PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Clevercat Top Entry Litter box

Dog & toddler proof design eliminates mess Provides more privacy for your cat than traditional boxes Prevents litter tracking
Overall rating:
4.42 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(131 reviews) 127
116 of 131(89%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Review 1 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 131 reviews

Does what I was hoping for

September 15, 2006
by add1975
fromBelleville, IL
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 131 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 131 reviews
I stumbled across this product one day at PetsMart. I only have one small cat, but he was constantly tracking kitty litter all over the house...especially around the litter box, obviously. Since this product was inexpensive, I thought I would give it a try. It couldn't be any worse than the box and mat I was using.
And I am amazed at how well it works. Of course, there are still small amounts of litter around the box, but I don't find it all over the house like I used to. I can go an entire week without sweeping around the litter box!!
My male cat took to it immediately. He doesn't seem to be picky about his litter box, but I sometimes see him using it, and he always has to have his head peeking out of the top. Which means he uses the bathroom in the same spot of the box every time. So everything does clump in the one area. And he is sure to let me know if I have allowed too much waste to accumulate and get in the way of his bathroom!
All in all, I recommend if you are tired of having kitty litter all over the place!!
+24points
25of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Best litter box ever

September 2, 2006
by Heidi
fromWortington, MN
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 131 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews
This litter box is FANTASTIC! We have a larger dog who had a habit of eating the cat litter. I found this litter box and figured I would give it a try. It's awesome! The dog can't get into it and it traps the litter when the cat jumps out. Ingenious idea.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

August 31, 2006
by ilovemycats
fromDenver, CO
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews
BEST LITTER BOX EVER INVENTED! Our litter box is located in a room behind our kitchen, so the cats would always track litter all over the kitchen floor, which I hated!! We tried everything, different litter(which pine worked very well but was a messy clean up), an automatic litter box(that was my worse nightmare as to the tracking problem, but great otherwise), etc. This litterbox has SOLVED my problem! I love it! I'll never have a different litter box.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Love this product!

January 7, 2012
by Carterjax
fromChesapeake, VA
This litter box is wonderful. I wish I had known about it when I first got my cat. I recently transitioned him to it from a front entry litter box and he did great. The best thing about is that my 2 small dogs no longer have access to it, which has completely changed my life. ( There is nothing worse than constantly cleaning cat poo off the carpet when your dogs get into the litter box) It is also very easy to clean, simply scoop over the open box. No more bits of litter falling on the floor. The mat on the lid does a great job of catching litter from my cats feet. Can't say enough good things about it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Dog Stays Out!

January 5, 2012
by Peedeeh
fromLagrange, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My little dog was making meals out of my litter box, so I found these litter boxes---PROBLEM SOLVED! The dog can't get in, the litter stays in the boxes, and it almost seems to keep odors at bay! LOVE THESE LITTER BOXES!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 131 reviews

It did what I bought it for, but...

November 9, 2011
by tlnke1108
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The whole reason I bought this litter box was because I was sick of my dog getting in the litter box and bringing stuff into our living room with him. This litter box did an excellent job of stopping that, however my cat will only use it sometimes. I have caught her trying to urinate on my kitchen and hall rugs a few times, and I'm not sure why she is doing this because she never had before. My fiancee thinks the box isn't big enough for her because she is about a 20-22 lb. cat... Needless to say I will be returning this because I would rather have my dog bring kitty litter into my house then my cat urinate everywhere. If your cat will take to it and use it I would DEFINITELY recommend this product for you though!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Best Litter Box Ever!!!

