PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sticky Paws

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Sticky Paws

These super-sticky adhesive strips can help to save your furniture from damage resulting from scratching and clawing.
Overall rating:
3.059 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
10 of 17(59%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Sticky Paws
Review 1 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Don't put it directly on counters!

March 20, 2009
by Monroe
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I read to put it on cheap placemats instead of directly on counters. I put it on cut up box sides, and it's on my kitchen counter. That way it's removable for when you want to use the space. Unfortunately, it does not stick to my computer chair that my cat loves to scratch so I am brainstorming how to fix that problem. If your cats are crazy scratching your furniture, that means they need a tall sisal scratching post. Cats scratch for a reason so you need to provide appropriate places for them to do it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Good Deterrent

March 9, 2009
by Susita
fromWilliamsburg, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
You need to reapply as the stickiness eventually wears off, but it has worked well on my chairs and kept my new furniture from being wrecked!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Wish we didn't buy it

October 29, 2008
by Chrys2008
fromFairfax, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
The other reviewers are right.
Yes the product says it doesn't work on all cats. It didn't work on ours. She didn't chew or lick it; she just ignored it. Its presence didn't bother her a bit. But, we knew it wouldn't work on every pet. We took the risk. So no grudge there.
What really ticked me off, though, is that the product says it doesn't leave a residue. It does - requiring a razor to get it off. Its hard to get the thing off.
Maybe there's user error involved - did we put the ultra-sticky cat-repelling side down? Except we followed the directions, and put it down in multiple locations, so what are the chances they were all incorrectly placed? Plus, I had the tape on a bathroom counter and had tossed a shirt on there. It wasn't fresh tape either. The next day, the tape was stuck - it came off the counter but didn't want to come off the shirt! The shirt was not made of the type of fabric that regular scotch tape would cling to either!
I refuse to use this product on any surface I can't take a razor to, aka our fabric furniture. I wish I'd seen these reviews before we bought the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

Still debating this one.

October 11, 2008
by Anonymous
fromFort Wayne, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
I am still on my first roll of this product. My cat hadn't done much scratching on the furniture yet, but I wanted to prevent it from starting. He seems to only scratch when I am home and can be deterred, but I think the stickiness has helped too. Now, putting on the kitchen counters and stove is an entirely different story. It didn't help one bit and has been a nightmare to get off. I still have hours of work to do to get 6 more strips off...I think I will need a razor blade. So, if you want it to prevent scratching furniture it might help. If you want it to keep the cat off other surfaces I wouldn't recommend it unless you have lots of spare time and energy for scraping it off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Furniture not counters

October 5, 2008
by catz3
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I'm not sure if this is good for counters but it is great for furniture. I have been using Sticky Paws for more years than I can remember! In fact when I bought my new couch six years ago the first thing I did was put Sticky Paws on it in stratigic spots(you cat owners know where I mean). You do need to replace it when it discolors after a while but I would not be without it! I am on my way now to Petsmart to buy more for my new chair coming next weekend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

Works great, or so I thought

August 29, 2008
by SK28
fromAnnapolis, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews
I was in the process of writing a glowing review about this product (it's been about three months since I've seen the cat jump up on the kitchen counters). Unfortunately I had to stop in the middle of that review to shoo the cat off the counter (maybe she sensed my satisfaction and had to put me in my place).
At any rate, after several weeks of sticky paws on the counters followed by lots of mineral spirits and elbow grease to get it off, there were three blissful months of not having to disinfect the counters day and night. Looks like it's back to square one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

January 24, 2008
by catlover08
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews
Biggest waste of time and money I have ever made. Didn't keep the cat off, then it wouldn't come off. I'll be working to get the sticky off my counters for quite awhile.
I'll never buy it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Wouldn't recommend

