PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent

Helps keep pets and strays away from shrubbery, furniture, and garbage cans, and other areas you wish pets to stay away from.
Overall rating:
2.905 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
11 of 21(52%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Review 1 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Does not work outside

November 11, 2013
by newcarmom1
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I bought my dream car a couple of weeks ago & opened the door to my house the next day to find a cat jumping from the hood. I was told to put bleach around the area outside of my car. That seemed to work for a couple of days. I bought this product & it is not working. I sprayed around the car yesterday afternoon & chased off a cat last night. I am ready to call animal control!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Makes me want to stay away too!

July 10, 2013
by Momof2CrazyCats
fromRadford, Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I used this product and it makes me want to stay out of my house too! The stench is horrible and makes it hard to breath. If you want to enjoy your cats and your home, Do Not Use this!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

December 11, 2012
by Nette
fromtuscaloosa, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought Lambert Ray Boundary to keep my cats out of my christmas tree. This stuff really works. I do recommend spraying every 24 hours, because I forgot one morning and that afternoon I had a cat in my tree, but as soon as i sprayed the tree she left.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

strong odor, but works!

November 29, 2012
by jan4persians
fromTwinsburg,OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We bought this repellent to keep our four cats away from our Christmas tree. I sprayed it on the outer edge of the tree skirt. It's been four days, and no damage has yet been done. I saw two of the cats walk near the tree and sniff the hanging beads, but nothing has been pulled on or knocked off. They will walk near the tree, but hesitate and then walk away-and those two cats are really mischievous and get into trouble sometimes. The odor smells musty and is strong for about fifteen minutes, then it dissipates. I spray generously every other day. This product must be shaken up good, which maybe is the reason some reviewers weren't happy with its performance.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Great Product!

November 26, 2012
by GingerG
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this stuff! I initially bought it to keep my kitties off of the Christmas tree. It works great! In the beginning I spray the tree daily, just to insure they learn to stay away from the tree. Some reviewers complain about the scent, but I noticed the scent lingers (to humans) about 10 minutes then it is unnoticeable. I wouldn't be without this product for anything. It is also good if your cats start to scratch on doorways etc. A must have in my home.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

My cats laughed!

September 25, 2012
by Casisrad
fromSt. Louis
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I sprayed this on my furniture and near my bedroom door. The furniture because they get up there and I am tired of the cat hair attaching to my rear end. And near the bedroom because they like to put their paw under the door and wiggle it in the middle of the night, keeping me awake. They also get close to the door in the morning and meow and meow until we wake up.....starting at 4.30 am. So I spray far enough to keep them far back. Well, all they do is laugh at me because it doesn't work. They think its quite comical.
Don't buy this unless you want to be further harassed by your cats!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

don't waste your money

January 23, 2011
by ianikki
fromiowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
this spray does spell awful... the only thing it repells is me! the first day i used it my 3 cats didn't like it and ran away to hide. but they were back scratching those places the next day so i sprayed those places every day for 3 weeks but i have given up now. i think they have gotten used to the smell because it does not bother them at all and my couch looks like a wreck!
Pros: works the first time
Cons: smells awful to humans, not effective. cats get used to the smell.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

January 18, 2011
by Sari
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
This has a horrible smell, and it did absolutely nothing. My cats ignored it completely like nothing had changed.
Cons: awful smell not effective did nothing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Boundary repellent

September 12, 2010
by girlycat
fromSan Antonio, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
This repellent spray did keep two of my cats away from my new furniture. But, the others were not bothered by the horrible odor at all (it really does smell awful). I doubt I will spend anymore money on this product.
Cons: not 100% effective
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Really bad smell, but works!

August 6, 2010
by Catfosterparent
fromCary, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I was fostering 3 cats, who like to scratch under the door of the room they are contained in to get out. They completely ripped the carpet fibers out of the backing, and I had to have the carpet patched. I didnt want them to scratch it up again, so after trying everything out there (double sided tape, herbal sprays, etc.) I thought I'd try this. I sprayed it a couple hours ago, and put double sided tape on the carpet. The poor cats are completely on the other side of the room, avoiding the repellant at all costs, but at least my carpet is saved. The only bad thing is that it smells really bad, kind of like a pungent burning plastic smell.
Pros: works really well.
Cons: smells horrible
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

If at first you dont succeed, spray again.

May 29, 2010
by cathouse2703
fromHouston, TX
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I got this spray to keep 5 cats from going upstairs. We have a really large house and with so many cats they get territorial and start sneaking upstairs to mark. The bottle says use as a training aid so we got a pretty gate for the top of the stairs as a deterant (one that can be breached - it is a deterant, not cat proof). We sprayed the entire stairwell from gate down to the bottom with about 2-3 sprays every 3-4 steps. At first I thought it didnt wrk. I had high hopes but the two cats completely ignored it and quickly tried to breach the gate. We stayed upstairs and made noises and shooed them back downstairs. My husband coated the top half of the stairs again heavier. This is a multi cat household, we needed a stronger "alpha cat" to keep them out. This got rid of one of the cats immeadiately. The second cat walked halfway up the stairs, snifted, and made unhappy noises, the went to the bottom. She repeated going up and down a couple times. Now she wont go near the stairs. Didnt phase the dog who is allowed upstairs. My husband got it on his shoes walking on the wet steps. Now the cat wont come near him has he walks through the house - she makes unhappy noises and then leaves the room. I am impressed. She is a very alpha cat. I am very happy with the effectiveness of this product. The other cats seem to follow her lead and ignore the stairs. The smell is noticeable at first but not bad. Kinda a more flowery version of eucalyptus. The three ppl in the housee are okay with the smell.
Pros: it works, smell not bad, works in multi-cat household, affordable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Works great!