July 2, 2011
by sabea125
fromCatonsville, Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had this for 7 years now, yes, the same one. I have a rather large 18-20 pound cat who took to it right away with no problems. Actually he was four when I purchased it. I was a bit concerned thinking he might not like it after using the basic pan litter box with no cover. But I gave it a try and have never looked back. It is very easy to clean and most importantly, it keeps my little yorkie from getting to it......the reason I tried it in the first place. It also helps to keep the odor down since my cat never got the hang of covering is mess! Great product, highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Love the Concept

June 21, 2011
by Libbey
fromPittsburgh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I loved the concept of this box, but it didn't work for my large male cat. He refused to use it even with the lid off. My other kitty had no problems with it.
There was hardly a mess while using this box. I still recommend using a mat under the box. My kitty didn't always walk across the lid to clean her feet.
*Not for large or finicky cats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Best Litter Box

June 16, 2011
by RLD7
fromPrinceton, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ok so it's not the best looking litter box out there but it saves my floor from being wet on so it is seriously one of the best purchases I have made!! For some reason my cat likes to urinate in the corner of the litter box and it would spill over the side onto my bathroom floor. I've tried the other types of enclosed boxes but they have a seam where the lid meets the bottom portion and the urine would leak out the sides making a mess too. My cat was leery about it initially but I kept the lid off and kept it in the same place as her previous box and she started leaping in and out of it probably that same night or the next day. Then I put the lid on and she had to adjust to that but now she is fine. She does her business and even sits on the ledge sometimes when she is finished just to hang out. She is 8 years old and about 15lbs and she can fit in and out ok. I'm just so happy my floors are staying clean and hardly any litter follows her out. I highly recommend this product to anyone!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

The Best Design Ever!

May 9, 2011
by Mike85021
fromPhoenix AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two male Siamese, both well litter box trained. However, one of them squats when he starts to urinate, and then rises to a standing position and incredibly directs the stream straight back. So talented! I wonder if he could write his name in the snow... but I digress!
I've used tall storage boxes with some success, but thought boxes with a hinged doors would totally stop the splash. As it turned out, I had to leave the doors open because the cats didn't like it closing on their tails. Plus litter was all over the place. Bad Design!
Then I found these! A little expensive, but PERRRRFECT! Easy to clean, and although I've never used liners, the liners for these are great since the box top holds them in place.
Worth every penny!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Amazing solution!!

April 30, 2011
by EAL51608
fromFort Lauderdale, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have seen this litter box soooo many times, but decided that I didn't like the look of it. I tried so many other boxes. My problem is my little chi, who rushes to the cat box constantly smacking his lips, waiting for some delicious cat "prize nuggets" to snack on. Finally this really got on my last nerve so I spent the $100 on an automatic box, thinking this would get the out of his reach. But the auto box didn't get all the "prize nuggets," and I would find crystal litter on the carpet....which means that little Paco was snacking on little kitty nuggets.
Out of sheer desperation I tried this box. After one day, I feel sane. The dog was honestly horrified when he saw it, and realized that he can't get in. That cat used it with the lid on from minute 1. And I am soooooo happy :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

not totally dog-proof, LOL

March 13, 2011
by Vick1vick
fromSaginaw, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought 2 of these boxes (i have 3 cats) hoping to keep my golden retriever from cleaning it for me. for the longest time it worked, til the day he came to me and it was obvious he had figured out he could fit his big fat head in the top opening. other than that, it is a great product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Clevercat litter box...worried turned to wonderful

January 30, 2011
by Pepsiboy
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased the Clevercat top entry litterbox because we have a Yorkie that wants to explore the boxes and while trying to sell our house, we have moved into a new townhome and wanted something that would keep our place neat and tidy as we transition. We are clean and tidy people and this option seemed right up our alley!
I purchased this box yesterday, on Saturday, January 29 because I had an in-store coupon. When I got home, I removed one of the 2 lipped versions of litter boxes that we had. I put the CC top entry beside the other and removed some of the used litter and placed it in the Clevercat box and left it alone. I did not add the lid until this morning so that they could explore it and not have the lid be a distraction.
I made sure to put the litter neatly in so that I could tell if they both or at least 1 had gone in the new box during the night. I would recommend the transition at night when they are curious and active. Woke up this morning and one of the cats had gone in and used the box, so I placed the lid on.
Later today, I could hear one of the cats in and saw his head popped out the hole. Success!!! Fast transition because I followed the instructions. We are now watching to make sure that we see the other cat in before we remove the lipped box and buy another of the Clevercat boxes.
Both cats are large (14 and 17 pound Manx, 8 and 3 years old) and are very picky about having a clean and private box. I was very happy to see that the transition was so fast because of their age.
Even though they are large cats, I could see that there is no problem getting in or out. Very pleased so far. Also, the lid does not click on but stays on very well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

best box so far!!

