PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

Specially designed for aquatic reptile terrariums.
Overall rating:
2.276 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
10 of 29(34%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Review 1 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Great Idea... Bad Quality...

April 1, 2013
by SliderRocks
fromEl Paso, TX
I bought this product for my baby red eared sliders (Lily & Slider) and I'd have to say I am very displeased! At first when I bought this I thought the concept of the protective grill and oversized suction cups was a great idea and improved the quality of the product and it dose but what it all comes down to is Heating. I placed this in my 10 gallon aquarium *filled only half way* and it just didn't seem to be getting warm in the tank, I had read in the manual that it might take up to 24 hours for it to start heating so I waited but still after three day no heat. Over those three days I read others reviews and recommendations like putting it in an area of circulation and making sure its fully submerged. I tried everything and it still didn't work so I took it back. The next heater I bought was the 25 watt *Marina Submersible Heater* (also sold at PETSMART) and so far it's working great keeping the temperature exactly at 78 degrees. I highly recommend this product. Back to the Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater I do not recommend, it's a waste of time and money! Hope my review helped! (:
Pros: easy to install
Cons: price, didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Confused

March 4, 2013
by ThatGuy09876
fromWashington State
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I don't know what the bad reviews are all about. I had this heater in a 40 gallon breeder tank at first. I too had issues with keeping the temp up. Then I figured out that it has to have some water flow over the heater to make it work right. I put it in front of the intake for the internal filter and temps stayed up between 77 and 79. I now have it in my 125 gallon tank, set in front of the return for my filter, and it is keeping up in there. First thing in the morning, before the lights have a chance to warm the water, temps are near 77.
Suction cups are sometimes a little too difficult to remove from the tank wall. Cover comes apart easily if you look at it before you start to just pull on it.
Pros: works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Don't Waste Your Money

January 31, 2013
by shopaula
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had 2 replacements in under a month.... great concept, heater is horrible as well as tetrafauna's customer service, was on hold for over an hour, then the office closed while I was waiting, no replies to several emails... if I could give this product a negative review, I would have..
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Do not purchase!

December 14, 2012
by KimiKat
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased this with high hopes of it keeping my aquatic turtle's water at 78degrees. Well, the little orange light remains lit most of the time, but lit or unlit, the water seems to remain c o l d. NOT happy with this product.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

horrible

December 3, 2012
by sinlapse13
fromNephi, Ut
water was never at 78, i took it out to clean it, had it fully submerged, and it melted. DO NOT RECCOMEND
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews

Works Well... For A Few Months

November 20, 2012
by Moogle13
fromLincoln, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had this for at the most of 4 months. Not only does food get stuck in it, after 4 months, it took a whole day to barely raise 1 degree, and I couldn't have that. However, Jonesie, the musk turtle, liked to climb on it every once in a while. You should really buy a fluval heater instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Best Heater for my RES Turtle

September 26, 2012
by SweetVA
fromVirginia
I have had 2-3 of these heaters during the last 3 years. Our RES Turtle lives in a 30 gallon tank (filled only half way of course.) I placed heater on same end, opposite corner of filter (Tetra brand Repto Filter). Works great during the cooler months. Turtles are very curious so I'm glad this heater is encased in plastic. Our little guy likes to rest his arms on the heater as he snoozes during the winter. I monitor the water temperature and it stays pretty consistent (76 -78 degrees). The turtle has a basking pad where he can dry off and warm up under the Red Infrared Heat Lamp (50 watts) which stays on and the UVA/UVB bulb is set by a timer to 24/7. This allows him to thermal regulate as needed. He also has at least 12 hours of UVA/UVB light during the day. Proper heating, lights, filtration and nutrition is vital to a healthy turtle. This heater is the best I have found. The suction cups eventually lose their strength and I find my turtle pushing the heater around for fun. That's when I know it's time to remove it for cleaning. Before removing the heater from the water, be sure to follow the instructions. I clean it with water (never any chemicals) and a paper towel. I have decided to replace the heater with a new annually, but I can an old one in the cabinet as back-up just in case. Turtles create a lot of waste so keeping the habitat clean and temperature controlled can be a challenge. This heater is a great help!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Does Not Work

July 18, 2012
by Cara08
fromCO
I bought this heater because its description said that it maintained a temperature of 78 degrees. Yet when I reached in to grab my turtle out the water was cold. I gave it a week before getting a new one and my baby turtle stopped eating, so i bought a thermometer and checked the temp. it never even reached 78 degrees. I changed the heater and the next day she perked right up and started eating again. I would NOT get this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

BEWARE! STAY AWAY!!!!!

