PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home

A lightweight, portable crate for indoor/outdoor and travel use. Click "More details" below for a links to the Port-A-Crate Sizing Chart and our Dog Crate Buying Guide.
Overall rating:
3.553 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 37
26 of 38(68%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Review 21 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Perfect for a crate-trained dog

December 17, 2007
by WeimInMN
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
We have a 7 month old Weimaraner (About 50# right now) and got the 42" x 28" x 31" size for her to grow in to. It's a bit big for her right now, but she will be 70# plus when she is full grown.
I would highly reccomend it for anyone that brings their pup everywhere with them - now we can crate her when we go to family events, or travel, even when I bring her to work without the hassle of lugging a heavy wire, or bulky plastic crate along with us.
Just like the description says though, this would NOT be a good fit for a dog that is not completely crate trained and calm about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

N2N Port-A-Crate

November 23, 2007
by MacH
fromHouston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
I live in an apt. with 2 large (60lb+) puppies. Wanted a collapsable crate for easy transport. It has held up well with her clawing at mesh door and window occassionally. Pad's foam core was shredded and is easy to replace. Puchasing a second crate for sibling that arrived a month ago. Would recommend this crate for all dogs except the determined escape artist. Note! I left top open and my dog leaped straight up and out. Want to find small fabric fan to put inside as mesh stops breeze. Only improvement would be to make largest crate collapse to fit compact car trunk and "breeze port' for fan or blower and replacable mesh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Did not last

November 3, 2007
by mott
fromWPB, Fl
How many pets do you have?1
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Bought this crate to use for short periods with our new puppy. By the fourth use, which was for less than 2 hours, our 12 week old terrier puppy had gotten through the seam at the bottom of the crate and escaped. Now the crate is useless. This crate is great in theory, but the weak build quality limits its usefulness in practice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

42" Port-A-Crate

November 1, 2007
by MoMom07
fromBallwin,MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Awesome crate!!! Great quality product. Very strong and sturdy. Super simple to use. The largest crate I found for the lowest price. Best part is it is washable and comes with a soft custom pad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

great crate

October 8, 2007
by brenna
fromcentral, texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
I show my Aussie and this crate is great for taking out and around. It is light weight, easy to handle and strong enough not to be tipped unlike some other soft crates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

On The Fence

August 17, 2007
by VerdiesMom
fromLaurel, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
About a month ago I brought this product because I had been please with an older version made by the same company which had lasted 3 years. However, it was recently ripped apart at a place between the zipper and the base of the crate at the entrance door by my 5 yr old Shih Tzu. I was baffled as to how he was able to tear this section and escape. Now, I need to replace it and have no place left to turn. I was very pleased with the product and shocked that it torn so easily. Also, it would have been nice to have a carrying strap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

GREAT PRODUCT

August 4, 2007
by amrivera28
fromSAN DIEGO, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
AWESOME PRODUCT. I WOULD DEFINATLEY RECCOMEND THIS.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Well worth the price and then some!

June 27, 2007
by Shannonatt
fromChilliwack, BC
After looking at similar crates in other pet stores and finding most of them around one to two hundred dollars more in price, I finally came across the Port-A-Crate at Petsmart. We have a large and very rambunctious 2 year old labrador retriever that gets so worked up and crazy when we take him to my in-laws house that it is embarrassing. I thought this crate seemed like a great idea because it folds down flat to fit easily into a backseat or trunk and then sets up in seconds. I found it a little bit hard to manouver the frame to fold it down and up without pinching myself, but that was just user error. I like the fact that it is more physically appealing than the other crates we looked at, has windows with blinds that roll down for little sleepy heads. It had a removeable washable pad, but my dog ripped that up in five seconds. I haven't found any quality problems with the sewing in general on this crate except for my dog tried to run into it when the door was half zipped up and ripped the door completely off at the seams. We don't take it out with us anymore because without the door that option is pointless, but we have it set up in the living room (it blends in well with the decor) and my dog lays in it all the time and hides things that he steals from around the house in it. I wouldn't recommend this for a big chewer or a puppy because seriously it is made out of a thick almost backpack like material and also the pad is wipeable, but I don't think it would do well for potty messes. We are getting another lab puppy in October and definately be purchasing another one for her when she gets old enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

