PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats

All-natural formula with enzymes and friendly bacteria removes stains and odors caused by cat spray, hairball residue, vomit, and more.
Overall rating:
4.04 / 5
4
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 24
19 of 25(76%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Review 1 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Use it on clothing, furniture, any place

November 23, 2006
by ElaineS
  • Expert
fromLos Angeles, CA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I keep this PetSmart exclusive product on hand for any emergencies, keeps odors/stains from building up in the litter boxes (to mine & the cats standards). It works better than baking soda alone & that's important when you have an accident on something like your comforter. Thoroughly eliminates odors without perfume coverup. It must work well on stains as I don't have any attention on any stain spots around the house!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

BY FAR THE BEST PRODCUT OUT THERE!!!

November 6, 2006
by AMB4
fromGEORGETOWN, KY
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
THIS PRODUCT SAVED OUR CATS LIFE!! :) WE WENT ON VACATION AND OUR CAT DECIDED TO USE MY HUSBANDS HUNTING CLOTHES FOR THE LITTER BOX!! I WAS DESPERATE AND CALLED PETSMART, AND THEY RECOMMENDED PETZYME. FIVE GALLONS LATER AND A VERY THANKFUL LOVING PET OWNER....AND THE BEST PART? NO MORE SMELL ON THE HUNTING CLOTHES! TOTALLY AMAZING! I WOULD BUY STOCK IN THIS!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

PetZyme really works

August 25, 2006
by LoveMyZoo
fromBirmingham, AL
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have 3 primarily indoor cats and a large dog. Although I keep the pet room & hooded litterboxes clean, I needed an UNSCENTED product that would totally eliminate any odor of cat urine, pet food, etc., WITHOUT depositing another layer of scent or disinfectant odor. I chose PetZyme in the 32 oz. spray bottle, from several products on the shelf, based on label information, and decided to give it a try. I lightly sprayed PetZyme on the litterboxes after cleaning them, and before I put in clean litter. I also sprayed it on the carpet underneath and around the litterboxes and food bowls. PetZyme is absolutely 100% effective, with no perfume or disinfectant scent of its own. It completely eliminated any residual pet & petfood odor from the (carpeted) pet room & litterboxes. It is so good, I lightly spray the litter, litterbox, hoods and surrounding carpet each time I scoop them. Friends & neighbors agree that you can't tell I own cats (by the smell)! Wish I would've tried this years ago. Highly recommended to anyone wanting to eliminate, not just cover up, odor! It's GREAT!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Unbelivable!!

March 25, 2010
by CCLady
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have a friend who was dealing with an estate for an elderly couple. One of the 2 had become incontinent and was urinating all over the furniture and carpeting. She called me for advise. I had used this product in the past with elderly cats (who also chose not to use the litterbox) with great success. So I suggested this product and follow the directions to the letter.
IT WORKED!
She bought about 5 gallons and doused the condos carpeting and etc. after a thorough scrubbing/cleaning. (The furniture was removed.) Within the next week or so, she had an open house and the guests remarked how clean and fresh the condo looked and smelled!
Unbelievable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Works Wonders

March 7, 2010
by AtlantaCatperson
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have had excellent luck with this product. My male cat decided he was going to spray the new leather sofa. I spay this on and leave it for about 10 minutes then wipe it off with a warm damp towel. If necessary, repeat but let it dry. I use a leather cleaner after that and it works perfectly. Be sure to shake the product before using! That maybe why it didn't work for others. Be patient and let it do it's job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Difficult stains

October 12, 2009
by dan3mike
fromsan mate, ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
For heavy stains I have saturated the area, let the solution sit for five minutes and then vacuumed it out. This procedure has worked wonders for difficult stains. I have not had to repeat the procedure and the smell was gone.
Pros: works on old stains
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Surprisingly happy!

