PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate

This porous clay gravel substrate is idea for the naturally planted aquarium. It will not alter the pH of aquarium water.
Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
25 of 27(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Review 1 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great planting substrate

February 3, 2014
by amourdeparis
fromWenatchee, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a great product if you want to grow live aquatic plants in your aquarium. My new plants are thriving.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Worth the work

November 27, 2013
by Joseph329
fromArlington, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
At first this gravel was dark brown but after i washed it became a mix of reds and brown. It took me a while to get as much of the dirt as i could out. When i first added water with the gravel it was cloudy but after an hour it mostly cleared up. Also when i was rinsing the gravel i found large and small pieces of broken glass that i had to remove. The biggest piece was around 3 inches long.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Excelent product

November 27, 2013
by PescaHobbyist
fromRancho Cucamonga, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Great product. Looks amazing. But like the reviews/instruction state, rinse it first. I poured half the bag into a 5 gallon bucket, and blasted it with a hose. Drained the water out (I recommend in the lawn b/c it's pretty muddy the first time). Repeat the process 5 - 7 times. The water in the bucket doesn't have to be crystal clear. A lot of the smaller particles will be heavy enough to settle. The photo I uploaded is from about an hour after the gravel was added. No tinting of the water. Just be patient, and rinse it well.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

It's well worth the extra preparation.

October 9, 2013
by DGordon
fromJustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This product does need a lot of rinsing to avoid clouding up a tank. I may have avoided this even more by adding the Flourite under another layer of a different substrate. I'm already seeing new growth of my plants in under two weeks. It has a pleasing color that contrasts nicely with the other colored substrates that I layered it with.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great Planted substrate

June 5, 2013
by xxUnRaTeDxxRkOxx
fromDenver, CO.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had many planted setups over the years, and with each setup I've always used this substrate. It's dirty and needs washed thoroughly before you set your planted tank up, but it works wonders with plants.
Little tip - Always make sure you're using fertilizers (either flourish fertilizers or if you're like me dry fertilizers) this way it'll keep your plants healthy for years to come. I prefer flourite over eco-complete because my plants have always done better with flourite.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Great product a little messy at first.

January 31, 2013
by MNFishGuy
fromRochester,MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I was looking for substrate when I came across flourite. This is a great product however make sure to remove the fish from your tank and run the filter for a couple hours if you dont wash this. It says its fine to be used rinsed or not I put this in my aquarium and the water became very dark and cloudy. I ran the filter for about three hours and it removed most of the darkness. i had to put the fish right back in and the murkiness didn't bother then. They seem to like digging around in this substarte and my plants look amazing. Would reccomend this but jjust make sure you prepared to rinse for a bit or filter through it.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great substrate

January 7, 2013
by Anonymous
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This stuff is fantastic! My plants have only been planted in it for 3 weeks and are already reaping benefits! It is very obvious that my previous planted tanks were lacking a quality substrate after having this! I will say, if you are not interested in have a planted aquarium and do not want to deal with the murky/muddy water for a few days, do not purchase this. IF you are interested in having a good planted tank, then the murky/muddy water is worth every bit of it(it goes away after 4-5 days)! Make sure you leave the filter off for the sediment to settle to the bottom and then add a layer of plain gravel to keep the flourite in place during tank cleanings.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Patience

October 12, 2012
by Goggles
fromWashington
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Product is excellent. If your goal is to setup a true planted aquarium and you have the patience required to use the product, you will not be disappointed with the results.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

very nice

September 16, 2012
by wowwy12345
fromwoonsocket, ri
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ok this is for those who do not read directions.
Its says and i quote " cloudiness is normal and will clear rapidly (2-12 hours). To shorten the cloudiness period use Clarity in conjuction with machanical filteration( such as filter floss)." I did not RINSE this product and i filled my tank half way and drained it filled it again put filter floss in my filter and my tank was clear in less then 6 hours. for those who have had trouble with it you obviously did not read directions. MY POINT PROVEN
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Functional

September 14, 2012
by DixieDog413
fromDenton, TX
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I've used this substrate in both of my planted tanks and have been pretty impressed with it. In the first tank I was concerned with clouding/muddy water so I rinsed it like crazy (which took FOREVER), then put a sand cap on top just in case, but the end effect was nice. It has a good color and the misc. granule size looks natural under the sand. In my second tank I tried another tactic- just poured what I needed directly into the dry tank, filled it up about half way with water, and vacuumed the substrate around 4 times until it was reasonably clear, hardscaped/planted, filled all the way, and let the filter take care of the rest of the cloudiness. Way easier and just as effective, plus I don't have awkward substrate layers. It takes some patience, but if you like planted tanks and don't mind a bit of work, I'd definitely recommend Flourite. If i could give it a 4.5 I would, only because of the rinsing necessity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

over all really nice

September 2, 2012
by KristinandDante
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
so i got this because i wanted to put lots of plants in my tank. well right now they are all doing super well and rooting nicely...however when i first got this product, i forgot wash off the rocks, so my tank was a disaster (luckily i tried this out on my 10 gal...). i had to re clean it then wash the rock then put it back in my tank...but once the rocks were clean, it was beautiful!! i really like natural colors in my tanks (browns, grays, greens...) and this was wonderful to what i had before!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

MUDDY, NASTY, WON'T COME CLEAN!

