PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Cat Dancer Cat Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Cat Dancer Cat Toy

Cat Dancer is the original interactive cat toy. Spring steel wire and rolled cardboard create an irresistible lure for cats and great fun for cat lovers.
Overall rating:
4.829 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 40
40 of 41(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Review 1 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

My cats LOVE it!

February 26, 2007
by ebison
fromTX
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I never would have expected this toy to be as popular with both of my cats as it has been. I saw it in the store, and I thought it was a very boring looking toy, but after reading the great reviews online I decided to try it. My cats are so glad that I did! It is their favorite toy! All I have to do is pick it up and tap it on the ground a few times, and both of them come flying into the room from whatever part of the house they were in. It's amazing. They could play with this thing for HOURS. I guess it's the unpredictable movement and the way that the tightly wound pieces of paper slip in their paws, as if they were alive. All I know is that this is the ONLY toy that both of them have actually BROUGHT to me! They actually ask to play this game! It's also pretty durable. If you have a kitten you need this toy.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Awesome toy and great quality

February 2, 2010
by BrightAdventure
fromKansas City, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
After reading the reviews on here I decided to give this toy a shot when I was at the store. The first thing I loved was the price, because of it's simple design it's VERY affordable! Second, my cat loves it...he loses his mind (similar to the effect of catnip) when we play with it. He loves that it bounces and jerks around (because it's on a wire instead of a string with more predictable movements). Since my cat deeply desires to play the moment I open my eyes in the morning (and I would like eat and read) we can both have our ways...because I can lay in bed and easily play with him off the side of the bed (or across it, whatever he choses). However, it equally works when I'm up and moving around...he loves to run, jump, pounce, do back flips, whatever it takes to get the little thing on the end - which to him I imagine looks like a big bug flying in the air. Another great thing about it is that if I leave it hanging off of something (low enough that he might hit it with his tail when he walks by) he still plays with it. We've had it for 2 months and he loves it just as much now as he did in the beginning!
Also, in regards to the quality, I was afraid that the little cardboard things on the end would wear out easily and not hold up to the roughness of a cat...oh it has! I don't understand it, it defies my logic, but they're still in good shape. I haven't had any problem with the wire either. If it bends when we're really playing all I have to do is bend it back. Personally I think the bendablity provides another level of fun for the cat (more unpredictable).
Pros: good quality, lazy cat owners cat toy (you can multi task), after 2 months cat still not bored with it
Cons: my cat demands i use it to play with him :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Cats love it

January 24, 2010
by PhillyChick
fromPA
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Got the toy yesterday and took it out for my 2 kitties. They went nuts. It's an incredibly simple toy - wire and cardboard, but it moves around like a bird or insect so it makes the cats crazy. When I put the toy away, our one cat meowed and begged for it. He's never done that before for a toy. Get this toy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

January 8, 2010
by Lisa11
fromNew York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I LOVE THE TOY!!!!!! MY CAT COMES UP TO ME AND BITS ME UNTIL I GIVE HIM THE TOY!!! OH GOT TO GO HE WANTS HIS TOY NOW....LOL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

SWEET!

December 29, 2009
by Rosalee
fromGreen Bay, Wi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This has to be the best 5.99 I have ever spent!! My cat Sushi just loves this toy! He has other toys with long strings and barely even lifted a paw to them and this toy he goes nuts over! I recommend this toy highly. Also it is so easy to just sit and play with the cat with one had and do something else with your other that is what makes it so great!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

My Cat's Love!

November 18, 2009
by CrazyCatChick
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
This is a great toy. My cats love theirs. It looks like a bug fying around. Also seems to be holding up well. Would recommend!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

The only thing that works

November 4, 2009
by prettypurplekao
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I have written several reviews today on toys with very high ratings that did work for me or my cats. This is the only thing that I've bought in the last year that my cats really enjoy. They will even play with it on their own if it is left on the ground somewhere. I tried stuffed toys with catnip scents, I tried teasers, door hangers, my cats hate them all except this. This has no catnip scent on it either and my cats still love it. So simple too, but a little expensive for what it is (some paper on a wire??). This is a fantastic toy nonetheless.
Pros: it keeps my cats entertained.
Cons: hard to control.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Favorite

August 15, 2009
by ab33
fromky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
My two cats LOVE this toy. I was so excited to finally see that the Petsmart store in my town carried it after reading all of the good reviews online. They play with it with me. They play with it alone. Anytime I pick it up when cleaning they think it is play time and come running! Definitely a must have toy for your cat and great price, too. As much as they have played with it in the week that I have had it it is holding up quite nicely considering that the ends are just some sort of cardboard material. I think I might pick up another the next time I head to Petsmart to have one for both cats since they do like to play with it alone. One reviewer said the wire makes this toy more unpredictable than a string toy which I definitely agree with. It is fun to watch them react to it!
Pros: price, unpredictable movement, entertaining, a favorite with the cats, easy to use
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great Toy

March 27, 2009
by dar923
fromSalem, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
This is a FANTASTIC, inexpensive toy that my 10-month-old cat can't get enough of. I hung it from a string on the frame of a door between my living room and dining room & the first time my cat used it, he played so long he was completely tuckered out!! He bats it so hard that if I'm sitting in the chair near it, I have to duck. Sometimes he'll walk by and swat it; other times he plays endlessly with it. If the wire gets out of shape, it's easy enough to push back into shape. I need more of these!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great Toy

