PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Dog & Cat Repellent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Dog & Cat Repellent

An effective way to keep your property clean and odor free.
Overall rating:
2.857 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 12
7 of 14(50%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Dog & Cat Repellent
Review 1 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

October 21, 2011
by Court1986
fromDothan, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I almost used the whole thing and she still gets in my flower bed. Useless and expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Works well

November 5, 2010
by bbsid
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I live in a condo that has limited grassy areas for dogs to do their business. The dog owners are supposed to walk them around the perimeter, but alas, they don't! This product works well in the small grassy area that is around my property. It does have to reapplied after rain, of course. But it does help keep the amount of dog feces away from my home.
Pros: doesn't damage grass or plants, decreases the amount of droppings
Cons: expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

repel II

August 11, 2010
by dogownerx2
fromKy
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
worthless... save ur money...i have 2 dogs who have decided my driveway is where they will do there business. this stuff did not even slow them down. i used the whole box on a 12x12 area and still had numerous piles on top of it
Pros: smells nice
Cons: does not work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Repel

January 24, 2010
by Unklebill
fromLubbock, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
Repel is not for digging holes. Read the product description. This product works best if the area you are treating is smaller than the area not being treated. The smaller the area treated the better. Also requires multiple applications. Pleasant smelling to people.
Pros: smells nice
Cons: requires multiple treatments
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Do not buy!

January 10, 2010
by Mattf83
fromCincinnati, OH
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I bought this product to try and keep my dog from digging along the side of our house. I filled in a recent hole, put down this product and then let the dog outside. I went out about an hour later and the dog had dug a massive hole right in that spot.
Cons: does not work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Simply doesn't work.

November 18, 2009
by TRRR
fromPA
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I have an Akita, who was continually digging in a patch of loose dirt - not out of frustration, but to make a "napping spot" by the side of our house.
This weekend (on a no-rain, no wind day) I filled the hole and completely covered it in a thick layer of Repel II. 30 minutes later I returned to find a newly dug hole. Perhaps it stopped her from digging it completely out, but I was still left with a new 6" deep hole. For the high price, I can't recommend continually purchasing it in the hope that she will eventually avoid that spot.
Cons: doesn't work as advertised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Waste of Money

July 29, 2009
by p1nky
fromMinneapolis, MN
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
I have a 5 year old dog who uses most of our entire yard as her potty. She is very easily trained but we have had difficulty with this potty issue. I have been using techniques suggested to me by a couple of trainer friends to get her to potty in a fairly large area at the back of the yard (go outside with her, redirect and praise, place droppings in desired area, etc).
To help aid in training, I purchased two boxes of Repel to spread over our small city-sized backyard minus her designated potty area. I applied Repel yesterday evening. Within the hour, my dog played with her toys in the Repel area and in fact peed and pooped there as well. Huge waste of money. I am very disappointed in this product and would not recommend it to anyone.
Cons: doesn't work!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

I think it works

February 23, 2009
by CK182
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I just bought it a few days ago, so it might be too sure to tell... BUT, I put this around my back porch/yard area where my dog has been going to the bathroom everywhere. He seems to stay away and the gray powder (looks like ashes) are not wet. I do recommend this product. It has a nice smell to humans, but when I let my dog smell it he seemed repulsed. Mission accomplished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Sick of my neighbor's cats

October 30, 2007
by AReviewer
fromArkansas
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
We have a neighbor who has multiple outdoor cats. They seem to think our yard & plant beds are their litterbox. It's disgusting. We have small children. I don't need cat feces all over my yard. Our neighbor could care less what her cats do. (One of them left a dead mouse in our yard and she commented on how she saw her cat "catch your little mousie." Who knowingly LEAVES a dead mouse their cat has dragged into someone's yard?!) We bought this to help. It works well, but only for a little while. You have to keep applying it every few days. It gets expensive buying this over & over. We just ordered the Scarecrow automatic sprinkler to scare the cats out of our yard. I am hoping they work!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Worked Great!

August 17, 2007
by LoveMyJRT
fromSacramento, CA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
After trying a couple other products, one of the trainers in my local store recommended this product. It works great! I have a sliding glass door that my Jack Russell Terrier kept jumping on and I couldn't find a way to keep him away from it. I now use this at the base of the door and he stays away. I use it anywhere I don't want him to be and it works great without harming him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Doesn't Repel but Keeps From Marking

June 25, 2007
by chershey
fromSanta Clara, CA
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Recently, some stray cats in the neighborhood have been making "friends" with my indoor-only cat. At least one of them has decided to use my balcony as a litter box. I needed a repellent that kept them from marking my balcony without scaring my kitty away from the open (screened) window next to it. As long as I scatter fresh repellent each week, those cats will only occasionally come by; I haven't had any more litter box incidents.
I wouldn't recommend this product if you want cats (I have no frame of reference for dogs) to physically keep off your property, but it is excellent at keeping them from marking your property.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dog & Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

April 10, 2007
by mominGA
fromGA
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
My puppy was relieving himself in my flower bed and in the kid's swing set area. I have that rubber mulch stuff in there. I tried this and it did not work at all. He still goes there. This is a BIG waste of money, for it to NOT WORK AT ALL.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dog & Cat Repellent
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
3.5 / 5
3.5 / 5 14 reviews
1 out of 2 recommend this product