PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet

A complete and balanced blend of pellet, vegetables and grains for all life stages of hamsters and gerbils. Available in a 2lb bag.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
25 of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Review 1 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Yummy Food

March 8, 2012
by Pheonix
fromNH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My dwarf hamster actually prefers this to seed and is very healthy because of it. Love my hamster and love this food!!!!!
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

great food

December 26, 2011
by herald
fromhouston TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamsters are happy and healthy because of Mazuri
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

my hamster loves this.

August 10, 2011
by mymilly
fromhenderson, nevada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
LOVING THIS. its a good product, my hamster likes it, and it isnt like other brands with nuts and seeds (were they much jus pick out the good stuff and not the healthy things). she eats it, so jus that in itself makes it a good product to me, not sure if it tastes good, but it must if she eats it.
Pros: price, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

MY HAMSTER LOVES THIS! ;D

August 5, 2011
by Marisska
fromChino Hills, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
GREAT FOOD! my dwarf hamster has never had any troubles eating this food, she loves it! Before buying my dwarf hamster, we talked to a very honest and responsible Petsmart representitive, who strongly reccomended to get this food because it doesnt have all of the extra seeds in it and your hamster wont just pick out the seeds and not eat the healthy stuff. This food provides a healthy diet for your hamster and your hamster should also very well enjoy eating it ;)
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

high quality lab block

June 5, 2011
by Anonymous
fromOC, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It is probably the best lab block for hamster you can get in a chain pets store. However, I have to disagree with a previous reviewer who said it was good for dwarf hamsters. Diabetes is triggered by obesity and high sugars, not all seed mixes. The corn and carrots in this pellet are probably the highest source of sugar in hamster foods other than store treats(which shouldnt be fed to winter whites or russian campbells.) It is fairly okay in terms of feeding to winter whites and russians. But just add more things in the mix to make it interesting for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Good food Pellets for Hamster

April 1, 2011
by EkL1939
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamster, Travie, loves these food pellets. They are a little big (about 3/4 to an inch long) so I always break them in half before I give them to him, with his other food. This is a good product for a great price!
Pros: price, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

loveeee it!!!!!!

March 18, 2011
by animallover1230
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my cousin bought this food for her hamster and they loved it so i thought my hamster would like it to so i got it for my hamster and guess what my hamsters feel in love with this food and wouldn't eat anything else.you should get this food for your hamster
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

great nutrition and hamsters love it

February 18, 2011
by Elliriyanna
fromUnion, Kentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I currently have 3 syrian hamsters and every one of them love it :) Also it is a very high quality food and will last quite a while so its definetly worth the price. its a great size pellet for both syrians and dwarfs . My hamsters get a seed mix and seem to prefer the pellets :) they also maintain a healthy weight and are very active with this diet :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Yummy and Nutritious

December 31, 2010
by TeddyBear36
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Mazuri is a very healthy diet to feed to your hamster/gerbil. It's especially good for dwarf hamsters because it contains no seeds, and diets with seeds can cause diabetes in dwarfies. An additional bonus is that it contains natural Vitamin E.
My hamsters really like this food; it's definitely a keeper. (;
P.S. Watch out for those sales when Mazuri is $4.99! I always purchase a bag whenever I notice a markdown.
Pros: healthy, natural vitamin e, no seeds
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Quality!

July 3, 2010
by Menne
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Someone recomended I try this out as they were satisfied with it. So I thought "why not?" I have been feeding this to my hamsters for a couple weeks now and they seem to be having more energy. Every couple of days I give them a tablespoon of seeds as a treat while I feed the Mazuri block as their main food.
The hamsters love it, they let me know when they want more by chewing on the bars. The hard shape satisfies their need to chew. All in all it's a win-win situation.
Pros: healthy, no food waste, hamsters love it, great value
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet

June 22, 2010
by Vinndigo
fromRI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I would reccomend this food to anyone with any type of hamster or gerbil, because it contains everything they need in order to stay healthy. I have two dwarf hamsters and it's very hard finding a low sugar based diet. This is the best I have found yet. When I first started feeding them these pellets, it took them a little while to warm up to them because it was not what they were used to. (Prior before owning them, they were too used to getting spoiled with treats which is not good for dwarfs considering they have issues with diabetes) Now that they're used to the pellets, they love them. Sometimes i'll mix a little of the hazel hamster food in with (I pick out the peas and the corn) the pellets, because just a pellet diet can get a little boring. All in all, I think this food is great!
Pros: great for dwarfs, healthy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

April 2, 2010
by Matej
fromHopatcong, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamster did not even touch it.
Cons: hamster did not eat it.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Mazuri - great

March 22, 2010
by lovemyhammies
fromCary, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Prior to using this I was feeding my dwarf hamsters a good quality variety feed, but they were quite picky about which things to eat from it and totally wouldn't eat the pellets that contained the vitamins and minerals they need. I switched them to Mazuri and while it took them a little while to get used to having only these relatively big pellets, they now eat them and get everything they need. I feel much better knowing they will be healthier this way and not having to supplement their water with vitamins. It is also good because it too, like their wood chews, helps toward their tooth growing. The 2lb bag lasts as long as the typical 5lb bag of variety feed. Others have said something about the odor, but I have a sensitive nose and don't know what their talking about.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Well-Balanced Hamster Meal

March 21, 2010
by lablover320
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I bought my first hamster the petsmart employee recomended this food, and she loves it. It's a complete diet so i dont have to worry about mixing it with other foods, and its the perfect size for my hamster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Awesome!

January 6, 2010
by TeddysGal
fromSD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My two hamsters love it! :) You should but this!
Pros: hamsters like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet

October 22, 2009
by AbagailHamster
fromKingwood, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I am now feeding my hamster the Muzuri pellets and Hazel Hamster mix because of its high quality of protein and low sugar content. I have a dwarf and do not want her to become diabetic. I would recommend this food to keep hammies healthy ;).
Pros: well eaten by hamsters, does not smell to bad, easy to handle by dwarfs
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Pretty good

June 20, 2009
by hammiezrhoneyz
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I use this food for my dwarf hamster, and I mix it in with Hazel Hamster for my Syrian hamster as well. I think it is pretty good, it is of good nutritional value, and has no seeds so there is no way the hamsters can be picky with it. It smells HORRIBLE though so hold your face away from it when opening the bag. I also suggest you supplement it with lots of other hamster safe foods as it is a pretty boring diet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Hammy loves it!

June 14, 2009
by Kewi
fromKansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My Hammy, Berry, loves this food! Whenever I put this food out he runs straight to it and shoves it in his cheek pouches and takes one to his Igloo to enjoy later. I would so recomend this to a friend!
Pros: tastes great!, super healthy!
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good stuff.

December 10, 2008
by frenchhen1
fromRedding, CA
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I fed this to my dwarf and syrian hamsters and it always got eaten. I would feed it alone and with a seed mix and it always got pouched and stored.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mazuri Hamster & Gerbil Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Nutritious and Clean

November 2, 2008
by MEESHL
fromOly, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a good product~ I bought it after I learned my hamster's mixed diet wasn't as healthy and I noticed she was shuffling through it, eating only what she wanted, while making a complete mess.
Eloise loves to eat this because I assume they taste good. And I love it because it's really easy to pick up the pieces she flung around the tank since they're big. And I can see how much she's eating. The food has a little odor, but it's not a big deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next