PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for The Guinea Pig Handbook

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

The Guinea Pig Handbook

This brand new handbook for guinea pig owners provides a wealth of information on the animal's anatomy and life cycle, plus advice on caging, feeding, breeding, and health care.
Overall rating:
4.923 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Review 1 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Amazing!

August 3, 2012
by petlover2012
fromMilwaukee WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This book is great and is very easy to understand, I'm only 13 and I understood everything. I read this book cover to cover twice it was so helpful I learned everything I needed to before I got a guinea pig. I recommend this book for anyone with a kid getting a guinea pig they'll be able to understand it.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

The greatest book in the world for guinea pigs.

June 30, 2012
by AnimalLOVER1234567890
fromJoliet, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
OMG!!! This book is truly amazing. It has woderfully detailed pictures, great facts, and cool tips. I would reccomend this book for both new and experinced owners. I guarantee that you will learn something new at least once thoughout this book. Plus it's reasonibly priced too (considering the infomation within the amazing pages). :) I own a copy myself and most of my friends keep hounding me to barrow it. LOL ;)
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 13 reviews

Very Nice, But Needs More!

June 27, 2012
by BlueLightningSkinnys
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This book is VERY informational, only, it doesn't have enough information on the acutal sections that I had purchased it for, some chapters only have three pages and really it should have atleast 10. Good book, good for newbies with Piggies!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

A book that covers all!

August 29, 2011
by Loryen
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I love this book so much... in fact, I love all the Barron's handbooks. This is so full of great, informative info, that if you had to get only one book before you got Guinea pigs, I would reccomend this in an instant.
After reading this book, I was pretty much a Guinea pig expert! LoL!
Beautiful pics and design too... a great gift for owners you may know :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Very informative!

July 26, 2011
by Dogs101
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this after I got my Guinea pig, Oreo. I used to give her spinach,but I looked in the book and it said that spinach could give them problems. This book saved me from a lot of trouble and now I know more about Guinea pigs and know how Oreo is feeling.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

great!

July 7, 2011
by guinealover123
fromMinnesota, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
I got this before I got my guinea pig. It helps a ton! It has many details and I was really prepared for my guinea pig when I got her. After reading it you can identify if your piggy is sick, how to hold them and a lot of other stuff!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Easy to Read

December 31, 2010
by CaviesForever78
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this book from my older brother for Christmas. It is quite accurate and easy to read. The only problem I had was the minimum cage requirments they had in the book. It said for one pig it should have just 2 square feet of space, and we all know that one guinea pig should have itleast 6 square feet and add 2 square feet for each additional guinea pig. Other than that I really like the book.
Pros: easy to read
Cons: cage requirments not accurate
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

It has everything I need.

December 30, 2010
by GuineaPiggie123
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I own a female guinea pig, Nutmeg, who is currently pregnant. I was looking at books and I could not find a "raising guinea pigs" section. In this book there is one. As I read I find so much more about even the Basics. I love it!
Pros: knowledgable, affordable
Cons: none, nada, zip, zero
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Wonderful Book

February 15, 2010
by Fingers
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This book was a great help, I'd recommend it to anyone looking to buy a guinea pig, or those who already own one. It has a lot of detail, and really helped me learn more about guinea pigs.
Pros: lots of helpful information
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great book

November 13, 2009
by Turtlecrazy
fromIllnois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I first got my guinea pig, I had this book and it proved an invaluable reference. It tells all you need to know about the care of guinea pigs. It also covers most if not all of guinea pig diseases. It has a section on showing guinea pigs, and it tells about their natural history. I highly recommend this book!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Super helpful book!

September 27, 2009
by slynn
fromSanta Cruz, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great book, it covers a lot of helpful and interesting info/tips for guinea pigs. I bought this book as a first time guinea pig owner and I found it to be very thorough, and I still look back to it as a reliable reference.
Pros: great book, thorough info
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Excellent

August 15, 2009
by Blaze
fromHigh Point,NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great book,It gives you the informaition you need to have a happy healthy pet and cute pictures too! This book is a winner!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Guinea Pig Handbook
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

GREAT BOOK!!!

July 16, 2009
by MonkeyGirl
fromHigh Point,NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great book I would reccomend to anyone who has or is getting a guinea pig.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.