PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out

Made of extra heavy-duty galvanized cable for long-lasting use. Features Comfort Snap with shock-absorbing spring to reduce stress and twin swivel to reduce tangling.
Overall rating:
2.136 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 21
8 of 22(36%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Review 1 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Not recommended for large dogs

June 10, 2010
by CatDog120
fromPlain City OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this tie out approx 6 months ago thinking it would be a good system for my Newfoundland since it is marked "Beast"; however, I had the unfortunate experience of finding her missing from our yard last night. I usually don't leave her outside alone, but had gone into the house for just a minute. Thankfully, I found her not too far from home and discovered the cable had snapped. It certainly looked sturdy when I bought it, but was I fooled! I am now looking for an alternative to cheap, plastic-covered cables.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Heavy duty cable tie out

January 7, 2010
by shadowman
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
The Prestige heavy duty cable tie out is a very nice appearing product and works well for a while but it is not suited for cold weather and the vinyl coating cracks easily. I have used this product and replaced three times. Each time I have had to return them for replacements. The store replaced at no charge each time. They rusted at the joint of connector and cable so I taped them but the vinyl would break and the cable would rust. I was afraid the cable itself would break and I would lose my dog. The last one was about 10 months old when the temperature dropped below freezing and the vinyl snapped in many spots. I would not recommend this product if you live in a climate that is colder than freezing. Be prepared to replace this product at least annually which is also illustrated on the product insert.
Pros: attractive and strong
Cons: cannot hold up in below freezing weather
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

only for mini monsters

July 1, 2009
by MrLucky
fromAtlanta
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 55 pound Doberman pup has snapped 5 of these cables I have noticed my local Petsmart is no longer displaying this product
Pros: swivel
Cons: tends to rust at unprotected ends and breaks ther
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

very secure

May 28, 2009
by DELr
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
we have this cable on our siberian husky as he is very strong, the clasp is secure and we know he will be safe, as others have broke, or he gets lose somehow. This clasp is the best. It is very reliable. we replace the cable once a yr. because the cable can wear out with cold and hot weather climates.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Good, but definately not for "the Beast"

May 16, 2009
by GDoC63
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
I'm on my second stake, and on my forth tiedown lead.
The first stake, the normal corkscrew type with the trianglar head, he (the beast) pulled out of the groud, then when I set it in concrete, he bent the triangular head head straight, and the lead just slid off. The second stake is the ultra heavy duty plate type screw-in. So far it has stayed in the ground, but the head has been bent over at a 45 degree angle.
The first two leads were the 40' 60lb size. On the first the lead end pulled off, the second, he snapped in the middle.
The third lead was the 40' 125lb size (beast rated) it just snapped in the middle where a knot had formed. I've just put the second 40' 125lb beast rated lead on tonight.
Did I mention that "the beast" is a lovable, but one of the thickest muscled and fastest dogs I've ever owned? Did I mention that he has broken no fewer than 4 chain choker collars (he bends the rings till they stress fracture)? Oh, and by the way, he's a 43lb, yes, 43 pounds, mutt that we got from animal rescue as a puppy. He has a lot of pit bull in him, and I think his sire was Underdog!
Pros: i like the spring latch it is more secure, doesn't tangle easily
Cons: the crimp on lead ends are a weak point, if the plastic casing is broken corrosion occures, the latch takes some practice, quality control seems a weak point
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

April 14, 2009
by Linnie
fromWI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
I have been very pleased with this tie-out. We have a 75lb. black lab mix and he does really well on it. We only use it when we travel since we have a fenced in yard, but have found that other ones we had tried got tangled up and were hard to unravel. The only thing I would change is the clasp because it seems a little awkward to put on. The length is really nice as well.
Pros: does not get tangled the way others do, longer length-40ft
Cons: the clasp is a little hard to take on and off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Dog breaks tie outs.

March 4, 2009
by jc1971
fromUniontown, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I have been through multiple of the big dog tie-outs, probably 10-15 over the past 10 years for my 150 lb. german shepard/husky. It is a given that they will break but if you have someone handy around, you can usually repair them multiple times before you have to replace it. Other than going to a home improvement store and buying the cable and the clasps this is the only one on the market that I found that is durable enough to last longer than several months.
Pros: most durable on the market.
Cons: will need to be repaired or replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Rusts too quickly!

September 15, 2008
by Renz
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
I've been through 3 of these so far for my 85 lb bloodhound. It's great because she can't undo the clasps (and yes she has undone regular dog clasps) The downside is I have to replace it every couple of months because the end where the clasp is rusts so quickly and she breaks it. I really have no choice but to keep buying the same one because it is the only tie out out there with those clasps. I get the 40' one so she can run and play outside. They need to make a 50' one that doesn't rust!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

heavy duty lead?

July 25, 2008
by incontrol
fromnew jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
This is the only heavy duty tie out out there - so I don't have any choice, I replace this item 2 to 3 times a year. My dog is only about 80 lbs., he thinks he can run after everything he sees - and really tugs on the lead. It usually snaps at the clasp/wire connection. He is usually still wearing the clap. I can't imagine what a 250lb dog would do to this tie out applying any kind of force
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

What a waste!