July 31, 2007
by Kaboom
fromWarwick, RI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
I purchased this product because my 1 yr old cat was scratching at the couch and door frames. I applied the product to the corner of the couch she usually scratches, yes it stopped her from scratching that area, but now she scratches around the tape. Same thing with the door frames. The only way this would work is if i covered all the furniture and the entire door frame with this product, which obviously isn't an option. I wouldn't recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Works great

July 18, 2007
by Zen1
fromAtl, GA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I started using this product a few years ago for an adult cat, and it has worked great. I now have 2 kittens and have purchased more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Sticky Paws

June 10, 2007
by elsiegee
fromOhio
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I have used this product for at least 10 years and have found it to very effective. My cat lived to be 17 years old and she respected Sticky Paws 99% of the time. She selected our next cat from a litter of kittens. He is about to have his first introduction to Sticky Paws. It will be fun to watch his expression at his first contact.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

May 14, 2007
by charmedcat
fromSeattle
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
My cat's a little silly but I put this on my couch and on top of places I didn't want her to go. All that she did was get up there and start licking it. when it was on the couch she'd rub up against it. She liked it; i did not. It depends on the cat as to this products effectiveness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Sticky Paws Sticks

March 4, 2007
by AngelSkylarCeleste
fromPhoenix, AZ
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I used Sticky Paws to stop my cats from chewing on the carpet in a condo I was renting. They stopped chewing the carpet, but when I removed the Sticky Paws, it had melted into the carpet and was very difficult to remove AND torn more of the carpet up. If you are renting a home or do not want your property destroyed even further by Sticky Paws, I would not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Did Not Work

December 13, 2006
by SaraInAZ
fromScottsdale, AZ
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews
Judging from their daily behavior, my cats are obviously not the smartest. When I put this on my furniture, they were curious about it at first and stayed away. After a few days though, they began to slowly nibble at the corners and rip them off. They weren't trying to eat it-they were just tearing it off and leaving it lying on the floor! Eventually they had uncovered a large enough section to scratch on. I tried again, using more this time and making sure I rubbed the corners down completely. They started tearing it off yet again. I even put a strip on the top of the chair to try to keep them from lying on it and leaving hair all over it. They laid down directly on top, completely ignoring the stickiness. I don't know if they are just doing it to spite me, or if they genuinely don't care that it sticks to them, but this product did not help my situation at all!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Stop those claws destroying your furniture !

November 12, 2006
by CTD1
fromCalifornia's Central Coast
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I have placed Sticky Paws on the corners of my sofa, loveseat and even on certain sections of the cat's 8' cat tree. Before applying Sticky Paws I saw the beginnings of ruined furniture. Since applying Sticky Paws strips, the destruction has stopped.
This product is well worth the money. I just purchased a second package.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

This Product Works

November 11, 2006
by kccat
fromCharleston, SC
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
I have 2 adult cats and "yes" they love to scratch on the side of the sofa and love seat. I previously used clear packing tape and put over where they were scratching, but the tape would need to be replaced within a month because it lost its stickieness. I purchased Sticky Paws about 3 months ago, and I have not had to replace it. Sticky Paws is like packing tape, only better quality. It is 2 sided so if your cat tries to scratch, their paw is on sticky tape. I don't think this will work well with kittens. Kittens are pretty curious when they a little, and they love to get into trouble. I would reccomend this to someone whose cats were atleat 1-2 yrs old.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 17 reviews

This product is ok but you can't use it alone

October 18, 2006
by Jones
fromVirginia
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
This product did deter my cat from scratching the sofa...but then she went for every piece of furniture that was not covered with the tape...like the corner of mattress. So I brought her several scratch toys to use and gradually she stopped using the furniture as her main source of scratching. Bottom-line...cats want to scratch something...you can't expect a quick one-time solution. This product is good to stop cats from scratching certain areas.
It will not keep your cat off your couch
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sticky Paws
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

Aful

September 12, 2006
by 613flavah
fromottawa
This product does not work!! My kittens climb my couch right on it. I have no idea if it works for scratching or not since I'd need soo many strips to fill up my entire bottom area of the couch. Do not buy this prod.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.