PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs

Reduces or completely stops stress-related behavior including: barking, whimpering and whining, chewing, urination and defecation. Also reduces or eliminates separation anxiety.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
24 of 32(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Review 1 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

excellent for the anxious

April 17, 2013
by 3491
fromanchorage,ak
I have a 70 pound male weimaraner that has extreme seperation anxiety in a small apartment. He would have accidents in the house every time we left. After trying numerous piddle pads and sprays we decided to try this plug in. IT WORKS INCREDIBLE! He has not had an accident since. Note: this product will only work if the dog is very close to the outlet. I suggest using it in spots the dog will normally have an accident. We use it by his kennel. He has his initial panic for fifteen minutes when we leave but will remain quiet until we put the key in the door coming home. I highly recommend this product to any dog with seperation anxiety.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Great Product - works great!!

January 25, 2013
by DeaconJacksMom
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great product! Yes, it really does work and definitively calms puppy. I recommend it for any kind of canine anxiety, etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Works as described

January 16, 2013
by hiandhello
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Excellent product. Puppy remained calm.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Veterinarian Approved!

August 6, 2012
by DrBecky
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I just adopted a dog who, 3 days in, had already developed some severe separation anxiety. As a veterinarian I was very skeptical about this product but I plugged it in and it worked INSTANTLY! My very nervous puppy for the first time EVER just lay down in the crate without so much as a whimper. I can't say enough about this product and I will absolutely start carrying it in my practice.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Depends on your dog

June 11, 2012
by Dbone
fromHighland Park, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
As with all products, this one may not work for everyone. My 70 lb Husky has separation anxiety and I was looking for something to calm her down without having to resort to something else. I plugged it in for a few days in the room she stays in the most (which is the room I leave her in when I leave the house). She still reacts the same way after a few days. Maybe her anxiety is more severe than this product is meant to work for. I'm thinking that it may work well for puppies and smaller dogs, but my giant dog didn't change a bit.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

Worked at first, then stopped.

January 31, 2012
by HuskyPuppy
fromNashville, TN
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
After a few sleepless nights with our new siberian husky puppy, we were desperate to get break from him crying in is kennel all night. I plugged this in right next to his kennel. The next night was a miraculous difference. He cried less and the volume was down by 90%. Since then, the effect has apparently worn off, because he's back to barking and howling for hours on end. We will be looking for other solutions.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: price, didn't work
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Works Wonders!

May 10, 2011
by PaulinTampa
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I adopted a 5 year old border collie/german shepherd mix from a shelter and after becoming very attached to me, she became very anxious whenever I left and because of trying to adjust to her new home. I decided to purchase this product after reading the reviews. After just a few short hours, she immediately stopped panting heavily, shedding as much, and became much more comfortable. I had purchased two of them just to make sure it covered the entire apartment. This is a little expensive but well worth the price! Abby is such a happy and content dog now!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

Saved my pug

May 4, 2011
by PorterHouse
fromPortland, Or
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Just emptied our original plug in bottle after two years of use in training our pug. We got it to help curb the screaming when we left, and it was AMAZING. So wonderful in fact, that we didn't have to use it anymore except when we left him with family to go on vacation. I'm going back to get the spray bottle to help him relax around other dogs, and travel more comfortably in the car.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

A Waste Of Money

April 12, 2011
by CombatBarbie
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I used this product for my two dogs who have severe separation anxiety...when you put them in their kennels and leave - they scream blood murder. I product actually never worked for me...I'm extremely disappointed and it was really expensive...a waste of money :/
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

It does work

March 31, 2011
by Donny
fromArlington, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product to help my new 6 month old King Cavalier Charles Spaniel get use to her new home with me and it has worked great. I really knew it worked when she started acting up and soiling her crate. I couldn't figure out why she was acting out and then I realized the DAP was empty. As soon as I replaced it she was back to her old self. This really does work and is worth every penny.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

Do not waste money

March 31, 2011
by GenieW
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I read the reviews and hoped that the sucess of others would apply to my dog, a 3 1/2 yr old Wiermariner for his severe
seperation issues...but it was useless. I even plugged it in right by the door he uses to come and go outdoors, which is also by the chair he likes to sit in to look outside but I saw no improvement in his behavior.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

thankful ....