Soft Sided Collapsable Crate

June 13, 2007
by Labowner2
fromPA
Do not buy this crate. We bought it for our lab who was 9 weeks at the time. My husband took him to and from work in it and we occassionally took it out of the car and used it in the house. After six weeks, it was frayed and ripped at every seem and it was not by the dog. The quality was not acceptable for the price we had to pay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews

Not sure how to recommend this

April 30, 2007
by Hleigh22
fromRohnert Park, CA
This product did not last long. I have an 11 week old puppy and the crate didn't last him longer than one month. I do not suggest buying this product unless you have a very well trained dog...they must be crate trained in order for the product to survive. I don't recommend this product but it is my own fault...it does tell you not to put a puppy (or any dog) in the crate that chews, scratches, or isn't crate trained and I did. I guess I assumed that he wouldn't get out because he is so small but he chewed a hole right through it. Basically, I recommend this for crate trained dogs only and do not recommend it for puppies or dogs without training...it won't survive your puppy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Love this crate

April 5, 2007
by sammy13
fromKalispell, Montana
I have had my crate since 2003 and my two mini Schnauzers sleep every night in this crate and it travels so great that they are never without their bed. Buster my little boy finally broke the zipper on the door, so will have to get a new cover from Firstrax if I can, other wise will get another crate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Cheap material

April 3, 2007
by Aliya
fromToronto, ON
I have a 4 month old miniature daschund, and he chewed a hole right through the the crate, and chewed up the lining inside too. Considering most puppies will chew anything, I would not recommend this. Overall, the crate is great to transport dogs, but considering the price and the cheap material, I would not consider this for a new puppy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

Love this crate!

March 31, 2007
by ladylove
fromAustin, Texas
My 45 pound Rott/Aussie mix LOVES to ride in this crate. It sits in the back of the car and she hops in it and can ride for hours comfortably. I have never seen a crate that she would not tear to bits and this one she loves completely. We have been thrilled with it.
It collapses down like a portacrib when we need our cargo area back, and it has many side windows with covers that fold up and disappear into the holders above each window for lots of air circulation. Our dog is a power chewer, and doesn't damage this one.
We feel protected while driving because she is safe in the vehicle, and she can rest up for all the fun she has when we get where we are going.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews

I love this crate!

November 26, 2006
by NanB
fromNashville, TN
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
And my dog does, too!
Portable, yet sturdy, and there's a great attention to detail. This crate is much more substantial than other soft crates I've seen.
Soft crates aren't designed for dogs that chew. But for dogs that are comfortably crate-trained they make travel much easier. Hauling my dog's plastic crate from place to place was getting to be a chore, so a collapsible that can store in the car/office is the perfect solution.
It's not cheap, but the quality goes far beyond what I expected at this price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews

Mia's House

November 24, 2006
by MardyMia
fromSan Antonio, TX
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 38 reviews
I bought this for an 8 month old Mini Pin...she took to it very well. The roll down windows and the ease of taking it places makes it great. It did withstand her chewing and scratching with minimal damage which was good...but when I took the case off the mattress and hand washed it...the case shred. Its an okay crate but maybe it should be a little rugged
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews

Great for Travel

November 13, 2006
by Justmel1307
fromMidland, TX
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 38 reviews
I have a kitten that as megaesophagus. He ended up getting pneumonia. Which ment, I have to take him everywhere. My old pet carrier just wasn't doing it for me. It was hard to put his litter box in. With the new port-a-crate pet carrier he has the room to move around. It is alittle big but no real complaints. As long as he is happy, I am happy. I was nervous about the price of the carrier, but I can see that it is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews

My 6 pound puppy chewed a whole through it

October 26, 2006
by KChi
fromChicago, IL
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 38 reviews
I have a 12-week old silky terrier. He's only six pounds and the first day I had this Port-A-Crate, he chewed a hole right through it and got out. If you are looking for a crate that keeps your dog out of trouble, this isn't it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Port-A-Crate P2 Indoor/Outdoor Pet Home
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 38 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
prev 1 2