PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar

Discourages nuisance barking Self-contained collar does not require remotes Great for dogs of all sizes Stimulation level increases if barking continues Up to 4 levels of static correction
Overall rating:
4.153 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 79
68 of 85(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Review 1 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Awesome!!

August 13, 2010
by SharonLynne
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This collar has worked wonders. I have a Belgian Tervuren that barked 24/7. He barked at everything constantly. This honestly has been the best $50 I've ever spent. He doesn't bark at all. He barked once with the collar, and has not barked since. I love it and would recommend it to everyone. What an amazing difference. Not only are my family and I thrilled, my neighbors are as well.
Pros: love this collar!!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Great product that really works!

May 24, 2007
by baseballmom
fromAtlanta, GA
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
We have a Wire Haired Fox Terrier that was too much to handle for his first family. When Ralphie came to live with us, I worked with a nationally known trainer for over a year to control the constant barking. Ralphie's behavior and barking even stumped the trainers. I resisted purchasing a device of this type because I thought we could help Ralphie with love and good, old-fashioned training techniques. When I considered giving him up, I knew that I had to try something else. This product was recommended by several other terrier owners.
We put the collar on him using the long probes as recommended by other reviewers. The first time he barked and received the correction, I was startled because the dog yelped, and I worried about the device. But he's never barked again after the first time. Even with the collar removed, he will only barks once and not loudly.
Our home is now peaceful once again, and the whole family enjoys playing with the dog because he no longer uses his ear-splitting bark during play. We are also finally making progress on some of the techniques used by the trainer. Ralphie is a great companion and family friend now!
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Works for our Shih Zhu

November 25, 2011
by MRD323
fromMilwaukee, WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
Our 3 year old Shih Zhu got into the habit of barking at 5am non-stop. Drove me nuts. Tried just about everything I could think of, but the early morning barking continued. Bought this collar as a last resort. She definitely needs to wear the collar tightly, or else the electrodes will not be snug enough. It took about 3 nights, and we finally have silence again. The first 3-4 times it shocked her was a little disheartening, definitely startled her. But she learned quickly. Nice product, did the trick.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

So far so good...

October 13, 2011
by PetSmartCustomer71
fromImperial, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
After two days of using this product, I can attest that it works as intended on my Shih Tzu who has/had a horrible barking problem...
You can tell it's hurting him though cause when he does forget and barks once or twice he will yelp/cry immediately after the bark comes out...but aftwards he will definitely be quiet for a good 6-8 hours and it's wonderful...
I feel a little bad, but it's great to have peace again in our home (and neighborhood!). I'm hoping that after time he will just learn not to bark and the collar won't be necessary...regardless, I definitely recommend this product...it really does stop the dog from barking.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Great product!

June 17, 2011
by Scorpion
fromToronto, Ontario, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
We have a large breed Romanian Sheepdog, the one with the fluffy appearance. He lives outside in the backyard and for the first few months he was OK in terms of barking. As he grew older (he is now 1 year and 1 month old), he started to become more teritorial and anything approaching our backyard was welcomed with a bark...This was no problem during the day, but at night this became a problem. Six months ago, I bought the Innotek no-bark collar and solved the problem of barking at night. He does bark a few times, but after he gets the correction, he stops. In the winter months I used to remove the battery after each use and put it back in only when in use. In terms of fit, I agree the collar might be a bit too short. Our dog has a muscular neck (after all, he is now 134 lbs) but I was able to adjust the collar (albeit a bit too short for large breed dogs) to the appropriate length so to make it effective. He has lots of fur and whenever I put the collar around his neck I try to clear away all the hairs around the prongs and get them close to the skin. Overall, a great product (less for the fit part, on occasion).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews

Good for my dachshund, not for my Lab mix

May 11, 2011
by SpeckledCritter
fromDallas, Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 85 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This collar worked wonders on my Dachshund, but not my Lab mix. Living at home with my parents (whose dogs are completely undisciplined) caused my dogs to learn a lot of bad habits, barking among them. When I moved into an apartment, barking became a problem because my downstairs neighbors have a newborn, which obviously needs its sleep. So I bought one of these collars for each of my dogs. It worked wonders on my dachshund, who learned not to bark at our neighbors' comings and goings, but it didn't work at all on my Lab mix because of his large neck scruff (loose skin on his neck). I even trimmed the hair on his neck to see if that would help, but no. The collar is activated by vibrations, and no matter where it was placed on his neck or how tight or loose, the darn thing just wouldn't register when he was barking even though when I tested it as recommended by the manufacturer the light blinked, indicating that it was working.
Both my dogs were comfortable in the collar and didn't have any discomfort while wearing it, and my dachshund learned quickly with this method.
My recommendation: if you have a dog with short hair and little or no extra neck skin, this will be great for you! Otherwise I would think seriously about another product.
Pros: comfortable, durable
Cons: Doesn't Work on Training
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 85 reviews

