PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for AquaClear 20 Power Filter

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

AquaClear 20 Power Filter

Help keep your aquarium clean with this multistage filter that's designed to provide efficient and effective filtration. Mechanical, chemical and biological processes help keep your pets' environment clear and healthy.
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 116
113 of 120(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Review 1 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Loved it

June 8, 2013
by NomNomtheSnail
fromKunkletown, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews
I loved this filter when I had a 10gallon. There are three separate filters that need to be monitored and changed out separately which makes it more fussy than other HOB filters but the bacteria reservoirs are fantastic. I loved the flow control for feeding the fish. I had this filter until I dropped a vital piece on the floor which broke and could not make the filter stop rattling ridiculously. Best HOB I have had.
Pros: works great, easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Aquaclear Twenty review

February 15, 2013
by Lutherz
fromHamilton, On
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is the best filter around for it's price. It filters 100 gallons per hour and has three stages of filtration rather than a simple cartridge, this means that your aerobic bacteria, the bacteria that converts toxic ammonia and nitrite into nitrate, can always be at healthy levels. Never change your bio media, change the carbon every month, clean the sponge every month in old tank water, not tap water, and change the sponge every 6 months or so. This is my favourite filter and i've used many brands. Recently i bought a aquaclear 110 for my 55 gallon tank and all the aquaclears are great! I just wish petsmart would shelf the aquaclear 30 and 50, rather than just the 20 and 110
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Happy with this filter.

February 3, 2013
by mygoldfish
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this filter 4 months now but so far I am very impressed. You will see some numbers on picture 1, so, let me explain it. This filter's moto ( black cube )under number 1( green color ), it will suck water from tank and down to number 2 ( sponge ) and go straight to 3( carbon ), 4 ( Bio. ) and down to tank. But between 1 and 3 there have a hole, water can go straight back to tank. I think that just for if the sponge ( number 2 ) plugged by too many particles and water can still run thought filter and back to tank and moto doesn't get burned. So, I cut one small sponge and put it there to catch small particles.
It takes me maybe 2 minutes to take the filter basket out, clean my sponge, and put it back in and save money a lots. Replacing the carbon sack really only requires that and rinse the new one then replace the old one ( once a month ), quick and painless. You can tell when the sponge needs cleaning and replacing because the filter basket will get pushed up a little ways from the pressure and one more good thing is the clear plastic shell you can see through. The biomax? that's easy too, I just bought one box Biomax ( around 16 buck ) and replace by myself anytime, never worry about those filter cartridges will run out at store.
I highly recommend these filters!
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Better Than The Competition

January 1, 2013
by PootMow
fromSterling, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews
If you're looking for a filter and worrying about value and quality, this is the filter you've been looking for! It's around the same price as the competition, but in the long run, MUCH cheaper!
Unlike other filters, there's no need to replace filter cartridges because AquaClear Power Filters come with three different inserts that only need to be rinsed off alternately every month, rather than with one cartridge that needs to cleaned or replaced every other month. Because you rinse each insert off alternately, you keep the beneficial bacteria that keeps the tank healthy.
It comes with a foam filter insert, a small bag of activated carbon, and a small bag of ammonia remover, which stack one atop another and has the water flow through them. It's very convenient that, since the filter itself is clear, so you can easily see if the inserts have to be cleaned.
When you first set up the filter, be sure to gradually pour water into it, turn plug it in, and continue pouring into it this until everything is balanced out and flowing correctly. You can easily adjust the water flow from high to low, and it's best to have it on high so water flows into it quicker while set up, then you can adjust it however you like after that. Some people complain that's difficult for whatever reason, but every other filter I've used needed this done.
The first setup is pretty straightforward, and I've had no problems with the filter at all. I've had it for about 6 months so far, and it's performance has stayed top notch!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Great Product

December 26, 2012
by 2Toes
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
This is a great quiet little filter that all other filters aspire to be like.
When installing just make sure that the bio filter is under the water as it can sit to high if not properly seated.
The ability to turn down the water flow is great for when you are feeding your fish and you don't want the food to get washed all over the place
A discreet transparent tube is the only thing you see inside your tank, unlike the Whisper filters that have the entire black motor sitting in your tank.
By far the best little filter out there
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Great filter

December 15, 2012
by DaveBork
fromCanyon Lake, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Bottom line, you cannot go wrong with this filter. Quiet, powerful lil unit, easy to change media And the adjustable water flow is awesome. I have this on my 12 gallon Fluval Edge and it is more the sufficient. I do not use the bio media it came with, instead I use extra floss or carbon in its place as the entire interior of my tank is the bio filter. This is one of those designs that really has no room for improvement.
Pros: works great, easy to install, easy to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

great filter

December 2, 2012
by clopez1
fromMiramar, Fl.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews
I have had many other filters and this one is by far the best. Less than 24 hours since I purchased my AquaClear 50 my tank water is crystal clear, I'm very pleased with it.
Pros: works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

execllent aquaclear (Fluval) 50

November 6, 2012
by Dracula
fromworcester, Ma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
love it that one very simple install too easy and fresh clean. my aquarium is 40 breed aquarium. can see more clear water fresh. I'm really pretty happy! i do trust this aquaclear (fluval) that aquaclear 50 power filter. easy wash foam filter up to two month. carbon once a month replace. biomax up to two month is awesome and save your money this best one!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

