PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods

Provides excellent aquarium lighting and full coverage for the top of the tank. Includes fluorescent bulb. 36" = 35-1/8" x 11-1/4" fits most 30, 38, and 45 gallon tanks.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 12
16 of 17(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Review 1 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Would Recommend

February 25, 2014
by MattLH
fromEastern, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
The product was easy to install and fits perfectly with all working components. My thirty gallon-long tank looks great with hood and light.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

GREAT

January 17, 2014
by barblicious
fromBurleson, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Had a hard time finding a lid for my fish tank, when the old one had cracked. was using plexi glass to keep it together. I worried it would not fit. It not only fit perfectly, but the light bulb is cheaper than my old one. Great product
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

December 22, 2013
by Westminster
fromBroomfield, Colo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is hard to find in the stores. Great hood !
Pros: easy to install
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

September 17, 2013
by RollTide15
fromMillbrook Alabama
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I am very pleased with my Hood/light for my 40 gallon aquarium! It fits perfectly and my filter adapted
nicely to the hood. I love the fluorescent light. It's much nicer than the old tubular bulbs. I would recommend this product.
Pros: price, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

AMAZING!!!!!!

October 7, 2008
by Aislinn2Page
fromAZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
This product is wonderful. I love the neon bright color it give off! I recently bought an aquarium that came with this at petsmart. It woorks amazingly! I too have fiesty little kittens the like fish< so this hood is always keeping them from having a seafood medly fo lunch! lol ! The only thing i dislike about this product is the huge lift lid, when i feed them i have to lift it and im always scared that they are going to all jump out onto the capet<wouldnt be the first time>!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great Hood & Great Price!

July 2, 2008
by lindersw
fromBoring, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased this hood for our 30 gallon tank. It's great! It fit perfectly and it gives you just the right amount of space for everything in the back. The lighting is clear and it makes no sound.
Thanks Petsmart for a great product selection with fast and easy shipping!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

High Quality, Silent Fluorescent Hood

March 21, 2008
by superslurpee
fromWinnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had an older hood that made a very loud buzzing sound because the ballast was going. I decided to purchase the All-Glass Aquarium Hood for my 10 gallon aquarium and have been extremely satisfied both with the hood itself and with PetSmart. In fact, I placed the order on a Friday and it arrived at my door the following Tuesday at lunch (and I am in Canada!). That in itself was very impressive.
The All-Glass hood fits perfectly on my tank. It is flush with the top as it sits in the 'lip' of the tank top. I have found that this keeps the hood securely on the tank as well as greatly reduces water evaporation, especially in dry air like a Canadian winter! I used a pair of tin snips to cut the sections open for my hang-on-back AquaClear filter and heater. I've got just what I need opened up and not the entire back section where fish could jump out and water can evaporate.
The fluorescent light that comes with this product has a slight purplish tinge but is bright and looks fantastic. When I first plugged it in I thought it was broken because it made NO noise. I had to actually look at the light to see it was on and working perfectly - and silent!
I've had the hood on my tank for over a month now and it still works and looks great. I recommend this product from PetSmart. It's high quality, terrifically priced, and you get fantastic fast service. My fish tank is silent and peaceful thanks to this excellent product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

great

October 10, 2007
by freshwater
fromSF
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
I thought the flourescent light was white but mine is more like purple. other than that it's great.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Not a cat dish!

April 17, 2007
by Mitchell
fromBig Spring, Texas
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Before I purchased this Hood my cat was using my 10 gallon Guppy tank in my office for her own personal water supply. Now the cat just watches the fish from the desk. This hood provides great light and safety for my fish. No more kitty water supply.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Good Hood

March 30, 2007
by bbdailey
fromFranklin, PA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
This hood is a little short for our tank, but we expected it not to be PERFECT... since we don't know what brand the tank is. Went by measurements. The lighting is wonderful, exactly what we wanted - not too bright, but bright enough to enjoy our fish.
Love the EASY to remove back tabs for filters, etc. The full front door is great too, helps when cleaning and feeding.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Great deluxe hood!

November 24, 2006
by icecubez189
  • Expert
fromQueens, NY
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
This is your basic All-Glass Aquarium fitted deluxe hood. The doors are full length and hinged (hinge could be better quality) allowing for maximum feeding, viewing and maintenance room. Strip light and ballasts are good. Fluorescent lights are easy to change (they should be changed once a year) and bright. Works great!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Basically ok

November 6, 2006
by CyboRob
fromNW, WA
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews
Yeah if your not needing high output, these are great little all in one solutions.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Deluxe Fluorescent Aquarium Hoods
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5 17 reviews
4 out of 5 recommend this product
Performance 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5 17 reviews
Quality 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5 17 reviews