June 23, 2008
by michrottiemom
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I purchased one of these when we moved to a house without a fence so we could let our rottie pup have some room to play without using a leash. Two months later I was looking to replace it because it broke- right where the plastic sheathing got tore up from him trying to chew it. The cable had rusted. I couldn't find any other tie out that would work so I had to buy a second- only to find out that the babysitter couldn't undo the hook one-handed and as a result he went for a walk by himself! Now the second one broke today, right where the plastic got ripped up ( again). I've spent about $40 on two leads in less than 6 months, only to have to go out again and make my own chain because this is the "toughest" lead on the market. PATHETIC!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews

Not worth the money

March 19, 2008
by seastarr
fromCape Cod, Ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this product because it was the strongest lead I could find and my dog loves to pull at his lead. He is only 70 pounds and he managed to snap the cable right in the middle. I would love to see how how long it would take a dog who was actually 250 pounds to break this lead. Not a happy camper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews

works 4 me!

February 18, 2008
by lotsapets
fromULSTER COUNTY,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 2 large dogs on the 20ft. tieouts. A 100lb Rottweiller & a 65lbLab/Akita mix. Both strong, both lunge on line @ times.
They're both on an overhead run on a roller.So far,so good. Before this set-up(about 3 wks. ago) they were on same tieouts around trees. The one complaint I have to agree with is the catch. It's tough to work,but the dogs can't seem to unlatch it. They have gotten other catches open. My Rottie is a powerhouse & doesn't even think of stopping before she runs out of cable.It's good for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews

great for Husky

January 1, 2008
by Huskyowner
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 22 reviews
I thought I'd put in my reivew due to all the negative ones. I think this product is great. I have TWO Siberian Husky's and it holds them very well. I've bought the thinner spring clasp hooks and my dogs have managed to break out of them. This BEAST tieout is thick, sometimes twists, but not like the other cheap thin ones. Only problem it takes gettin used to opening he clasp but I'd rather have it difficult getting on and knowing it STAYS on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Bad Product

December 10, 2007
by Unbelieveable
fromSouthern Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I'm glad to see that I'm not the only one. The design of the hook is horrible and like most of the other reviews, my 80 lb dog ran off from home with a hook attached to her collar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

BLAH!!!

September 27, 2007
by DrumrKeight
fromHunlock Creek
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
BLAH!!! I got this for my German Shepherd puppy. She only weighs 40 pounds. She broke it. I returned it thinking it must have been a defect. I got a new one and it broke AGAIN. She doesn't even pull very much at all. Snapps right at the hook where the cable enters. HORRIBLE!!! Don't get this product if you don't want your dog running around your neighborhood at some point. You'd think that a cable capable for up to 250 pound dogs could hold a 40 pound dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews

Does the job but could be better

September 20, 2007
by Ally
fromColumbia, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two dogs and each is on one of these 20' length tie outs. Attaching the ends takes a little practice but my girls have not gotten off of these like they did the ones with the pull down spring latch. They only weigh 50 lbs each so I have not had any problem with them breaking. The only complaint that I have is that they get kinked up and bent up and the dogs get their toys tied up in the lines. I have to straighten out the lines every day and save at least one toy from a sad demise. I wish there were coated wire tie outs or similar that didn't knot up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Definitely not for beasts

August 31, 2007
by RebekahWithAK
fromFlorida
I have bought two of these for my 10 month old bulldog. He has broken BOTH of them. The sad part is that he doesn't even put a lot of strain on the tie out, as he knows how long it is. Both times, the hook on the dog end has broken off. Don't buy this product if your dog is a "Beast".
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

This is the worst tieout I have ever bought

May 24, 2007
by jswope
fromUSA
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
The spring on the hook flips outwards to put on the dog, making is very hard to put on the dog. In addition, the design on the spring makes it very easy for the dog to get loose. A dog that is easy to train would have no problem training is self how to get loose any and every time it wanted. I have had the tie out for 1 day and my lab had already figured out how to get loose and therefore I have to get something else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

Prestige tie-out - Not what it appears

April 16, 2007
by debjohn55
fromHavertown, PA
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
I bought this for a 60 pound dog who ended up walking around the neighborhood with the large hook attached to her collar. Also, the hook worked very awkwardly and you needed to use two hands to attach it to the dog's collar. Who is holding the dog then???
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Prestige The Beast Extra Heavy-Duty Dog Tie-Out
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews

i did not like this tie out!

March 19, 2007
by chewy
fromNY
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 22 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 22 reviews
ths product says extra heavy duty tie out but, it is not i have a 180 pound mastiff that is still growing he will reach about 200 pounds and i bought this product thinking that it would keep him in my yard but it dosent. i put him on it the day i bought it and about an hour later he saw a dog walking down the street and the hook brook! thank good he was well trained and just went and say the dog for a quick moment and came right back when i called him. so i threw this product away and bought a new one that works alot better!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next