AquaClear 30

November 3, 2012
by xEzio
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have to say that its an excellent filter!
I was reading and searching for filters for my betta, but I finally picked this one up over the Fluval C4
I love how its a 3 stag filter with Foam, carbon and biomax, so I don't have to worry much about changing it each time (Its recommend that you change 1 filter at a time to maintain proper beneficial bacteria.) I also love how I can adjust the flow rate. Real easy to use and adjust.
It was really easy and simple to install (To me at least). Just make sure you read the entire instruction.
Excellent product and quality! Buy it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Good Filter

October 28, 2012
by Viggen47
fromNebraska
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Good filter. I like the idea that when/if a part fails/breaks you can replace. I have both a 70 and a 50 on a 55 gal with a breeding pair of angels and a few cory's. Does a good job. Easy to clean, and flexible media usage.
Will be buying another when I set up a 37 gal planted tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Success

October 22, 2012
by forevertwentynineF29
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The best part about it is that you can see through it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews

Great for turtles too

October 9, 2012
by 2pac
fromCanoga park
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It good for turtle tanks it keeps it clean for a long time!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Awesome filter

October 3, 2012
by Ty2232
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this filter for my 20 gallon aquarium, and this filter is by far the best filter I have used. It is a quiet filter and keeps the water crystal clear. Definitely a great buy and highly recommend this product to anybody looking for a good quality filter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Best Filter I've Owned

September 30, 2012
by LadyT
fromPhiladelphia, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter is great! I have had several tanks with cheaper 2 stage filters. I have a small 10 gallon tank so it seemed that it was hard to keep clean. My tanks always had algae over growth. Instead of getting ride of this tank altogether (which I've done in the past and started completely over) I decided to really clean this tank and get a much better filter. I'm glad I made that decision. After scraping out as much of the algae as I could and changing out 20% of the water, I installed the "30" and it cleared the water in the tank in 2 hours. The next morning my water was crystal clear. It has kept my tank clear for 2 months. I chose this filter because it was one of the highest rated. You can't go wrong with this purchase!!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Has been an incredible filter.

September 29, 2012
by ChuckInBoynton
fromBoynton Beach,Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought the Aquaclear 20 to replace a starter kit filter that wasn't cutting it in my 10 gallon tank.This has been a great little filter that keeps the water crystal clear and odor free with no noise. I've had the filter now for over a year now and have not had any issues with it.
Its also simple to change the filtration media.People saying its a pain to change must expect it to change itself.
I am glad I decided on the AquaClear and am planning on purchasing another one for a bigger tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Great filter

September 24, 2012
by BethLovesFish
fromGrand Rapjds, MI
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This filter is awesome. It cleans the tank fairly quickly when it gets a bit mucked up during cleanings (less than an hour). The flow rate is a bit strong, but that is probably because I have an AquaClear 30 on a 20 gallon. It runs quietly.
Most people will complain about having to replace three parts of the filter, but I like being able to replace each piece during a different water change, which reduces the chance of a bio-crash. In a small tank, better safe than sorry. Plus all you need to do is squeeze the sponge in some aquarium water, and it will last for a very long time. So really you only need to spend $$ on the biomax and carbon. I only wish the biomax was sold in a 3 pack.
In the past I have owned a Mini on a 10 gallon and a 70 on a 55 gallon. I thought they were great. They ran for years and never had a failure with the motors or impellers.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Aqua clear 20-50 gal filter

August 11, 2012
by Ainsley
fromTexas, SA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm very impressed with this filter! I have a 20 gallon tank and my tank water is crystal clear. I love the multi stage filtration that this filter offers. I used to have an aqueaon filter and it keep my water clean for a week or two but that was it, plus the filter media was really expensive! This filter's media is decently price for the amount of media you get per package. It also comes with some added parts! Its is virtually silent and it is hardly even noticable in my tank! I recomend this filter for anyone who is intrested in purchasing it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

Excellent Filter

July 3, 2012
by BigDave
fromOswego, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought the AquaClear 30 for my saltwater tank and I could not be happier as it cleared up my cloudy tank within 48 hours. It is very quiet despite the fact that its like a little waterfall. I'll definitely buy another one of these for my 55 African Cichlid tank. The only con is that the uptake tube isn't long enough for my tank, other than that, this filter is definitely worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 120 reviews

quiet, powerful

June 29, 2012
by Amphibiania
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 20-50 gallon AquaClear on my 30gal tank and it works great. It's quieter than most filters I've used and keeps the water sparkling clean. The filter flow was a little too strong for my axolotl so I remedied that by putting a plastic plant over the front of the filter.
This filter can be a bit loud at first but eventually gets quieter as time passes. The filter media is pretty cheap considering you rarely have to change it because of how long it lasts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for AquaClear 20 Power Filter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 120 reviews

A perfect 10!

June 21, 2012
by John60
fromSt. Charles, Mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Talk about a great investment since the deluxe water testing kit. I changed out my NOISY Penguins and I have to check now and then to see if they are running. I have two 70's on my 55 gallon in the family room right next to the sofa. Talk about quiet. I also have two 50's on my 40gallon in the office, again, are they on? Best for homemade media and easy clean/change. Top of the list for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next