PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch

It's edible! Provides essential calcium with the Banana split flavor. Each perch contains 2 exciting flavorful blends of great tasting fruit. Mad of real cuttlebone and 100% digestible ground calcium. Cuttlebone, the internal shell of a Cuttlefish, contains the highest amount of natural Calcium plus Phosphate as well as many other important trace materials.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
9 of 10(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Review 1 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Keet LOVES this thing

January 6, 2013
by LarryJ
fromCrossville, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Yep, my parakeet goes nuts over this thing. Actually, he goes nuts when I take it out to practice getting him on my finger (he uses it as a block from my finger) and then forget to put it back in.
It's actually kind-of comical. He'll go to a nearby perch and jump to where this one normally is and hang on the cage where this one belongs. This is usually accompanied by a lot of squwaking. He lets me know his favorite perch is missing.
He also gets a lot of other use out of it. He bites and chews at it often and uses it to rub his head on. It's good for their nails, too.
The only drawback is that you might want to get two small washers of your own for the inside and outside of the cage. It comes with a wingnut but no washers. Even that's not too big of a deal since I spin the perch itself from the inside and still get it tight.
Pros: durable, Keeps Nails Trimmed, easy to clean, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Loved by Senegals

October 31, 2012
by JinJin
fromPort Jefferson, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I bought one of these for my two Senegals. I didn't use it as a perch but rather mounted it vertically on top of their cage so they could nibble during out of the cage time. It was completely eaten in less than one week! And since It was mounted on the top of the cage I didn't have to worry about it getting droppings on it! Only con is that it disappears quickly!
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Your bird will love!

October 2, 2012
by MollieBlueFrontedAmazon
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I ordered this for the first time and the second I put it in the cage, Mollie, our Blue Fronted Amazon, was biting at it. She is still at it! Very pleased with all aspects, price, quality, etc. it smells really good too! You can't go wrong and it's good for them. I'm so glad I found this product and plan to order many more! P.S., if it gets droppings on it, take a knife and scrap it off - easy.
Pros: durable, easy to clean, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

insanitary

October 25, 2011
by wyldechylde
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I find this product very insanitary, as the bird is standing on this edible perch. I would not want my bird pooping on the and then eating it!
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

pretty and looks tasty

September 5, 2011
by BellaandElliesmomma
fromVenus, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
it gives some color to my girls cage and also some different size perches, but she hasn't quite figured out yet that it's edible and ment to be chewed on. i'm hoping she learns soon, or i'll have to eat it, haha (:
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Birds love it.

August 3, 2011
by guineapigslave
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
My little budgies love this. It took them a while to want to try it. They never touched the regular cuttlebone so I thought I would try this. My female loves to sit on it and my male likes eating it.
Pros: durable, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

My tiels love it!

August 21, 2010
by BirdNerdd
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I bought this perch for my cockatiels; once I attached it in the cage, they were pecking at it within minutes.
It was completely gone within a week and a half! They devoured it.
Any bird deserves one of these in their cage.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

forget the cuttle bone

April 10, 2009
by LuckyJ
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
My budgies think this thing is the shizzle. They won't go near a cuttlebone but love to perch and chew this to their heart's content. It also functions as a great little privacy perch when one wants to get away from the other. THEY LOVE IT.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

AWESOME way to get your bird the calcium they need

July 1, 2008
by birdkrazy
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I LOVE this product, my birds are constantly on it and picking at it. Perfect for breeders or anyone whose bird can be picky about regular cuttlebones.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Polly's Banana Split Cuttlebone & Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Caddie likes his

April 7, 2008
by luvmyparrots
fromJ-town ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I have this perch in my Congo African greys cage. Though its not his favorite place to perch it does supply him with a place to chew and get supplimental calcium. The only down side is how difficult it can be to clean when it is soiled on. However gently scraping the perch w a sharp knife does help. You can also scrap the perch so that dustings of the calcium get into the food bowl if the bird does not use the perch for anything other then sitting on
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.