August 20, 2012
by Dreamgurl
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We purchased this product to go in our new 55 gallon tank. We are planning on having it fully stocked with live plants and fish so we needed something with nutrients and all the good things this and Eco complete has it in... However we bought 4 bags of this and after over an hour of washing, scrubbing, rinsing, and everything in between, I was still on the same bag and not even half way through it and it would not come clean. It was pure black clay and mud that was coming off of it. I normally don't write reviews, but I had to write this to warn everyone to STAY AWAY FROM THIS HORRIBLE SUBSTRATE! I will pay the store if they take it back from me. I don't even know why any pet store would carry this product. ITS GARBAGE! Don't waste your time! We will be ordering Eco- complete off line and waiting for it to be shipped. This Flourite stuff is impossible!
-14points
2of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

use a bucket/hose to rinse and it's great

June 4, 2012
by nerdariostomp
fromSt Louisville, Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i did what others suggested and used a 5 gallon bucket and a hose to rinse it out. worked out pretty well after about 30 minutes of rinsing it, mixing it around and dumping off excess water. i must have done that about 20 times, but my plants love it and my fish are hyped to have more plants to hide in
i DID buy another plant friendly substrate from the same shelf that was black (sort of like the eco complete everyone online normally reccomends) and that was pre-rinsed...took a LOT less time to rinse.
in the end, the blend of both looks better and will probably be a little better too, but if there would've been two bags of the black stuff, i would've totally bought that instead
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great substrate, but...

November 10, 2011
by Eddie24
fromGarden Grove, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Be prepared to spend a good hour rinsing by the handfulls. I got so frustrated (not to mention the backache i got) rinsing the substrate buy handfulls and using a tomato strainer. Even after i finished (or so i thought) cleaning it, i dumped it in my 20 gallon tank and immediatelly clouded the water a dark red-brown and gave up. I turned my 30 gallon filter to Max for a week (no fish yet) rinsing the cartridge daily and cleared up. almost two years later and never gave any trouble besides my gravel vacuum sucking it up. Well worth the trouble if you ask me. plus my plants love it.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews

Horrible! Do not buy this!

September 6, 2010
by Filippi
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
I bought this like 3 months ago from petsmart & I had to wash this like 100 times if you believe me or not & yet it was making water look dirty! I was tired & angry after washing this ! It wasn't helping the plants in my tank that much & it made my tank look ugly.. with a brown colored gravel! Don't waste $ 20 for this thing & buy something else like Eco Complete Planted Black Aquarium Substrate , this is 1000,000 better than that!
-25points
3of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Best substrate I've found so far

December 8, 2009
by Spyd3r
fromMichigan
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
I recently switched from plain gravel, had a bunch of plants that were rapidly dying, even though I was using supplements and water was ideal, a lot of people on the internet suggested Flourite. Well its expensive and you'll need at least 1 bag for under 30gal, two if you like it thick. 100gal needs about 5 bags so be prepared to dump some $$$, however this material is packed with nutrients so you wont have to buy fertilizer anymore and it supposedly lasts for many years because the nutrients don't dissolve into the water. Upon opening the bag you will find it is completely caked in mud. You must wash all of this off and it takes about 30 minutes per bag. However once washed and installed it looks great and after just a week my plants have made a complete turn around.
My recommended installation procedure is to empty the tank completely of fish and water, wash the flourite handfuls at a time in a large bowl filled with water, dump out the water and repeat until the water is completely clear (DO NOT SKIMP ON THE WASHING). Put cleaned substrate into the aquarium, fill the tank, let it run for a day with some water flow, do not use any filters or they will just get filled with mud, drain the tank completely then refill with water. You should end up with near clear water.
Pros: top quality substrate
Cons: expensive, hard to vacuum, muddy
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

the use of flourite

June 13, 2009
by popoftwojacks
fromMillersburg , PA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
I recently had to tear down my aquairium , because of a really bad algea bloom . I had live plants in the aquairium , but they just didn't seem to be growing right. I went searching on-line for a different subsrate , when i saw the flourite i started to look into purchasing it . It's been about 3or 4 weeks since redoing my tank . I can already see the plants are starting to grow a whole lot better already. the only difficulty I had with the flourite was making sure it was rinsed really well , so it wouldn't cloudy the water . very good product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Overall good product

June 7, 2009
by C7mb
fromBoston, MA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews
I bought this product for my 55 gallon tank. It provided my plants a good substrate for a good cost. This product overall is effective but tie consuming. It takes a VERY long time to was the substrate completely. You need to spend a minimum of one hour cleaning and washing the substrate or you will face the consequences of cloudy water (I learned that the hard way...). One way to clean the substrate is to take small ammounts and thoroughly wash it in a bucket till the water is clear. I would recommend this product due to its effectiveness as a plant substrate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great for plants and a tip for cleaning it

May 28, 2009
by Archenstone
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
I have used fluorite in my 55g planted tank and my 30g planted tank. I have beautiful swords, wisteria, and other misc. plants that grow well in it. All I have ever needed was this substrate and good lighting.
Here is a tip for cleaning it. Take a bucket you use for water changes and dumb the gravel inside. Then take a water hose and spray water in and let the water flow through and carry away the fine dust. It does take a little bit of time but I have found this to be the easiest, simplest way to clean it out. I usually stick the hose right with the gravel...keep letting the bucket fill and stir the gravel with the hose or hands until your water pours cleanly and floating fluorite settles immediately. You will loose little pieces but they don't impact your overall quantity. Now when you fill up your tank you won't get a cloudy mess. I also do this when I have to break down a tank. Its a good time to clean all the biological matter that accumulates in gravel.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Seachem Flourite Plant Substrate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Has its "Pros" and "Cons"

January 16, 2009
by INDYdave24
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 27 reviews
This is an “OK” product if you have patience. Before you use it, it needs to be rinsed thoroughly or it will discolor your aquarium water. I poured a small amount into a very fine water strainer and ran it under the bathtub faucet for about five minutes before putting it in the aquarium. I mixed it with some aquarium gravel, which gave it a nice look. The only downfall I have found is when using the aquarium vacuum it does suck up a lot of the fluorite into the vacuum. This may be more of a hassle than anything else, but my plants look great and they aren’t complaining!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next