PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Mazuri Chinchilla Diet

Mazuri(r) Chinchilla Diet is a complete ration in pellet form designed especially for all phases of a chinchillas life-cycle. Hard pellets provide a clean and easy to feed ration that minimizes dust and waste. Made in USA.
Overall rating:
4.947 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
18 of 19(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Review 1 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Best of the Best

October 15, 2011
by Anonymous
fromMillville, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Both of my Chinchillas were having digestive problems from their other food which I will not mention(charlie the chinchilla). I switched to this food after learning that mixes are a bad way to go when it comes to food because the chins will pick out the stuff they like and throw out the healthy parts. My chins became energetic and had no wet tail within a day. I would recommend this food to any and every chin owner.
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Healthy Chin Food!

June 16, 2011
by ChinLover02
fromTN
I was debating on the healthiest type of food for my chin. After lots of researching, I think Mazuri is probably one of the best. My chin loves it, and I am glad to know that it is very healthy for him. I would defintely recommend this food.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Definitely a chinchilla favorite

March 13, 2011
by McCloud
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We all want to make sure our pets have the best food possible. After trying three others, one of which my chin picked out all the yummy ones and left the rest, and after reading the many reviews from different sites, I decided to try this bag. My chinchilla took to it right away and ate away.
Definitely try Mazuri.
Pros: smell, price, high quality, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

A healthy choice

December 18, 2010
by Chintastic9
fromDesMoines, Iowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a good choice for any chinchilla. It doesnt include all the unhealthy treats, has the right amount of fiber and doesnt kill your wallet. All 9 of my chins eat it in addition to a quality hay. Nothing else needed.
Pros: healthy, safe
Cons: only available in 2.5lbs, can buy it elsewhere in 25lb quantites
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Best chinchilla food out there

October 17, 2010
by AnnBanana
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This brand of chin food has been recommended to my by my chin-chin's vet, who used to breed chins. They seem to like it. I took these 3 in a month ago and they're slowly having this food introduced into their diet. Their previous owner fed them rat food, lots of sunflower seeds, and up to 5 raisins per day. So they're used to junk food. They seem to like this though, and I'm glad they do.
Pros: healthy food for chins
Cons: only sold in 2.5 pound (1135g) bags
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Great, healthy, fresh smelling food, but...

June 26, 2010
by SunnyTheChinchilla
fromSussex, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I'd love it if they sold it in different sized bags! I'd love to have the option of buying 5 pound bags or even 10 pound.
The actual food is great, though! My chinchilla loves it, its nutrional, fresh, and there aren't all those treats mixed in like with most other chinchilla foods, which actually makes the food unhealthy! This is great food! I reccomend it to chinchilla owners definitely. My chinchilla eats it well, but also lots of Timothy Hay (Kaytee brand which I also love)! They are not supposed to have Alfalfa Hay as well though because this is alfalfa-based food. Just lots of Timothy Hay and about 1/4 cup of this a day makes a very healthy diet:)
Pros: healthy food, chinchilla's love it, easy to find
Cons: 2.5 lb bags only
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

great product

February 3, 2010
by chintwins
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
If you are the first time chin parent and not sure about chinnies' diet, this is the first one you go to. =) Always saw good online reviews about this product.
Who said they will have no fun without treats in their food? All my chins (4) love it at the first bite and had so much fun eating these plain pellets! Used it for the pregnant chin and baby chins without adding any vitamin supplements - they all grew up perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Fantastic food

April 15, 2009
by JenniK
fromNorthfield, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This food is absolutely wonderful. The minute I feed my Chinchillas, they come flocking over to eat it. With other foods I had problems with picky eaters, but then this was recommended to me by a breeder. There's nothing treat-wise for your Chins to pick out of the mix, and it even smells good. They always finish off their bowl too. Awesome stuff!
Pros: nutritious, quickly eaten
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

#1 chinchilla food out there!

January 10, 2009
by AthenaStar
fromSan Francisco, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When I first got my chinchilla, his cage included food that had raisins, bananas and 'vitamin balls', etc and he would always pick out the food. Before half the bag was gone, I already went to go get Mazuri. Ever since then, he's loved it and its a great diet, food choice for him.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Best chinchilla food on the market

December 5, 2008
by EngelEmi
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I've had chinchillas for more then 10 years, & this is the most balanced diet out there for your chinta's! Most of the other items in other chin brands (sunflower seeds, raisins, etc) can't be processed by the chin's liver.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

The BEST chinchilla food!

June 16, 2008
by naturebabe
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
As a chinchilla lover and breeder, Mazuri food is all I use. I usually buy a 25lb bag from a distributer, but if I am running low, I head straight to PetSmart. This is the only good chinchilla food that is sold in pet stores! It's healthy, and the chinchillas love it. The bag is a good size for people who only own 1 or 2 chinchilla(s).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

For your chins's health's sake, choose it

May 30, 2008
by ChinsLover
fromKnoxville, TN
What is your gender?F
Mazuri is much better and healther than Kaytee band!!! It is the pure pellet which doesn't include extra sugar that chins don't need. Unlike Kaytee, Kaytee band chins food always has too many snacks inside.
If you want your chins live longer and healther, Mazuri is the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Yummy and Healthy

October 6, 2007
by SerenaSR
fromSpringfield, Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have always used Mazuri and my chins love it. I ran out twice and tried to feed them a couple of the other brands and they would not eat one at all and they only ate a small amount of the other one when they seemed starved. This brand is the only one that I will ever use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Thank God!

October 2, 2007
by Lyss
fromNew Lenox, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is the only acceptable food for chinchillas that is sold by Petsmart or any other chain pet store. All the other brands are junk and are either full of treats or have no nutritional value whatsoever. I've been feeding Mazuri ever since I received my chin and got him off of the rabbit food he was on prior to my adopting him. The food is sold at a ridiculously high price, but I still buy it for the sake of convienience.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

He loves it

August 30, 2007
by Chinnykid
fromGlenside, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My chinchilla loves this food and its good 4 him... it was the only food my breeder recomended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

The Very Best

August 28, 2007
by chocolaterabbit101
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My chinchilla, Chico, really likes this food. It is also supposed to be good for them, so I give him lots of it. At first I gave him Charlie Chinchilla, which came with his cage, but after a while I stopped because the effects were not very positive. Overall Mazuri is the very best food on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Best Chinchilla Food

July 19, 2007
by GBMN
fromEdina, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I highly recommend this food. It is the only food that my breeder recommended as well. Before Petsmart started selling Mazuri, I actually ordered it online in 25lb bags. My two chins LOVE it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

I Give Mazuri A+

February 26, 2007
by LuvMyChins
fromQuincy, MA
This food is high in nutrition and My Chins beg me for it. Always fresh and worth the extra money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mazuri Chinchilla Diet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

The Best Food For Chins

November 21, 2006
by ChinMommy
  • Expert
fromFort Worth, TX
This is the best foor I have found for chins. It has good nutrition and my chin likes it alot. It also usually comes very fresh.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.