PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier

The ideal pet safety barrier for families with more than one vehicle. Will adjust to fit most SUV's, mini-vans and station wagons.
Overall rating:
2.583 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 23
11 of 24(46%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Review 1 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Works great!

February 2, 2013
by kkshoes
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this gate for over 6 years. I bought it 1st for my Blazer, then transferred it to my new car, a wagon. It has worked great in both! I have a pair of large dogs and it keeps them safe and out of trouble in the cargo area.
I will move this to my next vehicle, as it still has a TON of life in it. One of my better investments!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

GARBAGE!!

September 29, 2012
by RMOR
fromVictoria BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This was the only gate at Petsmart but needed something for my brand new SUV. It was horrible to put up. It never was tight enough so it always fell over on my dog scratching the sides, also when I put it more tight it bent fabric peice on the top of my SUV.
ABSOLUTE GARBAGE! Pet smart gave me my money back but now I will be fighting with the company to have them fix the thousand $ worth of damage.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

didn't fit in my suv

February 15, 2012
by twopugs
fromSpokane, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this product and it was hard to install and takes at least two people. I have a GMC Tahoe and never did get the thing to stop rattling and to be tight enough to stay in place. My Boxer got out of it into the other seats in a matter of days.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Hard to install but works

October 24, 2011
by TaiTai
fromAlberta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
This was, although cumbersome to put together (required two of us), is cheap and works. It rattled for the first week or so and then seems to have rattled itself into position, so now it's a nice quiet drive. I have a hatchback and it fit in my hatch fine (didn't require the two side pieces). With the new distracted driver laws now in place in my province, a car barrier is a must for all pet owners.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Universal Car Barrier

October 13, 2011
by tdjshields
fromAZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have to admit this was a bit hard to put together, but on the other hand with patients it works great.Ii have an older Range Rover and it was a bit challenging in adjusting the barrier to fit properly. Once I put it together myself it seems to work great. I like the fact that my 2 collie pups can't squirm through the sides and I can drive without incident. I would recommend this barrier and I think it is great value for the money. As far as the other complaints, sometimes it takes more then an half hour to put something together properly. This is a universal barrier and that is exactly what you are getting. Enjoy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Not Impressed

September 28, 2011
by AtlRock
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
I purchased the barrier for my 4Runner and was frustrated with it from the start. The product takes too long to put together, doesn't stay in place in the car, scratches the roof and other areas, and adjusts poorly for instillation and removal.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Hated this barrier!

September 22, 2011
by ansleyt
fromKrum, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This thing is a pain to put together, and took two people so we could get it adjusted correctly in my car. I only used it for a few weeks, and it fell several times even after I adjusted it. Not only did it fall, but it fell backwards on TOP OF my dogs even though they were nowhere near the base of it to push it over. Also, I have a small dog that can fit through the gap at the bottom (I have captains chairs in the middle row), so its definitey not recommended for people who have little ones!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Falls apart

January 12, 2011
by weimaraner1
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Don't buy this product. It's not stable, everytime you try to move it, it falls apart. If it was one piece, I could see keeping it, but mine is heading back to the store.
Cons: falls apart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Hard to Put Together

November 18, 2010
by shareena
fromCharlotte, NC
It took me almost an hour to put this together and it didn't sit right in my 4Runner it also scratched up the plastic on the side when I tried to make it fit correct.
I bought the Tubular and it was easier to put together took me 15 mins and fit a lot better.
Cons: too many parts to put the gate together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Didn't fit

August 29, 2010
by Leola
fromLondon, ON
On the box it says it fits all minivans, SUVs and station wagons. After buying it and spending a long time putting it together, I found out that it did NOT fit my station wagon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Works well if your car is a big box...

April 15, 2010
by Anonymous
fromWatervliet, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I recently purchased an SUV just so that I could have the cargo area to transport my 2 medium/large dogs safely using a pet barrier. This was the only pet barrier available at PetSmart when I visited, and I should have known better than to buy it! I have a Lexus RX330, and the roof is not flat due to an antenna for the navigation system, so the top of the grate doesn't work with it. In addition, the tire wells interfere with the side grates, so I can't extend it horizontally as needed. Definitely not recommended for mid-size SUVs!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews

Great for right application

August 14, 2009
by Kactus
fromPrescott, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
We've had the "other" kind of common pet barrier that has the 4 or 6 horizontal bars and used it in our various SUVs. I had to purchase some extra horizontal pieces to bring that barrier low enough to prevent my dogs from climbing under it. I always worried that my smaller dog might accidentally get hung on these bars if he got his head through. So I wanted to try the Kennel-Aire style "mesh" barrier.
Unless you're putting THIS Kennel-Aire behind your rear seats, where the rear seats serve to prevent pet from climbing under, THIS barrier needs the same type of extra piece. I have removed my rear seats, so I need 100% full coverage from a barrier, top to bottom.
I called manufacturer, they DO sell an add on piece that will cover the lower part, but the piece was around $40 and shipping was about $35. That's a bit too much, so I got creative....
I'll try to describe my successful solution......I took my "old" horizontal barrier that has kind of an "A" pattern in the vertical bars, removed the extra lower extensions . The top and bottom feet had broken off, so it wasn't usable as is. IRONICALLY the main section of that style horizontal bar barrier fit PERFECTLY on the lower half of this Kennel-Aire barrier, to completely form a barrier, top to bottom, side to side in my SUV. Recall these horizontal bar styles are adjustable in width, so you can customize the fit on this lower area.
I just used some black zip ties to fasten the lowest bar of the Kennel-Aire to the top bar on the old barrier. They're both black powder coat so they match. The horizontal bar style has fatter tubing than the Kennel-Aire, but it still looks fine.
RATTLES- Yes, this barrier will rattle to varying degrees over different terrain, so I used several more zip ties to secure the overlapping panels where the rattles originate from. In fact, I had my hubby sit in the back area while I drove around and he would isolate a rattle then apply a zip tie. We probably used 15 ties in total. We snipped them off really close and they don't impair visibility at all.
The brackets that are used to secure this barrier to itself are about 2" x 2" square and DO cause limited visibility if they're in just a certain spot. I found the one in the top, middle position had to be repositioned two "squares" up to be out of my way for rear visibility.
The Kennel-Aire DOES require some serious tightening vertically and the top bar (not feet) WILL press into your headliner. The suggestion to use some pipe insulation (or pool noodle type stuff) is a great suggestion to lessen the severity of the imprint on the headliner.
The horizontal bar style barrier can be purchased for less than $50, so you're still ahead vs. buying Kennel-Aire's extension.
Hope this helps!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews

