PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

API(r) Ammonia Test Kit

This test kit contains 130 liquid tests that help you measure ammonia levels from 0 to 7 ppm in your aquarium. Frequent ammonia testing is necessary to help ensure the health and safety of your tropical fish.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
10 of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Review 1 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

All fish owners should have

December 23, 2013
by BettaBettaBoy
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ammonia is very toxic to your fish and is produced by waste and left over food. Having this test kit lets you know when it it time to cycle your fish tank or add some ammonia neutralizer. I use this on all of my fish tanks. I have to say some of my fish may not be alive today if it were not for this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great!

June 28, 2013
by MyBettaRocks
fromMississauga, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Easy to use and very accurate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Easy Product

July 16, 2012
by kabuki
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
For the price is one of the best ammonia testers, but not only that it is very accurate & very easy to use. The whole dropper & test tube may look intimidating but it really is not, and if you lose the instructions, they are posted on the back of the scale cards, and the droppers each one has marked which one goes first and how many drops...
In other words it is fool proof, and accurate!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great

June 26, 2012
by GuppyParadise
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
To someone who is new to aquariums I bought this after reading up on aquarium care and this has never let me down. its very accurate and very easy to use. The colours can be a little confusing to tell apart sometimes but this is a great product and I'm happy with my purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

excellent

June 7, 2012
by mellie
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
accurate readings and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

October 8, 2011
by pufferfishlove
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
this is a great product to use!
Pros: works great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

great test and acurate

February 26, 2011
by Reefman
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
easy to use
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

Very Good Test Kit

January 1, 2008
by hamsterdude22
  • Expert
fromOlney, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
This test kit works very well at testing ammonia levels and only takes like 5 or 6 minutes to test. Quite effective and very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Ammonia Test Kit

February 26, 2007
by NightWing
fromCA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
if your looking for a great way to test out your Ammonia in a fast and accurate way this is what you want. all you do is get some of your water in the test tube that is provided add 6-8 drops from each bottle and in 5 min. you have your ammonia. you can use the small charts they come with fresh/slat water both included to see the colors and what your ammonia is.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for API(r) Ammonia Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Great products

November 21, 2006
by Comet
  • Expert
fromConnecticut
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I use all Aquarium Pharmaceuticals test kits for my water parameters. The color charts I found are easy to read except the nitrate test chart.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.