PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain

Inside Cage Bird Fountain, Finch-Cockatiel
Overall rating:
2.778 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
4 of 9(44%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Review 1 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Great Product But Poorly Made

July 12, 2013
by Wyvernfire22
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I use these feeders a lot since my parakeets like to either nest in or throw all the seed out of their other dishes. They work great but the plastic clip isn't strong enough to support the feeder nor does it fit well in my mesh wire cage. I ended up zip tying the feeder to the cage to support it. I also wish they would start making them out of glass again. My parakeets destroy the plastic tube and the glass ones didn't leak when you put water in them. Great product but poor materials.
Cons: poor quality, leaks, Doesn't Hold Enough Food or Water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Works well in the right cage

February 1, 2013
by Garnet
fromPacific Northwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I've used these watering containers for 10 plus years. My cages are homemade wire mesh, with about the 1/2 inch square holes. My cages are more than strong enough to support these, and they have never fallen off, despite active and playful cockatiels. The bird fountain can be taken apart and washed in the top rack of your dishwasher, to get them completely clean. They are easy to refill, just remove the colored base, fill the clear plastic part, but the base back on, and turn them over, so they are right side up. Because they are inexpensive, I can purchase quiet a few, and then hang lots of them all over the cage if I have to go away and leave me birds for a few days (if I don't have a relative coming to care for them). The only con is that my female cockatiel likes to chew on one corner of the base of the bird fountain. Eventually she chews them down enough they begin to drip, and will drain out quickly. If you have a hard chewing bird, you might not like them for the same reason. She does this despite a huge variety of toys in her very large flight cage. It takes her about a year to chew one down enough to do this damage.
Pros: durable, easy to clean, Spillproof
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Great for small pellets or seed.

January 10, 2012
by Anonymous
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I have never tried this product for water, although I could see where it would be difficult. I bought this product because my cockatiel hens were getting "nesty" in their food dishes, burrowing into the pellets and flinging most of them on the floor. They don't attempt to nest in these feeders, but use them for intended purpose! Smll pellets, like Roudybush nibbles, or parakeet seed blends work well without clogging. We waste a lot less food and time cleaning. The top of the silo is rounded, so the birds dont perch on top of it much, but since they do on occasion, i mount the thing up too high in the cage to be perched upon and soiled. I like this product very much!
Pros: durable, easy to clean, Spillproof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

June 23, 2008
by Bubin
fromToronto
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
I bought this waterer and I had to return it right away. It is just so difficult to refill water and it is really flimsy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

TERRIBLE - PEICE OF JUNK

March 28, 2008
by EmmaBop
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
THIS ITEM IS AWFUL! IT IS SOOOOO FLIMSY AND DOESN'T HOLD ANY WEIGHT. WHEN I PUT IT IN THE CAGE, AS SOON AS MY FINGER TOUGHED IT, IT FELL. IT IS TERRIBLE. DON'T BUY THIS! DON'T LET THE CUTE LOOK FOOL YOU. IT IS CHEAP BECAUSE IT IS A PEICE OF JUNK!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

August 25, 2007
by ninaytj
fromVolcan, Republic of Panama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Don't buy! The legs to attach to your cage are insufficient to hold the weight of the water/feeder once it is filled with water. The same is true for the upper band. Not worth any price.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Good for Parakeets

July 22, 2007
by Ashlyn
fromHarker Heights, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I kept two Parakeets a few years ago, and I used this exact waterer. We had it in red, it made it look less cheap. It'll look cheap no matter what you do to it. It's the flimsy plastic material. If your bird likes to chew on plastic, don't use this. My parakeet Daffodil didn't chew on plastic, just wood. She was in love with her mirror perch once her mate Tweety died. Anyways, this is easy to stick on the cage, easy to take apart and clean, and only a little bit of water is lost when you turn it upside down. I was very satisfied with this product, and so were my birdies. Thanks Petsmart! ***REMEMBER: IF YOU BUY THIS WATERER, REMEMBER TO CHECK FOR SEED SHELLS IN THE CUP/DRINKING AREA. IF THERE IS A PERCH NEAR OR ABOVE IT, YOUR BIRD WILL DROP SEEDS INTO IT. MAKE SURE YOU CLEAN IT EVERY 2-3 DAYS, IF THERE ARE SEEDS IN IT, CLEAN IT RIGHT AWAY, OR A FILM OF BACTERIA WILL GROW.***
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

works for lady gouldians

April 24, 2007
by stonewall
fromRock Hill, SC
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I have been raising lady gouldians for three years and I use the 16" X 24" flight cages. I use the cups that come with the cages for food only. I was having a hard time keeping the cups with water clean. after trying several other types, I tried the Top wing bird fountain and found it to work the best. I don't put it in the cage, I use the food cup door on the cage and pop the "t" on the holding ring between the bars so that it will be facing the water dish and the only thing in the cage is the water dish part of the fountain. I open the door and the ring goes up with the door and slides over the fountain when I close the door and they don't have enough room to get out of the cage. the door and ring hold the fountain in place. the water stays cleaner and the birds have enough room to splash some water on them. I will say that the hot pink colors I can do without.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice Inside Bird Fountain
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Leaky Fountain

December 6, 2006
by widget310
fromLittlerock,AR
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
This bird fountain was really hard to get in the cage, and then my bird, Widget, didn't even touch it. When I put the water inside, all it did was leak everywhere, not even like a fountain. However, it looks sorta cute in the cage, like a garden's fountain.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.