PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl

Reduce water spills while still providing your pet water when traveling.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Review 1 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

No spills!

September 29, 2013
by Ladybully
fromJamestown, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 3 month old bulldog loves to flip water dishes. I was cleaning up spills multiple times a day. I bought the lixit to try and combat this issue. I use this product for daily watering and for travel. I no longer have to clean up spills. It is very convenient and does the job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great for road trips

January 1, 2013
by Chrisy01
fromSouthern California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We drove across country one summer and this thing work wonders. We only had a little spill when it tumbled across the whole back seat because of a sudden turn and stop. Compared to others we used this had ver little spillage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

LOVE this water bowl !

September 19, 2012
by WeeTee
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Absolutely LOVE this water bowl !! Have had mine for almost 5 years. My 2 cats & a dog... LOVE IT! I take it everywhere! If it's on a slight incline it fills itself, but the pets lapping brings the water to them, anyway. I love that even when it's full, you can still pick it up by the handle and move without spillage. I highly recommend this product !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Best purchase I've made in a LONG time!

August 16, 2012
by WeimyMommy
fromPort Orchard, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We have 3 Weimaraner's, ranging from 14 weeks to 8 years. Weims are notoriously MESSY with their water. I decided to try this out in the house first to get the dogs used to it. The puppy took to it right away which is AWESOME because his ears are longer than his snout so they float in the water bowl when he drinks. With this bowl, his ears stay out of the way and more importantly, stay DRY. So, after a few days all the dogs were really liking it, but yesterday, it was SOOO hot - just awful in the house and this is what I discovered: The normal water bowl and the Travel bowl were side-by-side but each dog patiently waited their turn to use the Travel Bowl, completely ignoring the regular bowl. I refilled the travel bowl twice, but the regular bowl remained full and untouched. I'm going to order another one for the car because apparently this one is staying in the kitchen. What a GREAT invention and a GREAT investment! Highly highly highly recommend it. My kitchen is SO much drier... I'm not cleaning up water constantly. LOVE IT.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

December 16, 2010
by Sabs
fromGville, NC
This traveling water bowl has come in great for the car and bringing to the dog park.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great product

November 5, 2009
by KimW
fromAkron, OH
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this for my dog about 2 years ago for long car rides and she loves it. I also use it at the dog park once they turn off the water for the winter. If this water bowl and her regular water bowl are next to each other, my dog always goes for this one. My cat likes it as well.
The bowl is pretty difficult to spill, but it can happen if it doesn't completely turn over and is caught at the right angle. Overall, great product and I have received several "I need to get one of those" comments at the dog park.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

This is my second one

March 20, 2009
by twopoodles
fromEurope
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Two two rambunctious poodles in the back of an SUV during our 2 week summer vacation NEVER tipped this over. No spills, drips, anything. This bowl is so good another camper stole it! So, I am buying a new one...and a sharpie pen!
Pros: right size holds lots of water
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great portable water bowl to bring anywhere

May 26, 2008
by Xtine
fromManchester, Connecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this product a little over a year ago. My dogs love it. I like to put ice cubes and water in the white base so that the water stays colder longer.
I bring it to the dog park with my dogs and all the dogs want to drink out of it.
There is only one negative that I can think of for this product. When the water level starts to get low, the level of water in the cup is almost nonexistent. To rectify this, I step on the white base. By doing this, the water level rises and stays up for a little while longer.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Taken on numerous trips. My 2 dogs love 'em!

December 21, 2007
by kim51401
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Before we used to fill up their regular bowls with a bit of water, enough that it wouldn't spill if we hit a bump, but my dogs would drink them fast and start asking for more. I bought this and have filled it to the line and the dogs love being able to drink when they need to. We've used it on small trips and long trips, lasting as long as 8 hours for a drive. This is great!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

BEST THING EVER INVENTED

June 18, 2007
by RAYANDELAINE
fromFLA, NC
WON'T EVER SPILL IN YOUR CAR, CAN ADD ICE CUBES FOR HOT DAYS, CAN HOLD UPRIGHT WITH HANDLE. I NEED ANOTHER ONE. THOSE THAT SAY IT SPILLS IN YOUR CAR THATS HARD TO BELEIVE MAYBE ITS NOT COMPLETELY FLAT ON YOUR FLOORBED. IT WON'T EVEN SPILL IF I HIT A BUMP. I LOVE IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO EVERYONE.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Awesome Dog Bowl

April 30, 2007
by GoldisMom
fromTampa, Florida
After seeing that it was made by Lixit, I had to try it. I've used the Lixit faucet waterer for my golden retriever for years and I wanted something for the inside of my house that wouldn't make a mess. The waterboy works great and I'll probably get another for when I take my dogs to the park. I've even seen my cat drink from it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

NO SPILLS Stop & Go =TYG!

April 23, 2007
by Major
fromPennsylvania
Finaly someone had the brains to come up with one of these. Everyone I know has needed one of these as long as I've been alive. Place it on a carpet remnit to catch the extra water run off from their mouth, that can be excessive and in some cases worse then a spill.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Worked Well

March 17, 2007
by Jenny12
fromFlorida
After trying numerous products that didn't work, this Lixit Water Boy was great. Anyone with a lab will tell you they LOVE water and this product easily allows you to take water anywhere. I bought a second one for my home because my lab would splash water all over with other bowls. I thought it might be too small at first, but my dog loves it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Don't waste your time or money!

January 15, 2007
by goldiegirl
fromOHIO
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
There are not alot of options for quality crafted travel bowls for water. When I saw this travel bowl, I thought I was on to something. But all I got was water all over my car floor. This thing splashed and spilled water all over my floor when I turned corners. I couldn't understand it because it was never filled to the suggested line and it still was a wet-mess! When I called Lixit's customer service department, they kept telling refused to believe that the bowl spilled. They said they would not offer a refund because they "stood by their product". They even said they'd email me the supervisor's name, at my request. However, they never did it! This product is terrible and I would not recommend it. I have since found a travel bowl at PetsMart that works correctly and I have thrown the Lixit in the TRASH where it belongs!
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit Dog Travel Water Bowl
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great for traveling and for agility trials!

November 22, 2006
by AussieAgility
fromFairfax, VA
It still can spill some if it gets flipped over, but it doesn't splatter around in the car.
It holds a lot of water, and you can put ice cubes in the water too for hot days. It's a great portable water bowl and convenient for agility trials!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.