PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API(r) pH Adjuster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API(r) pH Adjuster

This solution helps you keep the pH in your aquarium at appropriate levels to help improve fish health, colouration, disease resistance and breeding.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
8 of 12(67%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API(r) pH Adjuster
Review 1 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

handy to keep in ur fishy toolbox can be difficult

November 14, 2013
by KallieS
fromAurora, Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
I do have to a warn tho, it is very easy to throw your ph off if as little as one extra drop is added to your water, but it works great to level out your aquarium.
Pros: works great
Cons: hard to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Good Product

November 6, 2013
by Spike89
fromLebanon, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This is a good product to get your pH perfect. There are better natural options though. Try using real drift wood decor in your tank. This will usually balance your pH perfectly.
Pros: easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Works Well

July 16, 2013
by PilotSully
fromJefferson, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
First off, makes sure you use the exact amount it says on the bottle. If you are looking to raise or lower by <.2 at a time, use the drops or use about half a does of this stuff. I try and keep my water around 6.9-7.0 and my tap water comes out 6.2, so I have room to work with. By adding just the required amount I get it to 7.0 so quickly. I had previously used the API ph Up drops, but since I had so much pH to raise, the drops were almost useless and I had to switch to a medium where I could easily add way more than a few drops at a time. Like I said, only use the amount it says or your pH will skyrocket! All in all, a great way to help with my pH issues.
Pros: works great, easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Saved My Fish

April 13, 2013
by DustyJuarez101
fromWoodinville, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Even with water changes, my 10 gallon aquarium water Ph was always very low. At first this wasn't a big problem, but then I started losing fish. I needed to the Ph to go up, but I didn't know how to do it. But then I saw this product, and I bought the Ph up solution. It worked very well! I put some in, then the next day the Ph went from about 5.5 to about 7.2! I was very impressed. But the only thing I don't like about it is a little won't do the trick. You need to add a lot of the solution if you want your Ph to increase dramatically. But other than that it's a great product, and I recommend it for anyone who is having trouble with acidic (low Ph) aquarium water.
Pros: works great
Cons: hard to use
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Doesn't have any effect

November 2, 2012
by RF30
fromIL
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I have used the pH down several time and it does absolutely nothing to change the pH. I even more than doubled the recommended dose with no change in pH. Waste of money.
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

ph was getting more and more acid

February 25, 2012
by NoFilter
fromSalem, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
During normal maintenance, my ph in my tank was getting more and more acid. I used this ph up product and it seemed to help somewhat. But, much to my surprise, I tested the water that I was adding to my tank during normal water change, and found that the ph was 6.0. My water was acid. I finally retraced my steps and realized that I was using the Brita filter to make sure the water was pure, right. OMG, the filter was taking out the Alkaline portion of the water leaving me with acid water. Never again. Checked my tap water and it was a nice 7.0 to 7.2 without my intervention. The moral of this almost tragic story is - Do not filter your tap water to make it better, because it might not be good for your fish.
Pros: easy to use
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

WORKED!!

August 4, 2011
by susieowner
fromcharlotte,NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
My aquarium was at a 7.6 ph and after I tried ph down in only 1 day (3 doses; one at night next one in the morning and last today at night) my ph went down to 7.2 (the water was pale green, compared to the bright blue I always had) I am gonna keep working until I reach 7.0 the only bad thing was that my mollies died because of the high ph, but my platties were still alive, even before I performed this they were fine the only ones with the problem was the mollies.
Pros: works great, easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Completely ineffective

July 18, 2011
by Tetra55
fromFayetteville NC
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
I never had to use the PH down bottle so I can't rate it, but the PH up treatment had no effect on my aquarium pH. I have a 20 gallon freshwater tank and was trying to correct a pH of around 5-5.5. After a couple of weeks trying this product (even going above and beyond the recommended dose) the pH never became any more neutral. Eventually I gave up on it and increased my frequency of water changes. Never lost a fish fortunately but I would not purchase this product again.
Cons: didn't work
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

didnt work

April 25, 2011
by justin1795
fromiowa
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
didnt work, i later learned a stable ph is more important that a high one..
Cons: didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Not for casual aquarists

September 11, 2010
by JSBetta
fromNC
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This will lower your ph quickly, but other factors in your water may cause it to rebound. If you decide to use this you MUST monitor your ph very closely and very often!
API makes proper ph formula in three different varieties, check that out as a much-recommended alternative
Pros: works fast
Cons: not really the best solution
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

PHdown

November 7, 2009
by sunshinedj1
fromDickinson, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
this did not work. I have a 55gal. & a 75gal. tanks. both are at 8.4(strip test)alkaline. and my total hardness is150-300. I put the hole bottle into my 75 gal. tank and nothing.I've used the aquarium salt. the water softner pillow still nothing. I'm now trying Neutral Regulator by Seachem. (these are freash water) so far nothing it has been two days so far.Any one have a trick up their sleave? Oh, I've tryrd changing the water all so.Help me if you can. thanks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for API(r) pH Adjuster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Both Work Very Well

December 16, 2007
by AquaMom
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
My water naturally has a fairly high Ph. I used this to take the water for the Orandas down slightly and to take it down even more for my Betta. It works very well and instantly. You just have to be extremely careful on dosage because it works so well if you use just a drop too much you have to use the other to get it to go back where you need it and fish are pretty sensitive to too much Ph variation at any one time. The only drawback I found was that I need to use it pretty regularly on the Betta tank to keep the Ph down a little more.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.