May 6, 2010
by kaysy1994
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I have two 6 weeks old kittens that love to climb and get places they shoudn't so I picked up this spray after reading the comments. Let me tell you that this stuff is amazing! The first time the kittens made a beeline for one of the spots, they promptly turned right back around and went somewhere else to play.
The spray has a slight smell but it did not bother me. My daughter didn't like it :P After a bit the smell goes away (at least to human noses).
Pros: keeps kittens out of places they shouldn't be, stops kittens from climbing/scratching places
Cons: has a slight smell but not horrible
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Keeps my kitten off of furniture!

December 30, 2009
by PetMoxie
fromSoutheast US
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
I had purchased this product about a year ago to spray outside and I didn't notice it working well for that particular usage (keeping my dog away from the shrubs and the dirt nearby). HOWEVER, I got a kitten this year and she has started using my 2 LR chairs as scratching posts, despite the fact that she has a wonderful sisal scratching post 6 ft away with catnip on it. (She does use her post but also started scratching the chairs).
I started covering portions of my chairs with double-sided sticky tape (very costly and not attractive) but then I remembered that I had this Boundary spray from a year ago, and just this morning I sprayed the 2 chairs. Well, one spritz and the cat wouldn't go anywhere near those chairs, and after spraying both chairs front & back, the cat avoids that side of the room altogether! It does have a strong odor yes, but I imagine the smell will dissipate a bit over the next several hours. I will spray a small amount several days a week on the chairs to make sure there is a 'fresh' application to continue to deter the cat.
My cat's reaction was so immediate and so strong that I think this may do the trick and keep her off those chairs! Certainly better than covering my LR chairs with double-sided tape!
Pros: deters my cat, can be used on furniture, a little goes a long way, does not appear to stain but do test it first!
Cons: does have a strong odor
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Does not work

December 12, 2009
by rethow
fromRoanoke, Va
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
The product does not work. We got it to keep our cat away from the christmas tree. After spraying the first time he stay away for about and hour, we stayed away for hours it does work on humans, the smell is bad. But It did'nt stop our cat. The tree was taken apart by him anyway ball after hanging ball. He even sat and smelled the bottle.
Cons: bad smell
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Good stuff

December 3, 2009
by Anonymous
fromEvansville, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
We used this product to keep a 6 month old kitten and a year old cat away from our Christmas tree after they had destroyed it twice (including knocking it over and breaking a couple ornaments) and it works really well. We just spray it once a day on the tree skirt and lower part of the tree and they will venture near it, look at it and then run away. We haven't had any problems with them playing/destroying the tree since we started using this product. Only downside is the smell if you spray too much, but it really works well! Love it!
Pros: keeps the cats away
Cons: bad smell
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

No Boundries

October 17, 2009
by Batman2
fromDallas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
My cat found a spot in the corner he likes to poo in. I got this product in hopes that it would keep him out of the corner, and it does, if you spray it at him. Otherwise it does almost nothing. It keeps him away for maybe an hour, but also keeps me away, because the smell is awful (like a mixture of permanent markers and vicks). Totally worthless product.
Cons: does nothing smells terrible
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

May 28, 2009
by happypetowner
frommichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I thought I was going to have to get rid of my cat because she kept peeing all over the carpet. I used this product (you have to use it more than once.) and she hasn't peed since. I love this product!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

Definitely worked

November 14, 2008
by LEFD
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
My cat's a little headstrong so spraying water or telling him no absolutely did not work whatsoever.. We purchased this product and although it initially smells, (spray some room fragrance after if it bothers you THAT much, which it shouldn't), the product works.. I found that i did have to spray it every few days, as the bottle states, anyway, but overall, great product.
FYI, we also purchased "No Scratch" sprays but they made my cat throw up.. this product is better and I only spray were necessary.
And if you ask, Petsmart will allow you to return the product if it doesn't work for you.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

October 3, 2008
by OdiesMom
fromNorman,OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
This product not only stunk up my entire house but had no effect at all on my cat getting on the windowsill or around the furniture.. would not reccommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lambert Kay Boundary Indoor/Outdoor Cat Repellent
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

I have 12 indoor cats

September 12, 2008
by Luvcuddlecats
fromStowe PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I found one needleless catus plant that doesn't tolerate this chemical... Otherwise, I take all my plants outdoors and saturated them! (Plastic plants included)I let them sit out there to dry and let the stink to dry away. My cats take one taste and they LEAVE MY PLANTS ALONE! I suggest previous user send me her bottle! Perhaps she didn't spray plant to throughly wet the leaves. I came on line to see where I could purchase more and was surprised by the bad review!
I read that over several years the chemical in spray breaks down to a salt. I saw a cat licking the plastic leaf. I washed plant and resprayed. It is not bothered anymore! I think they like the salt. However, they have no intreast in a salt block!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next