PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats

Now available without a prescription! The vet-recommended treatment for removal of tapeworms from cats and kittens.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 46
49 of 52(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Review 1 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Feline Wormer...

August 25, 2006
by Marlena
fromWaco, Texas
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
I have tried everything to get rid of my twin cat's worms. I stopped by Petsmart and found this product and tried it. To my amazement...it worked and my kitties feel better and the worms are all gone. Thanks Petsmart!
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

great, quick fix. everyone's happy.

March 12, 2014
by MelaPatches
fromclarksville, tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Somehow both of my indoor cats ended up with a tapeworm. I was able to pick up 1 bottle of this product at Petsmart, and crush up 1 pill in their wet food. The cats knew something was a bit off with their food but it didn't stop them from eating it, they were just a little slower to devour it all. I was pleasantly surprised to see that it only took 1 pill to rid the tapeworms for both cats. It seemed to have an immediate effect, as I literally did not see another single segment on their hind ends and/or the areas they sit/lay. And I still have 2 pills left. Great, fast-acting product, definitely cost-effective. Saved me on a vet bill for 2 cats, prescription costs, and wait time. I 100% recommend this product.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Pretty Excellent

January 21, 2014
by WVAmber
fromPoca, WV
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
I'd definitely recommend grabbing this medicine for your animals if they have tapeworms. I live with six cats, five of whom got infected. Easy enough just to get them to swallow it instead of gambling with putting it in food; they weren't very happy about that at first, but haven't seen a sign of tapeworm since, and they're quite happy now. A great lifesaver for those who can't always afford to take their animals to the vet to treat it. =)
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price, Taste
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

My cats do not like pills, but it was good for the

January 20, 2014
by PaulaDL
fromYukon, Oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
With 4 cats and 1 dog, it is hard to expensive to take them to the vet for everything. I was thrilled to find these pills. My cats definitely hated them and I hated trying to get the pills down them, but it was worth it and it got rid of the worms. I treated all 4 at the same time (which takes 2 bottles because there are only 3 pills per bottle) but it was still less expensive than going to the vet and we did finally get the pills down them. Wow, cats are hard, LOL!
Pros: price, works great
Cons: Hard to Administer, Taste
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Tablets for Tape Worm

January 8, 2014
by FishFarm
fromSummerville, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
This came in a powder pill form. I crushed them up and put them in a soft food form. My cats refused to eat for 2 days and I hated to waste the $50.00 I spent on two bottles for 3 cats. SO it was a battle to not give them anymore food as they tried to convince me. In the end, they would not touch it. I even tried to put what I could in yogurt, cooked chicken.. No matter what I did, they would smell it and run. It was a waste of my money. I would suggest a visit to the vet for this kind of treatment
Cons: price, Hard to Administer, Taste, didn't work
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

I seemed to work in just a few days.

December 30, 2013
by swamikaur
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
In a few days all symptoms and signs of the worms were gone. She's happy, I'm happy.
Pros: works great
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Amazing!

December 13, 2013
by Jessica413
fromTaylor, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My cats came infested with fleas to me. I finally got rid of the fleas but noticed little white worms coming out their behind. Freaked me out and of course It was 3:00 in the morning.
I went to pet smart when they opened and purchased this product. Gave them the correct dosage and AMAZING it worked in no time. We are now 2 years free of worms! This product delivered what it said it does. I would recommend this product to anyone dealing with worms! I didn't see one sign that pointed me the other direction. I keep this stuff on hand. Great product!
Not all medications taste great so I would recommend a pill pocket. They loved treats so this is VERY easy to administer for me.
Pros: price, works great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great Product

November 21, 2013
by Amanda301458
fromcanandaigua, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I recommend this product, my 8 week old kitten had worms and i gave him half a tablet and 2 days later his stool was solid again and I seen no worms.
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

Tapeworm medication

November 18, 2013
by Stkrista
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I was very pleased with the results of this medicine. My little female cat, seems to have calmed down her ravishing appetite. She seems much more content now.
Pros: price, works great
Cons: Hard to Administer, Taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Outstanding

August 31, 2013
by 2littlemeows
fromLake Forest, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I have two kittens 4 months old. I found out that they had tapeworms because I've seen little grains of rice wherever they slept. I called the vet and it was gonna be well over $120 for the office visits for the 2 fuzz buckets plus the deworming medication. With money being super tight, I didn't have enough to spend the ridiculous amount that the vet was going to charge me. So I went online and did research on this product, read the previous reviews and I decided to take my chances. It's a 50/50 chance. I bought the product gave it to each kitten with no problem. They didn't have any side effects, and best of all no more worms!!! Yay!!!! 1 pill each is all that took and only spend about $25. I would recommend this product.
Pros: easy to administer, works great, price
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Did not work at all!

