PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion

Your cat's own body heat helps to heat this bed to a comfortable sleeping temperature. Machine washable.
Overall rating:
4.543 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 33
32 of 35(91%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Review 1 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Gives owner piece of mind the Kitty is warm!

October 11, 2006
by Anonymous
fromCalifornia
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
This is one of the most popular items I have ever purchased for my cat. He loves it and it is easy to wash. I did put it away for a few months during the hot summer months; otherwise he uses it year-round! Highly recommended as a purchase.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Great Product

February 19, 2010
by jasper88
fromBoston, MA
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
One of my cats loves this mat so much that he has migrated from his usual spot to this "new spot." It certainly gets warm with use, and I am even planning on buying another one right now. Great product!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Not just for cats

February 14, 2009
by MinpinPal
fromKansas City
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have two Minpins that like warmth and they like to burrow. They also tear up any bedding with batting in them. I got two of these cat cushions and sewed the corners together. They love it. They burrow in between and seem warm and cozy. I have had a set of these for months and they have not chewed into it even once. They actually seem to like the crinkling sound and of course the softness and the warmth!
Pros: easy to keep clean
Cons: none
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 35 reviews

thermal pad - good idea, but. . .

November 15, 2008
by ghatta08
frommilitary overseas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This seems like such a wonderful idea, but my cats won't lie on it. It makes a crinkling noise, like cellophane, with every movement, and I think that is what they don't care for. I put it on furniture I want them to avoid.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

Scared my cat...

November 2, 2008
by dragoneyes
fromSt Louis
The cushion has a reflective material inside it that crinkles when it moves. When my cat went to lay on it the first time, it scared her so she never got back on it. Maybe if you have a less skittish cat it would work.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Delightfully cozy

July 1, 2008
by KTMayonnaise
fromBinghamton, NY
My cat really loves this thing. She curls up on it wherever we put it. After adopting her from a shelter as an adult cat, she was nervous to sit on our laps. Placing this pad on my lap lured her to curl up on me for the first time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews

Very easy to clean

June 3, 2008
by Kestrel
fromRegina, SK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My kitten hasn't seemed very interested in sleeping on this. In defense of the product, it could just be in a bad location. I am using it to line the bottom level of a 'kitty condo' I made out of cardboard boxes, and the kitty prefers to sleep in the top level.
My kitty has, however, peed on it (not his fault, there was a problem with his litter box at the time). I was surprised that whatever makes this pad 'crinkle' didn't stop the urine from soaking all the way through. It was VERY easy to clean. I just threw it in the washing machine, and then let it hang to dry. It dried surprisingly quickly.
In the future, when my kitten is a bit older and is more interested in sleeping on the couch than tearing around, I'm hoping to move this to a favorite spot on the couch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion

May 27, 2008
by BevC
fromWaterloo, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a "green", energy-efficient product because it uses the cat's own body heat. Lightweight and portable, you can fold it up and take it anywhere. I bought it for my senior cat who minds the cold. She absolutely loves it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

My cat sleeps on this constantly

March 25, 2008
by KAT5577
fromReston, VA
Chloe is 16 years old and VERY heat seeking. She would rotate sleeping spots on the livingroom furniture. I tried various throws and rugs to minimize the cat hair vacuuming to no avail.
It didn't take her long to make this bed her sleeping place of choice. If I see she's switched spots, I just throw it in the wash and she comes right back to it. She used it all winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

This kept my kitty happy and warm.

February 29, 2008
by Tabbycat123
fromSevern, Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My 5 year old tabby loves this self-heating pad. She sleeps on it and even plays with it. It was was a good purchase! I recommended it to my grandma and her cat loves it too and so will your cat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

This keeps my outdoor kitty warm!

November 19, 2007
by hoppersh
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
I have an outdoor cat and knew I had to find something that would keep her warm once the weather started getting colder. This thermal blanket works perfectly. I put it in her little house and now she's always cuddled up in it, even on warmer days! You can feel the warmth coming off the blanket when she gets off of it--like a little heating pad.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

great product, good price

November 17, 2007
by Anonymous
fromPalatka, FL
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
I bought this cat mat several years ago and my cats love it. It washes very well, and you can even vacuum it using the a vacuum brush between washings. It keeps them nice and warm and looks nice on top of a bed or couch. It has two sides, one which is plain, and that's the one I use. Very good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

My Cat Loves this Blanket!

July 19, 2007
by GBMN
fromEdina, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Not only does my cat absolutely LOVE this blanket, but so does my sister's cat. After she saw how satisfied my cat was with it, she bought one for her tiger cat. They also love the crinkling sound it makes and try to play with it. It's very durable. I've machine washed it at least 3 times already and it still looks fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

June 3, 2007
by ChuckW
fromAtlanta
My year old Pixie-Bob prefers a warm place to sleep, so I bought this mat to put on top of the foam neck support pillow that she enjoys napping on. She seems to like the mat, but she decided that she preferred sleeping under it most of all. I used heavy duty document clips to secure two corners of it to the pillow, and now my lazy kitty fritters away the day, snoozing under her 'blanket.'
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

kitten approves

May 29, 2007
by montysmomma
fromVA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
My kitten loves this. The dogs seem to like it too. It is a lot more attractive (and gender neutral) than a lot of pet beds, and it's nice that it's reversible and you don't have to worry about electric cords.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Love it!

February 13, 2007
by StaceyNY
fromNew York, NY
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
This is a great bed. My cat didn't take to it right away, but now I catch him on it all the time. It looks great too. Warning though...don't vaccuum it...it produces sparks due to the self warming feature...lol.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Barn cats love it!

February 3, 2007
by Bluehorse
fromKirtland, OH
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
I bought the pad for an indoor cat that needed a new home. I could only put her in the barn with our other cat, so I thought she would need something warmer until she got used to being outside. I need to buy another pad, because the two cats keep trying to steal it from each other. Especially now that it's gotten pretty cold.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews

Loved dearly by cat!

February 1, 2007
by Stephany
fromElgin, IL
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
My cat loves to sleep in a cardboad box. I placed this reflective heat pad in his box, placed Oreo on it, and a love connection occured. Only a few seconds was needed for Oreo to decide this was one of his three favorite places to snooze. I feel good knowing he stays warmer on cold nights. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews

Everyone was raving about it...

December 26, 2006
by thehighgemini
fromHouston
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
So, I bought one. The first day, none of my cats wanted anything to do w/ it because of the sound; and these are veteran paper bag players. After literally placing them several times on this thing, a couple stayed the night. I checked for warmth often and wasn't impressed. Apparently, they weren't either because none of them came back to sleep on it again in the following two days before I packed it back up to return.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Self-Warming Thermal Cat Cushion
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews

too bad about the leopard print

December 26, 2006
by Ceallaigh
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 35 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 35 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 35 reviews
It's a good product, but took quite a while for my cats to use it--once they did, they loved it, but we're talking weeks before they tried it. The problem?
1. They don't like the crinkle sound. I know cats are supposed to love it, but our fourt hate it.
2. The animal print. The cats wanted nothing to do with the pad--even avoided the cat tree hammock I tried to put it in. Then I got the idea to turn it over to the plain side. Almost immediately, they each tried it and now we have growls when one wants to be on in and another one is using it.
So I'm buying more. But be warned that your cat might not take to it at first. (Small dogs aren't as picky as cats--our Sheltie loves hers in her bed--but it's too small for her to stretch out on it.)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next