Collar Length

April 20, 2011
by CougAlum
fromPasco, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews
Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5 85 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
Decided to purchase this collar since it appeared to work as I needed it to. My Rottweiller has been barking every night outside my bedroom window for months now. So, needing some relief, I reviewed this collar online, liked the price, and went to purchase. The HUGE issue for me was looking at the package, there is NO mention of the length of this collar or most others I have reviewed since. Looking at the picture on the front of the package shows a Golden Retriever. Thinking my Rottweiller is probably a little bigger (125 lbs), this collar will probably fit. When I put this one him, the end of the buckle and the end of the collar itself wouldn't even meet. Either he has a HUGE neck or they need to make collars for larger dogs (>100 lbs) and include this information on the package or description on the internet.
Cons: not adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 85 reviews

Collar holds little charge!

January 21, 2011
by wolfy4
fromDe Forest Wisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this collar because I moved from a house to an apartment. My beagle mix barks at every singel footstep and door closing. I could not take it any more.
I bought this collar to see if it works. It does work but my battery only lasted maybe 1 wk. I went to Petsmart and bought the 6V battery and I tried it again. The collar again only worked for about a wk. So I went out and bout "Duracell" batteries. These only lasted about 4 days. I am very disapointed that I have to buy a battery that cost me $7 eveytime. I can not aford this twice a week and I do not recamend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Really works!

December 17, 2010
by GenieW
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
bought this for our two large breed dogs who bark at EVERYTHING! worked right from the first bark and price was good! only gave it 4 stars because replacement batteries are hard to find plus they only last about a month...
Pros: good price
Cons: batteries hard to find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Worked Great!

November 24, 2010
by Loveyorkies
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product has worked great.I have a yorkie who would constantly bark for anything..and it was driving me and my family nuts. I decided to buy this product to see if it would finally stop the barking and it did. The first time i put it on my dog jumped and immediately knew to stop. i finally have some peace at my house.
Pros: very good for small dogs.
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

This collar is amazing!

November 22, 2010
by westport
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I live in a townhouse and my minature schnauzer barked all the time. I was reported to management and she called and said something had to be done. I purchased this collar and after a couple times she now knows what is going to happen . Totally different loving dog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Wonderful Product!!!

November 13, 2010
by lister08
fromPanama City, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have a black lab he is almost two years old and for the past two years all he does is bark bark bark... We have tried all types of things to correct him and nothing has worked. My family and I were losing sleep from him barking in the night and every neighbor on my block was complaining to me about the barking. I was at my wits in and I new something had to be done. We were considering giving the dog away, even tho he has become a member of our family and out of desperation I started looking on the internet for a solution and came across this product and decided it was a fair enough price so I would try it. It has been amazing!!! My dog barked ONE time after I put the collar on him and that was it. He has completely stopped barking and instantly too.... This product is awesom and I would recommend it to anyone. The price is also very reasonable and this has been the best investment I think i've ever made.....
Pros: affordable, great quality, easy to use
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 85 reviews

Didn't work

October 7, 2010
by way2manypets
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I bought this for my black and tan hound dog because the neighbors were complaining about her barking. It didn't do anything. It said to test it by rubbing it against a hard surface and if the light comes on, it works. I did that and the light came on and I touched it and it shocked me so I assumed it was working. When I put it on the dog, however, she just continued to bark and it didn't shock her. She didn't even notice it was there. I put it on nice and tight too to be sure it was touching her skin. Maybe it wasn't picking up the vibrations from her bark. I don't know. Regardless, I'm going to return it today and try the spray collar instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Miracle Worker!

August 23, 2010
by PoundPuppymom
fromMassillon, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I adopted a two year old yellow lab from the pound, two months ago. He constantly barks. In fact, one night he barked for two hours straight. I was at my wits end, and purchasing this product was my last hope. I bought this on a Friday, it's Monday now, and the barking is 95% better. I can't believe it. He is a different dog. Thank you
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 85 reviews

Waste of money

August 13, 2010
by Shannon19999
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
We purchased this for our Newfoundland puppy and it worked about as good as the plain collar he was already wearing. It did absolutely nothing!! Save your money and your time...This thing is a rip off!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

GREAT

July 23, 2010
by sammy2010
fromGurnee,IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my maltese and he's 5 months old everytime he's left alone in his cage he barks for 2 nites in a row he barked for 2 hours then for 1 nite we put the collar on and the Next nite the barking stopped completly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

Outstanding Results!!! Couldn't believe it!!