Kennel aire

May 25, 2009
by baddog1
fromkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I have had this product for awile and like it. I have a 1999 Tahoe with rear air which poses a problem since one side of the trim in the back is bigger where the lines run down. We decided to custom make a board and mounted it which makes foe easy removal. All you have to do is lower the barrier and slide it out. To help stop the rattles we put a nut on then the wing nut which helps keep the barrier tight against the head liner. To keep from damaging the headliner we bought soem foam pipe insulation that is slit to fit over the pipe and put it on the top of the barrier, which allows you to tighten it against the headliner with out damaging it.
However my new shepherd can get under one side and get to the back seat. Needs more clips to hold it together.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

read this one before you buy.

March 31, 2009
by fikeUall
fromPittsburgh
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
i bought this product yesterday. it took about 30-40 minutes to put together by myselfand yes it would of been easier with another person. after it was put together and put in the pacifica i own i put my dog in and then i found the big flaw it has. the pacifica has three rows of seats, the third row is a full seat but up leaves no trunk space, the second row is just like the front and they are seperated by a console which leaves a hole in the barrier. i have a 90lb dog that squeezed through that little square hole in 10 seconds. so if you are thinking of getting this product and have a vehical that has two bucket seats that it will go up against make sure you have something to fill that square hole or the barrier is worthless. it does not tell you this in the instruction or on the box. so i can't give it a fair test or a good rating because the company did not accommodate the needs i needed it for.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

AWFUL!!!

March 19, 2009
by Anonymous
fromForney, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
I hate this product so hard to install and it is hard to see through. Plus it rattles because the thing comes in 4 different pieces you have to put together... I would never suggest this to anyone!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Extremely Difficult to Assemble

June 27, 2008
by Roadtrip
fromutah
After a frustrating hour and half trying to get this product assembled, I finally succeeded, only to find out that it doesn't fit my vehicle. Unless you're a mechanical engineer or a magician, I'd suggest you buy some other product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 24 reviews

Will not work with rear A/C in a Tahoe

June 12, 2008
by lburke72
fromQueen Creek, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 24 reviews
I just got this and agree with the several other people that stated that it was hard to put together if you are alone. You also have to hold the threads while twisting the wingnut once it gets a little bit tight, otherwise the whole thing will twist and not get any tighter. I have a 2002 Tahoe with rear A/C and the vents a where this device would normally be on the roof. I thought, no big deal I will just move it backwards a bit. I did that and after it was all set up there was a BIG gap! I knew even though my dog is a German Shepherd that she would find a way to crawl underneath and still be able to jump into the rear seat. As soon as I finished I went and got her and put her in. Even before I was in the drivers' seat she had made her way under the barrier and into the seat! I would not recommend getting this if you have a rear A/C unit. I now have to figure out what to try next! Seems like a sturdy product if my dog would just stay put!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews

Car Wreck

November 6, 2007
by TpBrown
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 24 reviews
This product is hard to assemble and very awkward as well. The top posts poked holes in the upholstery on the ceiling of my SUV. The sides were not adjustable enough to fit ANY vehicle. On several occasions, the barrier has fallen down on top of my pet because the barrier loosens. This always happens at an inopportune time and my dog is stuck under the grate until I can safely pull over to waste my time adjusting and reinstalling the barrier once again.
Umm ... no!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

Pet Barrier

August 12, 2007
by funflier
fromSan Francisco
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Bought mine online sometime ago as they were always out of them in the store or they had been opened and parts missing. Found assy easer to hold together by 2 people till you get it where you want it then put the clamps in. Used electrical tape on the ends of the screw poles and tie wraps to hold loose ends tight so it didnt rattle. Happy with it. Keeps the dog out of the front seat while driving or on hard stops from being thrown around or forward into the front of the car and injured.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kennel-Aire Universal Wire Vehicle Barrier
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews

TERRI

July 22, 2007
by ROCKYJO
fromTENNESSEE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 24 reviews
I AM REAL PLEASED WITH THIS PRODUCT. IT IS A LITTLE HARD TO ASSEMBLE FOR ONE PERSON. I FOUND THE PICTURE EASIER TO USE THAN THE DIRECTIONS. MY BOXER WILL LIKE IT BETTER WHEN HE GETS USE TO IT. HE HAS ALWAYS BEEN USE TO HAVING FULL RANGE OF THE VEHICLE. I AM REALLY PLEASED WITH IT SO FAR.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next