March 3, 2009
by MySpoiledBaby
fromBurlington, VT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
I was over at a friend's house, who has three cats, and while there she pulled out this toy. Her cats came running over to play with it. I had never seen it before and she didn't know where it came from because someone else had given it to her. I decided to check in PetSmart. I was surprised at how inexpensive it was, plus with my PetPerks card PetSmart was having a sale on all toys! Double score!
I love picking up inexpensive fun toys for my kitty. He wasn't to sure about this toy at first, he's a bit of a timid cat, but I sprayed a little catnip spray on it. I also got that at Petsmart, which I also recommend buying, for an added treat for your cat.
The catnip spray has long worn off, but this is still one of his favorite toys. It's a fun toy for him, he really concentrates when he's trying follow it around the room, it's like he's trying to hunt a bird.
He likes to catch it and chew on the cardboard. I can see where this will wear down soon, but it's so inexpensive to replace I will definitely buy another one.
You have to get this toy for your kitty, he/she will thank you!
Pros: more upredictable than a wand toy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Everyone's Favorite

January 24, 2009
by VioletBlue
fromBig Bear City, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
This is excellent for keeping a kitten occupied. They will carry it off and play by themselves with it pushing it across the floor. I'm on my second one. The only downside is that a truely determined kitten will chew off the cardboard rolls over time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

AMAZING CAT TOY!

December 17, 2008
by Killer08
fromMilwaukee, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is by far one of the best toys out there I have ever tried owned. I never knew a toy that simple could be so much fun. My cat Killer will spend HOURS playing with it by himself or other members of the family. I recommend this product to everyone who owns cats. Trust me, you won't be disappointed.
Pros: simple design cheap entertaining
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

The best toy ever is a cat dancer

December 8, 2008
by Doughnut
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 5 cats all with totally different personalities. They all like different foods and different toys, but there is one thing they agree on. They all love the cat dancer. As soon as I pull this toy out of hiding, and yes I have to hide it, my cats jump and meow for joy. I love playing with them and I am thrilled that there is a toy that they take turns going after. I am worn out long before they are. The inventor of the cat dancer is a GOD in their minds.
Pros: it is cheap and durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Amazing Toy!

October 5, 2008
by nekotachi
fromScottsdale, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was amazed at how such a small and inexpensive toy could entertain all of my babies! It's hard to find one single toy that ALL of them like to play with, and this did the trick. They go crazy!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Surprising!

April 27, 2008
by CJBZ
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
This held her interest, she hasn't gotten sick of it as with many other teasers. I also recommend "Da Bird" which they started carrying at my local PetSmart. It definitely lives up to the hype.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 41 reviews

Cat Dancer Cat Toy

March 26, 2008
by Wendy777
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 41 reviews
My cats did not like this toy at all. They'd rather have a string than a wire.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

The best cattoy ever invented.

March 6, 2008
by Darqstar
fromRhode Island
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have known a great many cats in my life, and I have only met two who didn't do backflips for these toys. And these are cats that don't like any toys. Every other cat I've met adores them, including some who almost never play with anything.
Yes, its inexpensive, but don't let that fool you. Cats can't read price tags anyway, and don't care. If you can aford it, buy a few, so you'll have one handy when you need it.
It's a fantastic toy, and it has had other practical purposes for me too. I have fastened them onto new scratching posts to attract the cats to the new post. My cats have a habbit of being wary of anything that smells too new, so it would often take awhile to get my cats to accept new scratching posts. I find if I attach one of these to the post, they'll go wild and soon enough, the new thing smells old and familiar to them.
It makes a great way of destressing your pet too. I play with my cats for a good 10-20 minutes using one of these, before I take them to the vet. When I do that, I find the ride to the vet to be much more relaxing for me and my cat. In many cases, my cat will just drift to sleep, clearly tired from all the exercise. When I return home, if the cat is upset at the visit, we play some more and kitty mellows out.
This toy can bring the kitten out in most any cat. As I said, I've only known two cats to reject it. Give it a try, for the price you can't beat it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Pico's favourite toy!

February 10, 2008
by Picomom
fromNew York, NY
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
I saw the reviews of this toy online & thought for $2.99 i'd give it a try. As soon as this was unwrapped and wiggled on the ground my cat was instantly attracted! She particularly loves it when it's held a little above her head - she jumps upwards with such frenzy that she manages to flip/fall over in her excitement =)
After seeing the response Cat Dancer got from Pico my sister decided to buy one for her cat too. The package says it imitates butterflies, etc. which cats adore. I find if (when holding) you invert the toy so that the curved wire faces upwards to the ceiling, you get quite a realistic 'butterfly' effect. In the curved down position, the toy bobs and wiggles irregularly (that is fun for Pico too).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Cat Dancer

January 23, 2008
by Anonymous
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is my cat's favorite toy - he has three of them going in various rooms of the house right now. Before my current kitty, this toy ranked high with my previous cats also. So easy to entertain him...you really just have to get a good grip on one end and the toy bounces around by itself - sending the kitty into merry fits!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Cat Dancer Cat Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Cat Dancer Works

January 10, 2008
by NR44
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
This is a really great product. I bought it for my cat and he loves it! In action it reminds me of a moth. He goes wild for it, occasionally I have to take a break, when playing, to let him catch his breath because he starts to pant, otherwise he won't stop jumping for it. I would have to say that this is his favorite toy. The cat dancer is also durable. Mine has lasted at least 2 years.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next