PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder

This beautiful feeder is designed to be completely squirrel-proof. When squirrels try to feed, their weight denies them access to the feeding ports.
Overall rating:
3.067 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
7 of 15(47%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Review 1 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Small birds YES!, Squirrels NO!

March 27, 2007
by LynzieLouToo
fromMinne-snow-ta
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
The Squirrel Be Gone Feeder is our favorite small-bird feeder!
I like it for the attractive metal design, and that it’s critter-proof. The kids love to watch the squirrels try in vain to get the bird food from it.
I appreciate the adjustable springs, since we have lightweight squirrels and it was easy to change the tension. I also like that it has abundant ports for a number of small birds to feed at once.
My neighbor promptly went out and bought one after seeing how nice it looked from her window and the good recommendation that I gave it. We have both had our feeders up, looking good and working well for over a year!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Smart Creatures Are Now Defeated

September 13, 2006
by birdlover1l
fromColonial Beach, Va. 22443
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Over the years I have tried many products to outsmart the cagy squirrel and none could outsmart the squirrel until I used Squirrel-Be-Gone Model No. 336. I have used this product for about a year and a half and have had quite alot of enjoyment watching those pesky squirrels try to figure a way to get their free meal, to no avail. Thanks for a product that really works. Yesterday I bought another one for different birds and will not have to feed the squirrel population.
Yours truly,
William A. Miller
Colonial Beach, Va.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

short lived

December 14, 2011
by jcandthekids
fromBrandon, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this feeder was only squirrel proof for a short time. after a few months they managed to eat thru the plastic. the squirrels were not happy about just being able to get the food, they continued to chew on it until most of the plastic from the bottom was gone. I had to throw it out because the seeds would just fall out. for the time that it was useful, the birds did seem to enjoy it and get food from it easily and it did keep the squirrels out for a little while. kind of a waste when you spend the extra money and now i'm out the food and the feeder. quess i'll just continue to feed the squirrels too. its cheaper.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Not squirrel proof

April 9, 2011
by WDeptfordFeeder
fromWest Deptford, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The description says it's "absolutely squirrel proof." Not so much. After using it for about 3 weeks, the squirrels proved smarter than the engineers.
A squirrel was seen hanging upside down and had managed to tear a 1-inch hole in the plastic cover and ate to his little heart's content.
You'll need to keep shopping if you want something that is truly squirrel PROOF and not merely squirrel RESISTANT.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Change in quality?

July 26, 2010
by Shea1114
fromFlorida
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I bought one of these feeders 3 years ago, and it worked great. The second one was purchased about a year ago, and the squirrels were able to gnaw through the plastic feeder ports.
We've been experimenting with putting metal plating over the bottom of the ports, but so far the squirrels have just pried them off.
Meanwhile, the first one was still going strong until the spring holding the top on finally gave out. The squirrels started popping the top off and gnawing on the plastic cylinder in an effort to get down to the food. We've rigged it with wire and so far it is holding.
They have had no luck biting through the feeder ports on the older one. We wonder if they changed the quality of the plastic.
I would be willing to pay twice as much for the same feeder made with glass or some type of stronger reinforcement of the edges.
We love feeding our birds, and from the looks of these reviews, this is still one of the better choices. Just be aware that eventually the squirrels will figure it all out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Unfortunately, not squirrel proof

July 25, 2009
by TILGA
fromATL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have bought several of these feeders over the years with success in keeping the squirrels at bay but not anymore. Either the squirrels are getting smarter or maybe they have changed the type of plastic used in making the feeder. The squirrels chewed a hole at the bottom of one of the openings to enlarge it so they could get at the bird seed. That feeder had been around for a while, so thinking the plastic might be brittle, I bought a new one but the squirrels did the same thing. Unfortunately, I can no longer recommend this feeder.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Squrrels wasted no time in figuring this one out

October 10, 2008
by Me1977
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Any amount of tip to the side, and the seed spills out of this feeder. Took the local squirrels about 15 minutes to figure that out.
We end up with more seed being spilled onto the ground than we have being fed to our feathered friends.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Squirrels Are Gone

