PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire

Protects your pet and car upholstery One size adjusts to fit most SUVs & mini-vans Strong, stable design does not rattle
Overall rating:
2.938 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
8 of 16(50%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Review 1 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Disappointed - don't buy this one!

February 5, 2013
by Hhidogs
fromSemi retired
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this in store for my minivan and 2 dogs. Brittle plastic pieces were broken in the box. The store manager pulled them from another box and replaced them. If I didn't need something right away I would have returned it. I have had a barrier in the past that was much better quality. Metal is flimsy, it rattles (as others have stated) and the plastic is brittle. A wider base (just like the cup at the top?!) is needed. My German Shepherd knocks is askew just bumping against it when he lays down.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Good but requires vibration dampening

December 2, 2012
by Mark617
fromBoston
Two fixes were necessary:
1. I have a Volvo XC and the unit was too tall so needed to hacksaw off 3" of the the vertical bars.
2. As per Maryland 10/29/10's observation on noise vibration: I put three turns of 1" cloth electrical tape on the threaded rod (top, middle, bottom) and this sucessfully dampened the annoying vibration which otherwise occurrs.
So other than my tweaks, I'm happy with the product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

November 25, 2012
by SRLL
fromCanada
Do not waste your money on this product. If you have a dog that is an escape artist this barrier will not work. My 50 pound huskey was able to bend the metal tubing in about one minute and was in the front seat. I should of just taken my money, put it in a pile and burned it. One other thing, the plastic peices crack and break.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Waste of money

April 8, 2012
by Expertirrigationottawa
fromOttawa, Ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Besides it's none stop very annoing rattling , it also fell apart, cracked at he flimsy plastic peices.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Does NOT fit Subaru Outback

February 19, 2012
by AMiller
fromLouisville, CO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
To any Subaru Outback owners considering this barrier, beware: The description on the packaging is not true: "Fits All Wagons". I have a 2009 Outback, and the vertical height of the barrier bars is too tall for an Outback. The width of the barrier is adjustable, but the height is fixed; don't confuse these two. I'm sure that it fits fine in most SUVs, even smaller ones such as a Pilot. If you have a 2011 or newer Outback, which has a slightly taller interior, this MAY fit, but it will be close. I'd suggest any Outback owner consider a different barrier.
Very annoyed by the packaging description.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Works perfectly!

October 4, 2011
by Kipawa
fromBC, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought one of these and had it set up in my 2 door sports coupe in a half hour. Then the test - would my basenji be able to push it over or squiggle through it? No he couldn't! I was so happy because I thought I would be faced with buying an SUV, and I really did not want to give up my car. So if you need a barrier for your car, take measurements and really consider this product. It looks nice and does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

rattles

April 30, 2011
by LindaLouR
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Rattled like crazy! Scratched my interior. I am returning it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Used in a GMC Envoy

February 24, 2011
by Deannas4
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have seen some people say that it doesn't fit certain cars - I think this is purchaser fail and they didn't know how to adjust it properly.
This product can be adjusted vertically and horizonitally and fits PERFECTLY in the back of my mid-size SUV.
I had to make the middle bars wider than the top and bottom to fit my SUV correctly which was easy to do with the adjustable bars.
I own an 80 pound Doberman and he is properly and safely contained.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 16 reviews

Does the Job But Has Some Flaws

November 29, 2010
by GoldenRetrieverOwner
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
After looking online at several similarly designed products I bought this because it was the only one in the store and was comparable to the online prices for other manufacturers/retailers. Took about 30 minutes to install - mainly because there is no easy way to level the bars vertically and horizontally. Materials appear to be strong enough to hold a large dog, but the vertical bars must be very tight or a dog could knock it down. The tightening will probably leave marks on the headliner of most cars. In addtion, one simple design flaw which causes the barrier to rattle was very quickly obvious. The threaded bar which enables the barrier to be adjusted vertically rattles inside the vertical tube housing it. I think this can be fixed by adding a washer, o-ring, or other padding to the threaded bar so it remains tight and does not rattle inside the vertical tubes. Too bad the manufacturer doesn't simply provide these cushions with the product, however . Also the barrier does not come with cups for the feet like other brands - only cups for the top of the vertial bars where they touch the ceiling liner. Otherwise, it seems like it will do the job for most dogs.
Pros: comes with 6 bars, sturdy construction, fit a tahoe suv fine
Cons: rattles - simple design flaw, no easy way to level bars, no cups for feet
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Didnt fit!