June 13, 2012
by Ilovemyreptis
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the worst product ever! I have a 40 gallon tank not even filled halfway so you do the math on why my poor turtles are FREEZING in 63 degree water! It's not even warm to the touch! I don't know what this "heater" is heating but it's surely not my turtles heater. I broke their other one and we were in a pinch and I wanted to spend $10 more for a better heater but husband said no now look. He threw out the box and I have to buy the one I originally wanted anyways so please save time and money and don't buy this. I'm honestly starting to think that no turtle products they sell in stores are worth the box their packaged in.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Don't waste your money

March 9, 2012
by Turtlenate
fromRochester, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It is waste of money and big joke. It states it gets water to 78 degrees. never got above 70 degrees. water felt cold and our turtles were not very active.
stay way from this.
Pros: easy to install
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

Temperature doesn't get to 78 degrees

October 26, 2011
by SquirtANDShelby
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The design is very nice and convenient but the temperature never gets to 78 as it stated. It stays at 76 all the time. I'm afraid it's kind of cold for my turtle. I want to get a different heater.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

it works if it has water flow

June 28, 2010
by mindseye00
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
At first I had the same issue of where it did not seem like it was heating the water, then i moved it next to my in/out on my filter/pump (previously they were of opposite sides) and now the warm water is getting circulated and the temp shows nearly 78F. I do agree that a light/indicator of it being on is needed. I like the plastic "shell" that protects the glass, but it will restrict water flow which is necessary for any heater to work right, so put it next to your filter/pump for better results.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater

February 1, 2010
by bart3035
fromIllinois
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Have a 20 gallon tank (10-12 gal water) for a turtle. Says it is good for 30 gallons water. 48 hours and the water is still at 65°F. Like other reviewers said, the company missed the mark on quality here. This is going back to the STORE for refund.
Pros: shield for protection
Cons: does not work as advertised, no way to know if it is on or off
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

fried fish

May 6, 2009
by turtlefan
fromperrysburg,oh
I have been using this product in my 30 gallon turtle tank for the past 4 months and came home from work to an awful situation. I first noticed that the water was so hot it was steaming and then noticed that my fish were all missing. I moved my waterfall filter out of the way to find that all 6 of my fish that the turtles never caught had been fried. I possibly purchased a lemon, but the whole situation saddened me since I do not like animals to suffer. I am very relieved that my turtles are still alive.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

February 26, 2009
by Jenii
fromUSA
Like several other reviews I've read, this heater will not get my water above 74 degrees, and even drops to 72 or less overnight. Doesn't cut it. I have 10-12 gallons of water in a 20 Long tank so I'm well within specs. Nice design but flawed execution. If you're going to make a non-adjustable heater, the thermostat should work flawlessly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

Works Ok

February 1, 2009
by PetLover001
fromMidwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this heater for my turtle. He lives in a 40 gallon tank and this heater definately made his water warmer. The best thing about this product is the protective cover over the heating unit. The worst thing I have found with this product is it gets dirty quickly and is not the easiest unit to clean.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

buy a different heater, this one doesn't work

January 15, 2009
by sliders
fromPittsburgh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this heater for my baby red eared slider turtles. I have a 20 gal tank i keep 1/2 full, and it couldn't even keep the temp for 10 gal of water above 72-74 degrees. The tank never reached the preset 78 degrees, and even when I filled it with warm water the heater was unable to maintain the temp. I have since learned that baby sliders should be kept at a temp closer to 82 degrees and the heater is not appropriate anyways. I will be replacing it with one that I can clearly determine it is on and working, and where I have more control over the temp.
Cons: cannot determine when and if it is working, never reached 78 more like 72 degrees
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

So frustrating

January 12, 2009
by Liquid
fromHouston, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've tried 3 of these. And every one of them has worked for *maybe* the first 5 minutes that they were plugged in. Enough to get the tank warm, and give me some hope of its success.
With the last two, the suction cups didn't even hold it down. It held on by one, and then made annoying bobbing noises.
I guess after the second one's failure I should have given up and tried something else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

best heater out there!

June 29, 2008
by turtlesmakemehappy
fromVancouver, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i dont know why this heater is getting such bad reviews! i think its excellent compared to other heaters that get into the death valley hot zone. Its preset to 78F, and its ok if it goes 3 or 4 degrees hotter or colder, it doesnt matter as much if you have a turtle because their range is 70-85F!- But 78F is perfect by the way.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetrafauna Aquatic Reptile Heater
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

Waste of Money!

February 12, 2008
by xJesx
fromGarden CIty, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this heater at the end of October for my 2 soft shell turtles, that are in a 20 GAL tank, and it worked great for the 1st month then after that the temp was staying at 69 degrees not the preset temp of 79 degrees, my poor little guys had to freeze for about a week until I got some money to buy a better heater. When I contacted the makers of the heater, they did say I could send the heater to them with all my info and why I am returning it and they would send me another one. I guess that's good, but I still had to go buy a new so they wouldn't die while I sent in the this one. I do not recommend this heater.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next