August 15, 2009
by Marcie123
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
I recently discovered that one of my kitties was "inappropriately eliminating" on one particular spot in the hallway. I am trying to sell my house and you can imagine my horror at the idea of the kitty pottying on the rug when prospective buyers are coming through. I tried Resolve Pet Stains - took up the actual stain, but the smell was still there! After using the Resolve, I took up the Rug Doctor and went over the spot about 10 times. Carpet looked fantastic, but still had an odor! After doing a little research and reading customer reviews, I decided to give the PetZyme a try. The first application merely lessened the smell, so I was disappointed, but the bottle says to reapply if it doesn't work the first time. After the first application had dried, I applied a second and by the time that had dried, the smell was almost totally gone. The product itself does not have much of a smell, so it doesn't simply mask the odor. Overall, I was pretty happy with this stuff. Only didn't give it five stars because of the multiple application process!
Pros: doesn't mask the smell actually eliminates it.
Cons: takes a few applications to take away the smell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Does the job!

February 9, 2009
by Nevina
fromSacramento, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
This is the only pet odor/stain remover I use anymore. It's never failed to remove the stain and, more importantly, the ODOR of pet accidents. I have always had cats and feline urine odor is notoriously the most difficult to remove. PetZyme has always done the job. I doubt another product could ever match it.
Pros: simple, effective!, environmentally friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

No wonder it was so cheap

October 16, 2008
by EccentricCatLady
fromUpstate, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews
My cat had a terrible bladder infection and though I had been able to get the stain and most of the odor up with other products there was still a hint of odor. I bought Petzyme hoping to get the remaining smell out and followed the directions exactly. Instead of taking out the smell after it dried to smell was made so much worse I could not enter the room without gagging. Now I am going to have to spend three times the amount I would have otherwise to get this new smell of outhouse out of my room. By the way this is my exercise room and I can't even use it now because I can't tolerate the smell. I am horribly disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

Has not work so far for me

September 19, 2008
by brookiesmom
fromConcord, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews
I have to say, the pet stain I am trying to remove is in an area on my carpet that I was not aware my cat was using. I have steamed cleaned my carpets FOUR times in that area, and used the petZyme. I am at a loss. I dont smell the urine in my home, but when I put my nose up to it, its still there. Im sure this my work on clothing, but not carpet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

June 30, 2008
by swork
fromTucson
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
I decided to try this product after reading the reviews to remove the urine smell from a mattress my cats had gone on. I followed the directions exactly, and while the smell lessened, there was still a lingering odor. Multiple treatments with the product did not solve the problem and the cats also ended up marking on the same spots. This product may be good for stains that are on thinner materials that are easier to penetrate but not for mattresses or soft furniture (which I have also tried it on).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Wood Surfaces

May 27, 2008
by Marlys
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews
After doing the colorfast test and waiting an hour I had no problem on my oak buffet. Then I wiped PetZyme on the wood surface with a saturated paper towel with no dripping or standing PetZyme. I repeated it 2 hours later because I could still smell urine and there was still no appearance of the wood being affected. Four hours later my wood was nearly bare and will now need to do restaining, etc. Although the odor is seems to be gone I will never use it on wood again. There needs to be more warnings because it should obviously never be use on wood.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

25-year search is finally over!

May 26, 2008
by catlady4ever
fromStaten Island, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
My life was greatly enriched 25 years ago, which is when I got my first cat after I moved into my first apartment. Occasionally of course thru the years there were some accidents and tummy aches. I have tried litterally dozens of products -- most promised to clean stains and/or odors with spectacular results. Unfortunately, the results generally ranged from poor to "better than nothing" even despite repeated applications.
A few months ago, I luckily saw Petzyme advertised; after reading its reviews on PetSmart and other websites, I decided to give it a try. I was amazed to see how thoroughly it cleaned the stains! Little elbow grease was required... I followed the directions on the container and the stains clean up thoroughly. It seems to break down the stains which is why cleanup is so easy. Also, the soil stays on the TOP surface of the carpet and does not get imbedded. I have successfully used it on "old" stains as well (i.e., stains I tried to clean with pre-Petzyme products that were not completely removed.) It is truly a top-notch product.
Odors are also completely eliminated too... in fact sometimes I just spritz Petzyme in the air around the catbox to freshen it up. Works great!
Petzyme seems to work equally well on all types of stains too, not just those from your cats, so I would recommend it to everyone, including those poor souls who don't have cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

May 3, 2008
by Pilgrimben
fromMississippi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
This is a fairly good odor eater for spots where the cat couldn't quite hold his own. It takes a few days to get the job done, but for the price, you just can't beat it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

Don't waste your time or money.