March 19, 2010
by SoCalTennisGal
fromLaguna Niguel, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
We have a 12-yr. old Cairn Terrier who has a been a constant barker since the day we got him as a puppy. We don't mind that he barks at the doorbell or when people walk by our house, BUT the barking at night when it was bedtime had really gotten to be a problem. What Riley really wanted was to sleep in bed with my husband and me (well, me really). We wouldn't mind if he didn't squirm around constantly and make it impossible to get any sleep. A few years ago, we switched to putting him in a crate at night, in a room with the door closed downstairs. He barked, but we couldn't hear him. Our problem began when our oldest son moved back home last August and his room was right above the room where Riley was at night. Our son could get NO sleep with Riley's constant barking all night. I even tried putting his crate out in the car in the garage, but our son could still hear him.
I read about this product and was hesitant to try it given our dog's age. I thought he might be shocked into a heart attack. Well, I have to say, I WISH we had gotten this collar sooner!!! The first night we put the collar on Riley and put him in his crate, he barked 3 times. Each time, he got a shock and he did cry/scream, which was hard to hear. Then, he was quiet the rest of the night. The next night, he barked once, got shocked and was quiet the rest of the night. Since then, he HAS NEVER BARKED AGAIN AT NIGHT. Now, during the daytime, he barks at all the usual things, but at night, when that collar goes on, he knows to be quiet. We are SO happy to all be getting sleep again!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this product. It is worth every dollar!!!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 85 reviews

Took him off his feet

March 18, 2010
by drsgdiva
fromrochester, ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently moved into an upstairs apartment with my 5 yr old mini long haired doxi. He weighs about 12 pounds. My dog goes with me to work etc, so is rarely home alone. When he is, he will bark for a few minutes after I leave the house. My downstairs neighbor has called the management office complaining, so to keep the peace, I purchased this collar today. My little man rides in a car seat in my car, and will sometimes bark if he sees a dog walking down the street, so I thought it would be a good opportunity to try the collar. The first time it went off, it literally took him off his feet!!! He let a yelp out of him, and then tried to shake it off. He jumped into my arms, shaking and clearly was scared to death. After settling him down, we went into a car wash. He was in my arms when he barked, and again, the collar went off, he was obviously shocked, and yelped. I took the thing off his neck. When we came home he hid under the bed. I just called the office and told them my neighbor would just have to deal with it on the few occasions I go out of the house without the dog. I will not say that the thing doesnt work, clearly it does. It just is not a good fit for me and my little man. PLEASE pay attention to the materials when it says do not put on the dog and leave until you know how your dog will respond. I would have been horrified if I had just put it on and trusted that nothing would go wrong.
Cons: too strong
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 85 reviews

IT WORKS!!!!! PEACE IN OUR HOME AGAIN!!!!

March 10, 2010
by Works
fromLouisiana, USA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
If you have a dog that you cannot train to stop barking. I HIGHLY recommend "Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar". It solved an issue we've been having with one of our dogs for YEARS!!! He is cured in only ONE USE of this collar! AMAZING!!!! We have peace in our house again! I was SOOOOO close to getting rid of this dog, but now we will surely keep him! I still can't believe how well it worked. I am SOOOOOOOOO HAAPPY and relieved!!! I only wish I had gotten it SOONER!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Innotek Free Spirit No Bark Collar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews

Worked

January 19, 2010
by coffeechick
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 85 reviews
My puppy used to bark constantly when we put her outside alone (for very short time periods) and sometimes in her crate. After putting on the collar she tried it just a couple times then stopped barking! After a couple days I removed it and the constant barking had stopped. She still lets out an occasional bark if she is really excited or frustrated, but it is much better than I ever imagined it could be. If she lets out a few barks during one activity, I will put the collar on and remind her. She never seems to be hurt by the shock, and doesn't squeal or anything... just looks a little surprised. This product has made my life a lot better since I live in a tight neighborhood where barking dogs are not well tolerated.
Pros: works quickly and effectively, doesn't seem to hurt the dog at all
Cons: somewhat difficult to put on long length
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next