August 17, 2008
by JustMeToo
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have been using the Squirrel Be Gone bird feeder for approximately 5 years. It is by far the best 'anti-squirrel' bird feeder I have found. Not only is it relatively inexpensive, it works better than the expensive Droll Yankee 'squirrel proof' feeders, which our squirrels beat in an hour or two.
The Squirrel Proofing:
* When a squirrel climbs onto a feeding perch, the squirrel's weight causes the doors of the feeding ports to close, but when birds alight the feeding perch, the doors remain open.
How it Works:
* The opening and closing of the feeding port doors are controlled via a spring mechanism.
* The tension of the spring mechanism can be adjusted according to the weights of birds and squirrels in your area.
* If you wish, you can adjust the mechanism's sensitivity so as to deter larger birds such as the Blue Jay.
Pros:
* Completely deterred squirrels
* The large opening on top makes it easy to refill
* The roof keeps the birdseed dry
* The copper look roof and leaf decor are pleasing to look at
* The feeder ports are also designed to keep the feed dry.
Cons:
* After a number of years, the chipmunks finally devised a successful strategy for accessing the food. While their weight caused the feed ports to close, they gnawed on the lower port openings until the opening was larger than the door. It took a while for the chipmunks to achieve this, but once the opening was sufficiently large, they were able to access the food even when the doors were closed, as were the squirrels.
* When I purchased additional feeders to replace the 'chipmunk gnawed' one, I noticed some variability in the quality of the springs. The tension of the springs on one feeder was so loose that the feed port doors remained closed all of the time. I exchanged that feeder for another and it works beautifully.
The chipmunk gnawed feeder is still in use. My mother was troubled with squirrels on her bird feeder, and had no chipmunks. I gave her the chipmunk-gnawed Squirrel Be Gone and it has worked beautifully.
Although we purchased two additional Squirrel Be Gone bird feeders, we eventually added baffles to our bird feeder poles to protect the feed from the chipmunks.
Despite the spring quality issue listed above, I give the Squirrel Be Gone feeder 5 stars for quality due to the overall quality of the roof, body, feeding ports, and feeding perches. While the feeder does not adequately deter chipmunks, the feeder does deter squirrels as promised. It cannot be faulted for its inability to deter chipmunks, as it not advertised as 'chipmunk proof.' Additionally, the feeder was in place for quite a few years before the chipmunks were able to 'break into it.'
NOTE: If the spring tension of the feeder is too tight for the weight of a squirrel to close the feeding port doors, you can carefully stretch the spring to achieve the desired tension.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

AWFUL!

June 5, 2008
by Anonymous
fromSeattle, Wa
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
If this has worked for ANYONE else than they must not have a very smart squirrel. Our population of five squirrels that we know of took very little time in finding a way to eat out of this feeder. He simply sticks his little naughty paw underneath the leaves and hold on the the plastic opening. The cage goes up. He then munches to his hearts content.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Works Wonders

May 24, 2008
by AndiK
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This is a beautiful, reliable feeder. I've had it for over a year now. The metal is beautiful and doesn't fade or rust. I haven't had any squirrels try to get any food out of it, they gave up long ago and go to the neighbors yard for easy pickin's! I laugh when I see them on her feeders, she has tried everything but this one! Other reviewers said that the squirrels learned other ways to get into it....Those must be awfully smart squirrels! Maybe it wasn't squirrels getting into the other people's feeders, but raccoons. They're uber smart. Squirrels I'm thinking not really. I guess not where I live. I do have mine hanging on a metal plant pole, maybe that helps? The squirrels do like to hang out underneath it after the birds have had a meal and pick up the dropped pieces, which is fine with me. Less mess for me to clean up!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Squirrel-proof for sure!

May 20, 2008
by kbor
fromDayton, OH
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
This was a waste of money. The squirrels jump on it and repeatedly disconnect and/or break the springs. So I guess it is squirrel-proof because the outer cage is always down and they can't get any seed. But neither can the birds. I guess my local squirrels are too big for this to work the way it was designed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Not Entirely Squirrel Proof -- Depends on Location

January 19, 2008
by PoochMom
fromLittle Rock, AR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
A beautiful feeder but if hanging it from a tree, needs to be placed 10 or more feet out from tree trunk and with at least 6 feet above it to any overhanging branches to keep the squirrels from accessing it.
My feeder lasted less than a year because the squirrels did get to it. They were jumping from the tree trunk over to it, and hanging from the outer metal structure of the feeder, which is the weighted decorative part that supposedly makes it squirrel-poof.
If the squirrels can reach it at all, they will figure out how to destroy it and break into it. Squirrels can remove the top, pull on the springs, destroy and remove the springs rendering it inoperable to birds even.
I would definitely buy another one; but I'll be more careful where it is hung!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Nice try...but the squirrels chewed it to pieces.

December 5, 2007
by mitchinny
fromnew york, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
There is no way this feeder is squirrel proof. It slows them down for a few weeks, but they figure out how to "beat the system". In my case, they learned to stick a foot in one of the top holes to prevent the cage from completely sliding over the feed holes. Then they chewed the holes out bigger to let the seed flow out of the feeder freely. It took them about 6 weeks to figure this out. Now the feeder spills seed everywhere because there aren't any lips left at the bottom of the feed holes, and is pretty much useless. The company only covers the feeder for a year on "workmanship". Its a pretty feeder, but no where near "Squirrel Proof".
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Almost Fool-proof

August 28, 2007
by LJNB
fromHilton Head, South Carolina
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
My squirrels found that by standing on the roof of the feeder, they were able to eat the exposed plastic and then bird food that was at the top. My suggestion to Perky Pet is to rim the top portion of the feeder with metal. Then, I would be happy! Are additional springs available for purchase? My squirrels have figured out how to remove those! They must have IQs of 140! Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Perky Pet Squirrel Be Gone Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Amazing Deterrant!

August 8, 2007
by blackeyedgurl
fromWausau, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Not only is this birdfeeder beautiful, but it has kept the squirrels from stealing all my bird food! I was completely suspect of whether or not this would work, but it really does! Even whent he squirrels tried to foil it, all they did was pop off one of the adjustable springs and shut the whole feeder down! I put the spring back in place and it went back to being normal!
I can't recommend this feeder enough, it's the first one the squirrels couldn't get in, get the food out of, or chew to pieces!! It's a bonus that it's beautiful and that the springs are adjustable based on how big your squirrels or birds are! Now my birds get to fight over the food, not the squirrels!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.