April 30, 2008
by mamadidit
fromWilliamstown, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews
I recently adopted two cats from an animal shelter. Only to find out that the older cat (3 years old), has a problem with not using the litter box. After reading many reviews on this product, I went out and bought it. Was very excited to try this on her favorite spot to relieve herself. I come home and do exactly what the directions suggest. It worked! But only for a very limited time. The next morning the smell was still gone! But as the day progressed the smell was slowly coming back. In it's only defense though, I will say that I did not retreat this area as it suggested. I made the HUGE mistake of trying to steam clean the area instead. (DO NOT DO THAT!!!!!) So, I was back on the computer reading more reviews for another product called "Stink free INSTANTLY". With 23 out of 24 reviews being in the positive, how can I not try it? So, I went out and bought it, it's only been an hour after using, but so far so good!!!!! (this product uses oxidation instead of enzymes) I'm hopeful!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews

I wasn't impressed

April 11, 2008
by KarpenterB
fromSurprise, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 25 reviews
We had an un-neutered kitten (situation remedied) that started spraying and the smell was awful. I was out of my usual stuff (Odorz Out all surface granules) and got online to see where I could purchase it again. I got onto this site and started reading reviews and was impressed. I went and got it and was very impressed with the price so I bought it but was kind've nervous. I thought it was working but when the area(s) would dry back would come the smell. I thought he was re-marking but he wasn't. I would re-treat and the same thing so I went and got my Old Faithful (which didn't get good reviews) and put it on the spot in my closet I couldn't get "clean' and voila...w/n hours, the smell was gone, fresh air returned and the cat is now at peace (even the other two are more at ease...I wish PetZyme had worked but I went through almost a whole gallon and nothing like OdorzOut.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Crazy Cat

March 19, 2008
by chelsia
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
This product is amazing!!!! Two thumbs up! I have had a cat for 1 year now and she has had a problem peeing on my brand new couch and the side of the bed that I sleep on. I have tried everything that you can think of. I was to the point where i was going to get rid of her and buy a new couch because i couldn't get the smell out. I had spots that i didn't even know how long they were there for and this product took them out with just one treatment. I love this stuff!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great product

March 8, 2008
by TorisMom
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I love this sutff. dont' know what I would do with out it.. works well on washing the floor as well as mats, and laundry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

A Great Product!

September 30, 2007
by Anonymous
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have a kitty rescue with 16 cats. 2 of them do break training occasionally. With wood floors the smell can cling, especially if the spot isn't noticed until it has dried. I use plain cold water first to dilute the urine, wipe up the water/urine spot, then use the Pet Zyme to do the rest of the job as what is left is what causes odors. Don't use any other cleaning product beforehand. That can make the Pet Zyme less effective. Let the Pet Zyme sit for 10 mins then wipe up excess remaining. If there is still a scent, treat again. That should do the job.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petzyme Stain & Odor Remover for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Don't Waste Your Money...

August 8, 2007
by MeezerMom
fromSurprise, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews
I had trouble with one of my cats when I was training them to use the people toilet. She peed on the couch. I dumped a whole gallon of PetZyme on one cat urine stain on a couch cushion. It didn't work. What did work? I put the cover in the washer on gentle and washed the cushion with laundry detergent in my big bathtub.
I have used Nature's Miracle in the past and liked it. I would consider trying that again, but not PetZyme. --I have also learned that good old-fashioned soap and water works great.
By the way, the cats are now using the people toilet. Yay!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next