January 4, 2011
by 3bowlsofporridge
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Out of the boxes I've tried: disposable, no top, flip top, round top, lock top... this takes the cake! Less tracking, less smell, less dust, easy to access and easy to wash. We're all happy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 131 reviews

Not for cats over 15 pounds

December 16, 2010
by SophyB
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 3 cats and 3 dogs (basset hounds) and I bought this litter box to keep the dogs out of the litter. It works for keeping the dogs out but 2 of my cats are over 15 pounds and don't fit in the hole so I am still looking for a solution to have a larger dog proof cat litter box that is not ugly. Currently we have the large litter box for the other cats on top of a table.
Pros: dog proof
Cons: not for larger cats
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 131 reviews

Questionable

November 22, 2010
by KatOwner
fromTexas
Ok... The idea of this product is great and was looking forward to it's potential until I discovered the product's downfall. In store and in pictures, it looks large enough to accomodate any size cat but it's not. My cats ARE NOT gigantic cats but its easy to see that this liter box is too small and they won't use it like a front entry. I gave it two weeks and my cats either wouldn't cover their waste up or they would just go somewhere else in the house which is unexceptable. I switched back to the old front entry and all is good. Bear in mind the size of your cat before purchase. Product does work well as a storage container with a hole in the lid!
Pros: does reduce amount of liter outside box
Cons: only for small to average size cat, cats don't cover waste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

perfect!

October 20, 2010
by bajacalla
fromnew mexico
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my adult male cats wouldn't let the baby girl use their litter box, and having one in another location was just an invitation for the dogs to help themselves. she's a fastidious girl, so litter went everywhere! when I saw this at PetSmart I knew it was the one for her - only she is small enough to get into it, litter stays in the box, and it's not open to dogs! I couldn't be happier - and neither could she!
Pros: no litter outside box, easy to clean
Cons: wish it came in colors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 131 reviews

disgusting

July 24, 2010
by slthiels
fromOklahoma city,OK
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
I recently bought this litter box for its size and dog proof promise. For starters this thing is nasty. The cat wont go in the box, he perches on the side of the hole and lets everything drop in. And it is anything but dog proof. If you have a yellow lab, he will simply stick his big head in the hole and get what he wants. This would be a good litter box if you had an area to hide it in where the cat has complete privacy, but if you are on a situation where the box has to be put in an open area or a spare bathroom go with a covered one.
Pros: holds lots of litter, cleans litter of cats paws when he leaves
Cons: open top not dog proof, cat hangs off edge, smell and sight of open top gross
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 131 reviews

Cat would NOT take to it

July 4, 2010
by KNickell
fromTexas
In theory, this is a great design, but functionally, it is not for every cat. It seems like it works for most, but if you have a picky 14 year old cat like mine, it will freak out. I tried showing her the pan, and she would panic every time she got near it.
She ended up going to the bathroom on a rug we have.
Also, you could just make this box yourself; the design is simple- just a large Tupperware box with a hole cut in the lid. Take an over-sized litter mat and cut it to fit the top. Really ridiculous for the price.
Cons: cat did not take to it, expensive
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Clevercat Top Entry Litter box
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 131 reviews

Never thought I'd review a litter box..

May 12, 2010
by BiscuitsMom
fromOceanside, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
But this one is amazing! It's extra deep so you can add enough clumping kitty litter for it to work properly, odors are reduced, and best off all...almost no kitty litter gets tracked out of the box! Also, my puppy has no access to it. It's worth the money.
Cons: grating a little hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next