July 28, 2013
by HowDoYouLikeMeow
fromSt.Louis,MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
I have read all of the reviews and all but two said that this product has worked for their cats, so I bought this medicine expecting it to work. My cat swallowed the pill and I watched him to make sure he would not spit it up, and he didn't. I watched him closely over the next few days with NO change. I plan on giving another pill in a month and a half. I was rather upset that this medicine did not work, I really did not want to go to the vet and get the very pricey medicine they give him. I hope this next pill I give him will do some effect in the tapeworms.
Cons: price, didn't work
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Excellent

April 13, 2013
by Arl12
fromMIA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
My cat is 17pnds and it only took one tab to clear him. He had tape worm before and I had to pay around 100 dollars at my vet. The tabs worked excellently-- In a day all was gone. We are very happy and worm free! By the way, to administer easily hide it in one of those pill treats. It only took a second!
Pros: easy to administer, works great
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Works very well

December 6, 2012
by MamaCorgi
fromVancouver, Washington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I just bought this yesterday and I'm happy to say that my beautiful kitty now is worm free. When I saw that she had worms I felt like a horrible pet parent. Now I feel a ton better.
To administer the pill I just had to take the route of gently prying open her mouth and popping it in. She swallowed right away.
Pros: works great
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Wait until you treat

November 25, 2012
by tine88
fromCosta Mesa California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My cat goes outside and has had fleas several times. typically we treat our cat . Wash her and apply a flea treatment between the shoulders. We moved into a new house and she got fleas again we had to bathe her about 5 x times until they were gone. She did not have many I counted 8 - the last bath only 4 - theses must be superfleas frontline plus did nothing. Then I discovered the small flat kernels were she had been sleeping- TAPEWORM - this medicine is absolute super - my Cat took it rapped in turkey, very simple I broke it up . The bottle gives you no dosage requirements - one tablet did the trick- the fleas are gone as well. We sprayed the house changed all bedding and I also spayed the yard. It helps to get a yard spray and a cat spray leave in style - we are finally ahead of these fleas and rid of the tapeworm. No signs on the cat and she is now going back into the new litter box. Cats know not to go into an infested box. I clean the litter twice a day and still she did not use the old box. She went on the bed!!!! signs : Cat going to the bathroom everywhere but the box, self biting and small flat kernels left were she was laying. I also consulted a vet. This is a great product and I am happy it is available over the counter
Pros: easy to administer, works great
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Unbelievable!!!

October 8, 2012
by YNot
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I was really concerned when I saw little white rice size squigglies in my cats stool. With money being tight, a vet is not in the budget right now so I read the reviews and thought I would try and see if it would help my cat. Its a little pricey for 3 pills but Man oh Man was I pleasantly surprised, IT WORKED IN 1 DOSE. This was so worth the money, thank you so much for everyone who rated this so accurately for me to try. This is a definitely works pill. Use it with the Greenies Pill Popper and your cat will eat it with no problem.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

July 7, 2012
by 13691369pw
fromClearwater Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
This product worked fast and my kitty had no side effects from it. I only needed one pill so I have the two left if I need it again. Iam very happy the worms are GONE !!
Pros: works great, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Tradewinds Tape Worm for cats

July 1, 2012
by pinkrosebud29
fromNortheast Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this product and it worked GREAT. My new kitten is happy being tapeworm free and so am I.
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Very good

June 23, 2012
by Liberty79
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
There are so many reviews on here that I initially didn't think another review would be necessary. However, I thought I might give a quick tip to those cat lovers having trouble getting the pill down!
I hate having to do things that make my Ally unhappy...anything at all...and giving a pill makes her unhappy. So, I initially enticed her with a small treat. I think pulled her in close holding her facing me. I gently squeezed on her cheeks and she opened her mouth (a bit reluctantly). I dropped the pill in, she swallowed almost immediately, and we were done. I did watch her for the next couple of minutes to insure she did not spit it up...and as added insurance, I gave her a second little treat (which made her forget how mean I was to her, lol).
I thought this might help others who have difficulty with the pills (seemingly the only negative listed).
Pros: works great
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

OMG - It ACTUALLY WORKS!

May 22, 2012
by LuvDeKittehs
fromSoCal
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
My poor meows ended up getting worms from my old roommates dog. They were sad, depressed lil kitty's. Since these worms are transmitted by fleas, we got them some flea drops first (they were already clean, but better safe that sorry) then started to treat the worms.
We tried everything! The generic deworming liquid from the pet aisle of the mega store - bunk. Wormwood drops - bunk. We even tried garlic (I know, but it was much less than the toxic amount for cats) and well, that was bunk too.
The tabs are a bit pricey, so I was worried they wouldn't work, and more money would be wasted. I bought one of these 3-packs for my 4 cats, and gave each one 3/4s of a pill. Two of my cats ate the pill up like candy, no problem. The other two? We had to mix it in with wet food, THEN shove it down their throats. They forgave us pretty quickly though.
The next morning, all signs were looking good. Clean bums, clean litter. We didn't get any of the adverse effects like upset tummy or diarrhea. It seemed too good to be true, so I waited 3 more days before posting this review. IT WORKED!
Wow, it worked, and my meows seem so much happier and full of energy. They're playing again, and rolling around on the floor, showing off their cutes. The smallest one is already putting back on some weight (...and the fat one is still fat, lol)
I wish I had just tried this first, it's a great and EFFECTIVE product.
Pros: price, works great, taste
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tradewinds Tape Worm for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

It works great... mostly!

May 8, 2012
by Dissatisfied03
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
I purchased this product twice for my cat and it cleared up the tapeworms every time. Works great with pill pockets, she scarfs the pill down faster than any other treat. The thing is, due to the resilience of fleas this last winter, she got them back every time. It's a great product at a good price considering what you would pay a vet. Just make sure you are completely sure you don't have any fleas at all before you use the pills or it's a waste of money. It's really worth the cost to invest in a good flea treatment to avoid the fleas and the little white worm segments that they inadvertently leave on the furniture. After that, this product is vet quality without vet pricing, what more could you ask for.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price, Taste
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next