May 1, 2010
by Pumpkinboozle
fromJacksonville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After assembling together with NO directons, i had to figure it out. I tried installing it into my CX7 grand touring. which it did NOT fit! It is cheaply made, and doesnt not fit a cross over! I do NOT recommend this product if you have a smaller sized SUV.
Cons: doesn't fit small suv's.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 16 reviews

Inferior Product

April 6, 2010
by Kay844250
fromGreen Valley, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased this pet barrier and, while putting it together, one of the knobs to tighten it broke. It was as though the plastic was flawed. The unit rattles whenever the car is in motion.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 16 reviews

Missing, cracked parts

February 9, 2010
by JaneinGA
fromAthens, GA
I was very disappointed with this product. The parts are cheap plastic and two arrived cracked. In addition, two parts were missing. Kennelaire's customer service was helpful, but I had to fax my receipt to them, as I no longer had the original email receipt.
It does not seem very stable and I would not recommend. I have purchased other barriers in the past with a similar design that were much better made.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

GREAT QUALITY

July 5, 2009
by SiouxZque
fromMountains of Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
This barrier is great!! Very sturdy, and was fairly easy to install, and I am a girl (well, old lady really, 58 yrs old). I put it together on my basement floor first. Then I installed it in the vehicle (I have a 1998 Ford Explorer). The vertical bars are pretty easy to tighten down (you may need to use a wrench as suggested in another review). But I could not get the left side of the trombone thingy to slide out to the left to make it wider, like the right side does so easily.
But I finally figured it out. Instead of just untightening the knobs, on the left side, you have to take them off completely, at least I did. If you take the tightening knobs completely off, be careful not to lose the washer, nut or screw. Then, take off the two plastic rectangular bars, that the screw was sticking through, on the front and back of that square shaped vertical bar. They just snap off easily, but be careful not to break them).
You can then slide the trombone thingy easily to the left, to make it wider. When you have it adjusted like you want it, then just reattach the two retangular bars, front and back, thread the screw in from the back, through the hole, put on the washer, then the tightening knob, then the nut.
If you stick your pinkie finger over the nut, to keep it from falling out of the tightening knob and to keep it in the correct position, you can then easily tighten the knob. A LOT EASIER THAN IT SOUNDS. Once you get it adjusted, that's it. Unless you plan to use the barrier in two different vehicles, like move it back and forth. Not a good idea. That could be a lot of trouble. Easier to just buy a 2nd barrier!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Kennel-Aire Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier

January 27, 2009
by JP62
fromMaryville, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
This item is well constructed and designed.
Took about ten minutes to put together and
fifteen to install in our Mazda Tribute SUV.
Easy to adjust height and width with the knobs.
Fit very well and definitely kept our two large
dogs from getting up to the front seat to help
"Daddy" drive.
Although it was already very secure I added
a couple of small bungy cords to secure it even
more to the bottom of the driver and passenger
head rests.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 16 reviews

Great for the Honda Odssey

July 4, 2008
by RottieReview
fromChesapeake, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Great product, however I found it took a bit longer to install than expected. It would be helpful to have an extra hand when setting it in to place. Also, I found it easier to adjust the height using a wrench to keep the bar still while tightening the nuts. Fits our Odyssey van very nicely.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Tubular Vehicle Barrier from Kennel-Aire
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews

Good Product

February 23, 2008
by zzzhuh
fromEarth
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 16 reviews
After buying from PetSmart and returning to PetSmart the other company's Pet Barrier with 6 Bars, I was dreading buying this Kennel-Aire Pet Barrier with 6 Bars, because I anticipated having to return it too.
But to my surprise, this is actually a GOOD PRODUCT!
It doesn't have any of the problems that the competition had, and does exactly what you want it to do.
My only thought is that I will add a strap to the sides to secure it to the car, just to add a bit of safety to keep it from being jarred loose.
Otherwise, I love it.
5 stars.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.