PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet

A highly nutritious and complete diet that is designed for all life stages of pet rats and mice.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
14 of 16(88%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Review 1 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Bad for Rats

March 6, 2012
by booooo
fromnew york, ny
This product contains corn and alfalfa, which isnt good for rats. I wouldn't recommend this product for them.
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great food! My rats love it!

December 11, 2011
by Rattieloverrrrrr
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When i got my rats, i was looking for food for them at the petstore, and one of the workers recommend this to me. I bought a bag to try it, and I'm glad i did!
These blocks are much better than seed diets. They cant pick and choose what they eat. With these blocks, they get all the healthy stuff in one bite. They are also hard and keep their teeth down. My rats eat these everyday, and everyother day i feed them a dry mix i made, with cheerios, dried fruit, whole grain cereal, dried pasta etc. They also get veggies/fruits and baby food a couple times a week, but this is their main diet! They also smell good compared to my hamsters food! They smell like vegetables. I highly suggest this food to any rat owner!!
Pros: high quality, smell, taste, price
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

My Rat LOVES this stuff!

June 20, 2011
by Shellista
fromMemphis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My rat LOVES this food! Started feeding this to her to see if a change in diet would make her feces smell not as strong. Changed from the dry mix to these blocks and so far, I'm glad I did. The feces has little to no smell, and I've read on various online sites how much better for small animals these blocks are than the dry mix. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND Mazuri Rat & Mouse Feed.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Great basic food.

June 17, 2011
by Misbehavior
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the best food I have available at my local PetsMart and my rats love it. Not only is it good quality, nothing artificially flavored or colored, but it keeps their teeth down too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

October 14, 2010
by fuzzysham
fromLexington, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Absolutely the best food for rats there is! First of all, no seeds or any of that "junk food" stuff. Secondly, when you open this bag and smell the food it just SMELLS like veggies! It smells healthy! This is the only actual rat food D'Arcy eats, and her fur is shiny, she smells really really good (I do think its because of the food cause it makes her rattie breath smell good and when she washes herself she smells good!), her teeth are healthy, etc. This is the ONLY food I feed D'Arcy and even though she gets the occasional treat she actually loves this food, I always watch her snatching it out of her food bowl and going in her bed to go eat it. I can trust her to eat it, and it keeps her as healthy as can be :)
very highly recommend!
Pros: nutritionally the best, shiny fur, fairly inexpensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

The best at the pet store

December 4, 2009
by rattieowner
fromBellingham, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Nutritionally, this is the best. The rats dont like it as much as some other foods, and also hide it around the cage, but it is the healthiest. Of course the rats are going to "prefer" junk food! I like the large size of the pieces and the zip lock bag. I supplement with fresh veggies and sometimes a little dog food or cereal to liven things up.
Pros: the healthiest, zip lock bag, zize of blocks
Cons: rats aren't as excited about it
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

The Best Rat Food

November 25, 2009
by snickt007
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Easy to distribute food to my rats, they can hide it where ever they want to and it is very easy to see when they need more food. I don't use any other food for them than this.
Sometimes, if my rats eat half of one pelete, then they fall through the wire and into their litter pan, but I know they like this food the best and don't mind buying this for them, even though it is a little higher priced than most other rat foods are.
Pros: perfect size, easy to clean up if rat tips dish over, easy to see when more food is needed for rats
Cons: can fall through the bottum of a wire cage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Not a favorite with my rats

July 21, 2009
by melkay
fromHouston
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My rats don't eat it. They like to carry it off and hide it. Later, when I go to clean them, the food will roll out of whatever hut they've stashed it in. Cute, but a waste of money.
Pros: good to add variety, good to put in cage if going away for a weekend.
Cons: rats don't like to eat it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best pet store rat food

May 5, 2009
by Cigar
fromHamilton, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
If you don't have access to high quality blocks Mazuri is the best that you'll find in pet stores. Seed mixes are inappropriate for rats as they contain too much protein and make quite a mess while blocks are more sanitary and have less junk.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

great food

January 6, 2009
by ckluvdgzandgeckoz
fromyukon, oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my two ratties are on this food and i did have them on nutriphase gold which they liked but not everything was ever all gone. i herd this was better so i switched to this thinkin ok its better but they might think its kind of a boring food and they might not like it so well. boy was i wrong they LOVED it i put 7 big chunks in there to start and when i came back like 2-3 hours later they were all gone and i mixed some of there other food in and they hadnt touched that. great food recomend it for anyone
Pros: everything
Cons: smells a little worse then other foods
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Best Lab Block by far.

December 29, 2008
by Della
fromSaint Paul, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I'm kind of new to the whole Rat owning thing, but know a lot about keeping all pets in general. I now own to Rats whom I love dearly, and want nothing but the best for my Rats. I researched foods and most websites recommend Mazuri. I read the ingredients and it definitley won me over. Much healthier for my boys. I would recommend this brand for any Rat owner.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

LOved!

December 1, 2007
by Kbri
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My three girls love this stuff!! I try not to feed them things high in sugar because of cancer and I try not to feel corn since it causes problems, alfalfa being another. This food ONLY has the stuff rats can eat. Other foods have non digestable ingredients. But they love the taste and actually will stash these away before going for their veggies!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

It's got what's important

August 4, 2007
by Breanne
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the BEST ((healthwise)) diet for rats that PetSmart offers! I very much recommend this over the Kaytee blocks.
The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because the bag is too small. You have to go back and buy more often.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Loved by my ratties. :3

April 27, 2007
by Melleh
fromNJ
At first I wasn't sure my two rats would like these, but having soybean meal as a first ingredient in lab blocks is always a plus. For the first few days they wouldn't touch them, but soon after they tried them they fell in love. I guess it's all a matter of taste, but my boys adore these.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Healthy rat, less smell

March 2, 2007
by Carr
fromCalifornia
At the same time I switched my rat to this, plus dried corn cobs, and occasional fresh veggies, his cage completely stopped smelling. Could it be this food? I don't know, but I'm not risking it. I'm sticking with it. Someone else wrote that their rat wouldn't eat it -- but my rat was overweight and his feet were getting sore, so I put him on a diet of this stuff and the corn cobs and raw veggies and no other chow. He eats it fine. I can't imagine a rat disliking this chow so much that he'd starve himself rather than eat it. If your rat doesn't have any choice, he'll eat it and be glad for it. We think he's lost some weight -- looking more trim -- which should help his feet. At the same time, we put some vinyl flooring over the mesh floors of his cage to help his feet, but I don't think the vinyl would make his cage less stinky -- unless boy rats just stop smelling for some reason, I credit this food. Try it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mazuri Rat & Mouse Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Best for Rats, but doesn't win in flavor

October 3, 2006
by Jenzie
fromSan Mateo, CA
This stuff definitely gets kudos for having the reputation of being the best food one must give to their pet rats, but my girls barely touch this stuff. Only once in a blue moon do they seem to pick up one of these blocks to eat.
I wish these guys made a better tasting version....one that they just couldn't wait to eat!
Also, know that I recommend this to a friend to try with their pets. If they like it, score! I've just come to making rat loafs with it and other fresh ingredients.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.