March 28, 2011
by MEEKiAMiLEY
fromMiNNESOTA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i was skept when my husband suggected buying this. but i figured what did we have to lose. our 5 yr old shih tzu has within the last year developed an anxiety to certain noises. ie; bus brakes, garbage truck brakes, fireworks, guns, thunder (even if just on the tv). she would pace around the house, panting heavily with this lost look in her eyes. our vet put her on "prozac", which didn't help and instead made her angry. within hours of plugging this in --- it's like the heaven's opened and she was a calm. which in turn has made me calm. those noises don't seem to even bother her. i can't say enough about this product, shocked it worked and beyond happy that it did.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

February 28, 2011
by Iryna
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 32 reviews
Before buying this product, I took a look at the privies reviews and because most of them where positive I decided to purchase this product. Unfortunately, it had no or very little effect of my shepherd/malamute mix. He has very bad anxiety when left alone and this did not help him. I still come home to a dog that has liked himself all over and sometimes I even find bloody paws. Its very sad, I was hopping this product could save my dog, I did not want to resort to heavy medication.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

June 22, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
stuff gets heptic around my house when its time to clean, so when i vacumn, i have to control my dogs to...my dogs have a habit of destroying things when there is a loud noise...i bought this stuff....IT WORKS GREAT! now i can vacumn with having my dogs shred everything in there path!!!!!!!!!!! they are also very calm to
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

waste of money

May 28, 2010
by catg
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently moved into a new apartment and my previously perfectly crate trained dog started having severe separation anxiety and started destroying his crate and getting sick every time I left him. I gave this product the full 4 weeks it said and it had no effect what so ever on my dog. Really wish I had never spent the money on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 32 reviews

Seems to Work so Far

November 7, 2009
by HuskieMan77
fromRaleigh,NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have been using this about a week now and its seems to keep my 2 huskies calm thru out the night. Only time shall tell. I say its worth a try
Pros: seems to work
Cons: cost!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

September 8, 2009
by Sabestian
fromAtlantic Highlands, New Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This stuff is great...it calm's my dog and had success about urineation in the house.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 32 reviews

DAP Works

May 20, 2009
by i2qtnot2b
fromWinnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I thought that all that I heard about DAP just a sales pitch. When I used it for the first time I thought that it was just coincidence. Then when it ran out and I noticed the difference instantly. WOW!! My dogs calmed down with in 5 minutes of me putting in the new container. Their demeanor changed back to being calm and not confrontational. If your dogs seem to not get along with each other or are not at ease at home. Get this stuff.
Pros: works fast, last a long time, easy to use
Cons: expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 32 reviews

not sure if it works

April 28, 2009
by ellieNC
fromFuquay, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this right around the time I hired a professional trainer for my dogs separation anxiety, and other slight issues. He was literally going nuts in the crate when I left, and every once in awhile he would go to the bathroom in the house. I've had this plug in for 3, almost 4 weeks now. Now I leave him out in my room, and he has really calmed down when I leave.. no where near as much barking and whining, and the accidents in the house stopped at first... Around the middle of week 3-4, he started using the bathroom in the house again(it states it lasts up to 4 weeks.. maybe mine didn't last as long).. so I just bought a refill to continue using it and see if it works. Again, I am not sure if its this product working, or the training.. or maybe both! It doesn't smell at all, either.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Farnam Comfort Zone with D.A.P. Plug-In for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 32 reviews

did not help

March 14, 2009
by suzz
fromgrapevine, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought two of these to help calm my 11 month old golden retriever and a 9 yr old yorkie. Didn't help either of them. They continue to bark at the least noise and hate being near each other. After a month of hoping to see a difference i finally took the product back.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next