PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder

A feeder designed to invite small songbirds in, but keep squirrels and undesirable birds out. Holds up to one pound of sunflower or mixed seed.
Overall rating:
4.111 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Review 1 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

best feeder I've found

June 20, 2011
by jerseygirl54
fromsouthern new jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just purchased a second one of these feeders after years of success with the first, which is still going strong. It did take smaller birds a few days to figure out they could easily fit through the wire grid and once they did, have had no problems dining freely. Sparrows, wrens, finches, titmice, chickadees etc. all use this feeder regularly. Squirrels have outsmarted every other 'squirrel proof' feeder we'd tried, but not this ones' well built, simple design. The wire cage is much heavier gauge than on others making it far more durable than most. A good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Not if you are in New Mexico/Colorado

January 29, 2011
by BirdsStarving
fromNew Mexico
This product is not only squirrel proof but it is also BIRD PROOF. So far the nuthatches and sparrows look longingly at the food that is trapped beyond their reach.
If the feeder is only suitable for regional areas, it should disclose what areas.
The grid openings seem only large enough for hummingbirds who don't want this food anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Pest Proof Feeder

July 26, 2010
by Dane1
fromOttawa, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Had this feeder for more than 5 years and its still doing its job by keeping those (all you can eat!) larger squirrels and unwanted larger birds. If you want those smaller birds like the black-capped chickadees and others that size than this is the one. Unfortunately it will not take the cardinal and others that size. The smaller squirrels such as the red squirrel and chip munk will get in. To solve this problem purchase a pole and baffle.
Pros: does what its designed to do
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Nice Idea,... but

August 18, 2009
by SteveP
fromCleveland, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
The design, construction and overall concept of this feeder is excellent, but it has a fatal flaw. The spacings of the wire grid are too small. I purchased this feeder to give smaller birds, such as sparrows a chance at the feeder, since the large birds, blackbirds, grackles, etc. were dominating the feeder. After observing for 3 days, I noticed that while the feeder was effective against the big birds; the sparrows, chickadees and finches were not able to get through the grid either. Unless you are looking to feed really tiny birds, I would look at an alternate design.
Pros: attractive design
Cons: wire grid too small
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great Feeder

June 23, 2009
by luvmybirds
fromMurray, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I was having problems with squirrels getting into my feeders. They do not get into this one! Small birds can feed in peace. Several birds can get in the feeder at one time. It is fun to watch them eating happily away. Also, I do not have to fill it as often because without the squirrels devouring the seed it last quite a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great product!

August 10, 2008
by JeanneD
fromWarminster PA
What is your gender?F
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Purchased this feeder 2 years ago. It is well-made, easy to fill, and is definitely squirrel-proof. The squirrels check it out by trying to poke their noses through each hole until they have tried every one, then they finally give up and jump off. We noticed several small birds like to sit inside the cage and look around as if they feel safe in it. It has been a pleasure to have this hanging outside of our kitchen window and has provided us countless hours of bird watching fun. We just purchased our second one because it is a great product and we would recommend it to anyone who wants to make sure the little birds can safely eat and provide for their young ones.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

June 11, 2008
by imjasonc
fromIA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
If you have problems with squirrels than this is the feeder for you. They can't get to the seed, but the birds can. Good quality feeder.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Peace at the feeder

May 26, 2008
by Grateful
fromVilla Rica in NW Georgia
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I am pleased with this bird feeder. The one it replaced was a tube feeder and I had attached a small plactic disk to the bottom for the birds to sit and feed. The problem was mocking birds would perch on that disk and gobble down feed like hungry sharks on a whale carcass. Also the mocking birds would bully the smaller birds and chase them away. With this feeder I have that problem NO MORE and it's nice to watch the little birds slip through the bars and feed in peace to their hearts delight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stokes Squirrel-Proof Feeder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

July 13, 2007
by periwinkle
fromDover, Delaware
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I have a difficult time keeping this feeder filled. The little birds enjoy being able to eat without being chased away by the bigger birds or squirrels. I am constantly entertained watching the birds "pop in and out" of the feeder. One nice thing about this feeder is it can be hung on shepherd's crook or be put on a pole. It is very easy to fill.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.