my bed/pillows everyday while I was at work. I took him to the vet and they said he was fine, that he could have some kitty anxiety. They gave me Feliway to try before trying out medication, as well as moving his litter box to a "safer" place. It worked! He stopped peeing on the bed. I ran out of Feliway and didn't think I needed to buy anymore, and sure enough he started peeing AND pooping on the bed again. Got a Feliway refill and no peeing/pooping on the bed since! Definitely worth it as an alternative to kitty Prozac.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Worth the money

February 20, 2012
by Jess474
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
I got a new cat, who decided to stop eating when she arrived. For those who don't know about it, fat cats that stop eating can get something called hepatic lipidosis (aka fatty liver), which can be a life threatening condition. Working with my veterinarian who was ready to start tube feeding or even surgically putting in a feeding tube, he suggested that I try Feliway. The diffuser only works within a few feet radius, and so I closed the kitty into a small room with the plug-in and within a couple hours, she was eating! (All of this after spending almost $100 on buying different kinds of food trying to get this cat to eat!) It kept my kitty out of the hospital, and a few hours later, she was even playing like nothing was wrong at all!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews

January 26, 2012
by Tmuld
fromfranklin, tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews
we had problems with inappropriate urine marking and decided to give this item a go. In fact, we purchased two of the diffusers one for upstairs and the other for the downstairs. since using this product the urine markings have more than tripled in frequency and new spots have been defiled. I am very disappointed in the product as the worsened the problem.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 107 reviews

Works Quickly & Amazingly! but expensive =(

November 22, 2011
by SavannahGA
fromSavannah, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
We had no idea why our female cat started urinating right in the middle of our bed, over and over again. We called our vet worried there was something seriously wrong with her. We were suggested to try this product, since, we have new people and a dog living with us in a small space. She went from a quiet, 2 person- 1 pet household, to a loud and crowded household and apparently wasn't coping.
It was amazing how quick and effective the diffuser was! We did let it dry up for about a week after a month had passed and sure enough she was on our bed ruining our sheets again.
So, unfortunately we are going to have to give up something else we pay for monthly that is about $30-40 in order to buy this product monthly. I guess it is still cheaper and less stressful than replacing sheets and comforters every month.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 107 reviews

Was hoping it would work!

November 8, 2011
by Sothankful
fromShreveport La
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 107 reviews
Every since we got my kitten (shes 5 months old now) she has cried if you leave her, wasn't so bad before but I knew that as she gets older it would get louder and of course it has. I bought this hoping it would work and so far it hasn't, I just ran out and I'm not going to bother buying it again. She's now learned to jump on the bed in the middle of the night and wail until we wake up, wail when we leave the house and cries non stop just for attention and I'm about to go crazy!! She's not in heat yet she just wants attention, I think shes immune to this or something ugh!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Comfort Zone with Feliway Plug-In and Refills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews

Great for older cats

November 6, 2011
by Jess17
fromToronto, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 107 reviews
My cat is 18yrs old & I recently adopted a kitten. I was very worried about introducing a new cat since my older cat has always HATED other cats. It was going to be a trial stay with the kitten. I followed all the professional advice (gave the kitten a safe room (the bathroom) did not let them see each other for the first few weeks - only smell each other, then had the kitten in a large kennel for a few hrs a day so they could see each other). The slow intro went well for about a week & I noticed my elder cat becoming a little stressed (not eating as much & not laying in her regular spots as long). I did not want to ‘drug’ my elder cat as I felt getting a kitten for my enjoyment & risking my older cats health was a little selfish. But when I read that Feliway is a pheromone cats naturally produce & not a drug I was willing to try. Plus it was on sale & came with a coupon so I gave the spray a try first. The spray is AMAZING. Calms my older cat down, she seems less stressed & much happier her behaviour was back to normal within a day. I tried the Feliway diffuser (plug in) & didn't use the spray for about a week. My apartment is small & meets the space requirement for using one diffuser however I noticed it didn't calm my older cat as well as the spray. It still made a HUGE difference. I used the spray only for a month & now have been using both for about a month but only use the spray when I notice any signs of stress & things calm right down again!!!
I have read that it takes about 3 months for the calmed behaviour to become more natural for the cat rather than ‘feliway induced’ because of my situation with an elderly cat & a kitten I will probably use it for 3 months & then very slowly take it out of the equation & see how things go!
This stuff is expensive but worth the money - the spray lasts longer (more than a month with about 15-17sprays a day) & both products come with a coupon which helps with the expensive price tag!!
WELL WORTH IT!!!!
*I have read that the smell bothers some people, at first the spray does not smell, but after a while when you first spray it does smell - however the smell disapears within a min or so...the diffuser smells a little for the first day, maybe not even that long & then you don't notice it anymore...the results are worth dealing with any smell for a few hrs.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next