PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lixit Hay Rack

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lixit Hay Rack

Keep your small animal's hay where it should be - off the cage floor.
Overall rating:
3.444 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 53
33 of 54(61%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lixit Hay Rack
Review 1 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 54 reviews

Um...

December 17, 2012
by gpiggeek
fromOH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The hayrack is ok I don't recommend it but it's ok. It's very easy to clean considering hay leaves that dusty stuff behind. It's also very durable and i still have mine and i use it, but just because i have nothing else to use..yet. It leaks alot. if you put it on the outside of the cage it spills all over the floor. If you put it inside the cage (i use fleece and a c and c cage) it gets all over the fleece and that drives me crazy.
Pros: durable, easy to clean
Cons: leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 54 reviews

This is an okay product.

November 24, 2012
by RabbitLover12
fromAlbuqurque, NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
All rabbits need hay, and I use grass mixed with alfala hay for beeding & nesting, then Timothey hay for for them to eat. This hay rack is good, but the clips it comes with arn't that great for outdoors. When it's windy it would fall off the wire, my solution was use wire to tie around the rack & my cage. Sometimes the hay would fall in between the rack and the wire, since it has no back. It would be better if it had a back to hold the day.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 54 reviews

worst hay rack

October 3, 2012
by bunnylvr101
fromunited states
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought this for my bunny and as soon as i hooked it onto the wire opening on my hutch, i realized it was too tall! i figured i would still give it a try and once i filled it with hay, all the pieces slipped out the back way and onto the floor! in the end, my bunny ended up not getting any hay and there was a big mess! not happy :(
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 54 reviews

very sturdy!

September 29, 2012
by petsrock101
fromCleveland, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We got this hay rack for my guinea pigs because our old one broke. This was our first time using this particular rack and i was very suprised on how strong it is!! The little hooks that attach to the cage haven't snapped off even after every day of filling it. It is also the perfect size for my guinea pig.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

Overall a good product

September 26, 2012
by NikkiH19
fromWaco, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 2 bunnies and they burn through hay. I was trying to keep it in a bowl but I had to fill it almost every other hour. I wanted something simple and cheap and this is pretty much perfect. Just snap it onto your cage fill it with hay and you are set. The only flaw I have found it is being a bit messy, but with a bunny that is next to impossible to avoid. I would recommend it. (:
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 54 reviews

Horrible Design

September 21, 2012
by CourtB1987
fromTualatin, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was a very horrible design. It does not lock into the cage securely and is always dropping hay from the gap that is between the hay rack and the cage, when I clean the cage or try to remove it, getting hay EVERYWHERE. The last straw for me (no pun intended) was when I tried to clean the cage this morning, I barely touched the hay rack and it completely fell off, and unfortunately it was full of hay which made clean up quite annoying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 54 reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

July 26, 2012
by GrimAndHerChins
fromIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product was horrible!!! IT DID NOT SERVE hay like it was properly supposed to! If the latches were bigger and if this were made of metal to weigh more then it would be better but this fell down very easily and Nala knocked it down very easily and chewed it and it was ruined in less than 5 minutes and nobody should buy this product at all!!! DO NOT BUY THIS UNDER ALL CIRCUMSTANCES!!!
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: poor quality, leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 54 reviews

Hay racks are great!

May 27, 2012
by QwertyHop
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
I used to just have a mini haystack in my Guinea Pig's cage, but Cinnamon would climb into the hay (he's lazy) to lie down and eat, which would mean that he'd soil it.
Then a hay rack came with my new cage and I was very happy. Definitively buy one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

Good for the pigs

April 1, 2012
by spence1212
fromToronto, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this and mounted it on the outside of their cage. Holds a lot of hay and keeps it clean. I would recommend! 4 stars cuz a lot of hay goes onto the floor but they eat it anyway :)
Pros: durable, easy to clean, Spillproof
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 54 reviews

Messy!

March 4, 2012
by PetsAreMyLife
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This hay rack is great because it is cheap, but hay gets everywhere - both in and outside of the cage. You could save money by just putting hay in a pile in the cage, because that's where a lot of it ends up.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: poor quality, leaks
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

Great product

February 26, 2012
by Tavia
fromlaurel,Md
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this hay rack. It keeps the hay clean and my guinea pig is constantly eating from it.A few pieces will manage to slip out but other than that it is good. Would recommend to a friend.
Pros: easy to clean
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

feeder bin

February 19, 2012
by arkman8208
fromCabot, AR
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this for my 2 guinea pigs and with the cage i have i'm not exactly sure how to mount this. I have next to the shelf in the cage but it's hard for my guinea pigs to get to. I'll have to keep moving it around until i find a place where it fits.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: leaks
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

Good Product For Guinea Pigs

January 22, 2012
by danegirl
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my three guinea pigs Rusty, Lulu(R.I.P) and her son . It's good but the hay gets everywhere and makes a mess. I would recommend it to a friend
Pros: durable, easy to clean
Cons: leaks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 54 reviews

Works Good

November 10, 2011
by Turtleturtle
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This hay rack seems to be working out so far. My bun is able to eat from it without knocking it off. No zip or twist ties yet. He's also really laid back and not at all destructive. I wanted the metal one but they didn't have it anymore. Would be nice if it clipped on tighter. Not bad for the price. It holds plenty of hay for about 2 days.
Pros: durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

love it

October 22, 2011
by KirstyAli
fromMiss canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i love this hay rack it fits on my pigs cage! i dont like that it doesnt hold enough!! over all its great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

does what it says.

September 4, 2011
by mmkakyhla
fromedmonton
i think it does what it says. My pigs always knock it off the cage though and roll around and make a mess out of the hay. But it kinda does the trick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 54 reviews

It holds hay

July 23, 2011
by Karina
fromJohnson City, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
It holds hay, but it also drops A LOT of hay, and there is no way to secure the bottom. I also had to tie it on through the side hooks so my rabbit wouldn't knock it off. It holds about 2 days of hay but nothing more or some will get knocked on the floor.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: leaks, Doesn't Hold Enough Food or Water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 54 reviews

Hay Rack

July 6, 2011
by SmallPets8558
fromPittsburgh, Pennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It is a very cheaply make rack, it barely stays on the cage and it only comes in one color. It doesn't hold a lot of hay either.
Pros: Spillproof
Cons: poor quality, Doesn't Hold Enough Food or Water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 54 reviews

May 3, 2011
by reditude
fromAZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
GREAT for guinea pig cages! Our big piggie adjusted immediately to his new hay-holder and he is making much less of a mess now. We're happy that it was an inexpensive solution to a messy problem. And, since it attaches to the outside of the cage, it doesn't take up any room INSIDE, which leaves more room for him!
Pros: easy to clean, Spillproof
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lixit Hay Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 54 reviews

Can be a messy.

April 11, 2011
by caterina26
fromchurch hill, tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product does help keep most of the hay off the cage floor, but it is bad for making a mess on the outside of the cage. It doesn't fit very securely to the side so some of the hay slips through and if you barely bump it with anything it will dump a bunch of hay in the floor.
Pros: easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next