PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass

These affordable hoods fit most aquariums with top frame openings.
Overall rating:
3.467 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
10 of 15(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Review 1 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

March 15, 2014
by loricha8
fromCanton, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This turned out to be a great little product. There aren't any aquarium hoods this small in any of the stores. The only possible drawback is that the light is incandescent rather than led but my catfish are such efficient housekeepers i won't mind if it causes a little algae to grow!
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

It fit my tank just right,

January 22, 2014
by liz44
fromMcConnellsburg, Pa.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
When it came in the mail it was the right size and the price was low from other shops.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Aqueon 5.5 gallon hood

December 9, 2013
by EndlessDark
fromEarth
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I received this nice little hood in 2 days via shoprunner shipping. PetSmart has the best price on these little 5.5 gallon hoods. The hood looks nice and functions perfectly. I wish it had 2 incandescent sockets but I expected only 1 due to the size of the hood and it does only have one. I use a 13 watt DG Home brand cfl which fits good because the spiral of the bulb is barely wider than the base of the bulb, so it fits nicely. I use an Aqueon pump as well and it fits closely in the cut out space on the hood that is for the pump. There is also a smaller half dollar size cutout on the far right that has an air hose hole in it that you can use if you don't need the larger hole. I really love the hood and I expect it will last a long time. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a 5.5 gallon tank hood.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

cant beat the price

November 15, 2013
by breeze66
frompalmdale, ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
replaced the small led light canopy with this model, the led lights couldnt keep my plants alive, doing fine now.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

September 17, 2013
by mudede
fromKCMO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
This product appears to be very nice & good material, but it did not work on my tank, so i have to return it. This size was correct & fit, but the light was not in the correct location to show through the opening I had.
Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

What a waste - Constantly changing bulbs

February 20, 2013
by SewaneeJo
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
This combo hood/lighting came with a starter kit for a 10 gallon aquarium. Upon set up the right side bulb did not work. Went to store and bought a two pack. A week later I had to replace the right side again. Another week later I had to replace same side yet again. It fits the tank perfectly and the cut outs for pump, heater, etc are just fine but the lighting component is sub-standard. Highly recommend spending the money upfront for a better quality lighting system. Absolutely would NOT recommend this product.
Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews

Not Worth It

August 12, 2012
by Anonymous
fromhouston texas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased one of these with another 10 gallon hood and light.
After a year I have replaced bulbs on this thing 6 times per side. They dont even burn out even. there are two bulbs inside and either one can burn out. I have on several occasions replaced one to have the other die a week later. I replaced both once and still they died individually. the hole for feeding is too small to do anything but drop food. if you need to spread food the hood has to come off.
the next time these bulbs die Im just going to buy something better.
Pros: easy to install, price
Cons: didn't work
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Great cover and price!

July 2, 2012
by Jazzman
fromUtah
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Best aquarium hood for price ever. The only difference between it and its $35 competition is the opening, the $35 dollar one opens on the whole front which is great, but this one only has a little door, but you have to pay 3 times as much just to get the one that opens all the way. Plus the bulbs for it are less than $2 at Walmart for the pair.
Pros: works great, easy to install, price
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Burns out bulbs way too fast

April 10, 2012
by tiggertiffin87
fromRenton, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews
I got stuck with this hood when I was given an aquarium. I go through 2 bulbs every couple of months. They should not be burning out that quickly. I also added a glass cover under the hood in case the water was causing the bulbs to burn out too soon...nope, didn't help.
Cons: didn't work
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass

December 28, 2010
by thecoinbox
fromPittsburgh PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this hood 2 months ago and have had NO problems or complaints with it. I tried various light bulbs and finally settled on a 15w GreenLite cfl.
For $10, this is a great deal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

It burned out all my bulbs

October 4, 2010
by Changus
fromCovina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
This hood burn out 4 of my lights in a month. I had flourecent bulbs in there.
Cons: burns out light bulbs
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Produckt review

June 20, 2010
by KritterKeeper
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I got one of these in an aquarium starter kit. The lightbulbs and their little plastic covers are able to get water splattered on them. This causes the screws holding the lightbulb covers in place to get corroded. The lightbulb covers also get brittle and break, and they break right where the screws hold them on. I also had issues with algae growth.
I will say that it was easy to use, with no special set up. Just pop the tabs for the filter and heater. But, knowing what I know now about this product, I would not buy another one.
Pros: it's easy to use
Cons: light covers get brittle after a while
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

Bad!

April 16, 2009
by fishloverforever2009
fromSioux Falls, SD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this product and a few days later it started growing this groose brown stuff that I can't get it off. Ever.! But it does work well but it is very good at litting up the tank but couse of the gung it is kind of darker.
Okay!...
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

EWW!!

March 15, 2008
by west
fromtupelo,ms
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I have used nothing but this type of hood on my aquariums. With in 8 months some sort of something has grown on it. Nothing that I have tried has removed it. I have spent weeks trying to save my hood. Not even CLR can remove the crusty gunk. I have cleaned my tank multiple times over a two day period and it appears to be gone but when it dries it's back! Regardless to this fact I would recomend this hood to a friend. IT WORKS GREAT! it just grows stuff...
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Incandescent Full Hoods by All-Glass
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Very Good!

March 30, 2007
by bbdailey
fromFranklin, PA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
We have received and installed the hood; it's got an average fit and EXCELLENT lighting. The only problem is the back lip doesn't fit down in the tank - but you can't tell! Very old tank, so that's probably why.
Very convenient for feeding, and easy to lift off if need to get into the tank. The best feature is the easy to remove tabs in the back to fit around filters, heaters, etc. We love it.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.