PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites

A natural blend of vitamin-enriched ingredients for land hermit crabs.
Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
18 of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Review 1 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great Food!

July 28, 2012
by PetCrazy919
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been using this food for my 3 hermit crabs for about 3 years and LOVE it! My crabs like it way more than any of the other foods I've tried. The price is great and the ingredient list is wonderful!
Pros: Price; taste
Cons: Nothing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

hermit crabs love it

June 20, 2012
by hermitcrablover123
fromlouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i got this for my 5 hermit crabs and they all love it and i dont know who said they only eat a little bc i have to chance there food twice a week bc its mostly goon and on the brite side it is really good for them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

May 21, 2012
by squirrellover
fromRichmond, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
i visited Petsmart, and desided to buy this for my hermies (Wesley and Inigo). they seem to like them pretty good, but i havent notised them eating very much of it. but i would recomend this product to hermit crab owners. make sure you change it about once a week, so it doesnt get moldy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

July 23, 2011
by boaman
fromStuart, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My hermit crabs love this food. It provides the nutrients that all of hermit crabs need. This product is very affordable. It does not have a strong smell.
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Hermit Crabs loved it

February 9, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Hermit Crabs love this food. It'll keep your hermit crabs happy and healthy. A Great food for hermit crabs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

February 19, 2010
by Eevee
fromHamilton, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My hermit crabs love this food! But it is sort of a pain, for it dries up... and must be changed every day or two, which makes it kind of inconvinient... but other than that, it's great!!! :)
Pros: hermit crabs love it!
Cons: you have to change it every day or two
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites!

November 27, 2009
by HermitCrabLover12
fromBelgrade,MT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
This food containing real coconut is great! It comes in a large container and is one of the cheapest foods available. However after a while my hermit crabs began to get tired of it. So I came up with a solution! Mix in another food or treat to change your hermit crab's diet.
Pros: healty ingredients
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Its great after you mix it with the old at first..

April 20, 2009
by Animallover81
fromKnoxville,TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews
This food only got a 4 with my pets for one reason....they wouldn't eat it unless I mixed their old food with the new. I would suggest mixing the old and the new like I did if you get this food. Overall great product once we got past the introduction of the food. Its a good high quality food and you get a lot for the cheap price.
Hope I helped,
Animallover81
Pros: great price, great quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Pretty Good, BUT

January 18, 2009
by TalkingLamps
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My hermit crabs only eat the small, powdery bits and leave the flakes alone.
But its a good product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

All done!

January 7, 2009
by Hermiesrule21
fromChicago, Ill
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My hermit crabs,manuel And gwey, love this food. In the morning its either all gone or the majority of it is. I have never used any other food. Its great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great food!

August 24, 2008
by Minnieluver14
fromWI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
I bought this food and was very impressed with the long list of ingredients. I have 2 crabs, Bananas and Boo, and they both love this food. I will never use anything else. Almost every morning the majority of the food is gone! This food is one of the best foods on the market!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

love it

June 26, 2008
by ivey
fromarizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
this is the only food all of my hermit crabs will eat.great price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

May 12, 2008
by Hermitcrabluver
fromnc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
all 5 of my hermit crabs love this food. One will even keep the others from eating it so we provide 2 dishes of it. Its small enough for them to eat which is the best thing because the others are just too big
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Wow!

March 29, 2008
by Bookwyrm
fromThorold, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
I picked up this product in the hopes of changing up the diet of my crabs a bit, and I was very impressed by the list of ingredients. It has far more in it that's beneficial for the crabs than any other commercial food I've seen on the market, it's all natural ingredients instead of processed pellets and artificially coloured powders, and it doesn't have any of the harmful additives many other commercial foods have. My crabs are fussy eaters, but I thought I'd give it a try.
I put a hefty amount into the 'tat for them, and within the first half hour my crabs discovered it and began eating. One spent close to an hour just sitting in the dish eating, wandering off only to come back a few moments later. I had to refill the dish before I went to bed!
My 12 crabs absolutely love this food, and after a tank wide molt proper nutrition is very important. My crabs seem happier already and I would highly recommend this food for anyone who has hermit crabs. This is the next best thing to preparing their food at home, and you can't beat the price.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 19 reviews

Unappetizing to my hermies?

February 17, 2008
by NotHungryHermies
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 19 reviews
I have a pair of two hermit crabs, Fred and Ethel. I purchased this food for them because it does not contain copper sulfate or ethoxyquin, both of which are rumored to cause molting trouble for hermit crabs.
I understand that hermits eat very little, very slowly.
I don't think I've ever witnessed them actually eating this. I thought it would be delicious to them because it has coconut, and other wholesome, nutritious ingredients. I only know they're eating because they're still alive. Nothing seems gone from the dish when I clean it out, it just seems moved around. If anyone has a suggestion for a copper sulfate free hermit crab food that isn't this one, then please tell me! LOL.
Thanks!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Pretty good

June 30, 2007
by HermitLuver
fromTX
I saw my hermit crab eating it alone but heres a easy recipe to make it better
2 tablespoons of Hermit Crab Variety Bites
10 hermit crab cookies
2 medium chips crushed up
a pinch of ground up krill
any other hermit crab dry food
mix it all up and serve to your hermit crab.
Hope my review was helpful, and remember your hermit crabs love you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

crab feeding frenzy

June 26, 2007
by gotpoms
fromBaltimore, MD
I read how hermit crabs loved this type of food and they weren't kidding! I have 5 in a large habitat and the first day it was in there several of them just sat in the dish and ate. I have never seen them feed like that before. Definitely give it a try!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

hi

June 23, 2007
by googball
fromGeorgia,atl.
hi here is some food you could give to your hermet crab
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for HBH Hermit Crab Variety Bites
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

the best hermit crab food/treat ever!

April 5, 2007
by hermieandwildwoodlover
fromNew Jersey, N.J.
my hermit crabs love this stuff sooooooo much!! One day I was putting the food in their cage only a pinch because they eat very little very slowly and the next day when I went to clean the food it was all GONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!If you want the right stuff for your hermies you have to try this!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.