PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding

Provide your pet with earthy friendly bedding that's soft and comfortable, controls ammonia and is safe to flush.
Overall rating:
3.929 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 27
20 of 28(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Review 1 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding

December 17, 2013
by maryskatiegirl
fromPlacerville, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this product. I put it as the base bedding then add the
KAYTEE� Clean & Cozy™ Small Pet Bedding on top and it makes the daily upkeep (I don't like a dirty cage and it looks distasteful) much easier. It's not messy when you use a container to scoop, just don't breath the dust that comes off of it.
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Good!

July 15, 2013
by Collierox22
from….
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I use this for my rats' Litter Box, and it works great!
Its cheap, will last for two-Three Weeks, and smells good!
I wouldn't use it for the bedding, because When I first used it my rats showed a lot of interest in eating it, and you would have to buy a lot more of it.
But it works really well for litter boxes!
I Hope to get some more really soon, as I am out of it.
But I'm glad Its cheap!
Pros: easy to clean, eliminates odor, low dust
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great Product

April 28, 2013
by bunnylover224
fromLombard, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i used this for my hammy. She loved it! her cage did not smell AT ALL!
I love it too!
Pros: eliminates odor, low dust, easy to clean
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Good for guineas

June 22, 2012
by CamilleW
fromAtlanta,GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After my local pet smart stopped selling Sunseed newspaper pellets because so many people started buying the newspaper pellet cat litter (which was too dusty for my guinea pig) I started looking for a new bedding, I had already tried so many. I saw this and thought "well I guess I haven't tried grain yet." and thought it wouldn't work. It has actually surprised me because it works pretty well. It smells nice and it has good odor control. One of the few cons I have is that tons of the little grain things stick to their feet so when they prop their front paws up on the cage and stand on their hind legs a lot of the stuff rains to the floor. Other than that it has been a good bedding so far. I hope the dust level is low enough for my guinea to tolerate. :)
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

great bedding!!

June 11, 2012
by billybobjoepaul
frommelbourne fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recommend this bedding very much! It works excellent for my albino male mouse Puff. When I clean his cage I put a few pieces of newspaper on the bottom of the cage then I put some baking soda all over the newspaper then I put this bedding on top and sprinkle some baking soda on top and mix it in with the bedding. The baking soda helps with the odor control and so does the bedding. The reason why I gave it 4 stars is because this bedding is very messy and if you have a cage the mice or hammies will kick the bedding out of the cage and also cause the bedding is messy it gets all over my room when I clean the cage so I have to vacuum my room. The other reason I gave it 4 stars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

May 21, 2012
by gerbilywerbilylbkk
fromdenver,co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this bedding because carefresh was stiring my allergies and aspen was getting old.When I tryed this out on my mice it worked perfect,super absorbent and it lasts twice as long as wood chippings.It was also great for my gerbils just not for burrowing but as long as you mix this with aspen and some toilet paper its great for burrowing lovely quality and worth the price I strongly suggest this product to anyone looking for the best smelling and absorbent bedding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

Good! But only good...

September 9, 2011
by HamsterLuvvy
fromEdmonds, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I needed a big bag of bedding to last a while since I can't drive, so one of the most recent times I went to Petsmart I bought this. I liked it, but my hammies only sort of liked it. I used this for my hamsters Peach and Daisy, and the smell never seemed to go away! It wasn't dusty, but it didn't get rid of any odors at all! They also were trying to eat the bedding, but I'm not sure if that was the bedding itself or the hamsters. Overall it was okay, but I didn't like having to go through it so fast. I just ended up getting pine bedding instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Good Stuff

July 24, 2011
by TheRealGiblet
fromKingman, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my mice after my friend gave it a thumbs up after using it for his hamster. Off hand it was pretty dusty but i like the dusty smell, cant say my mice like the dusty smell but i would rather have them smell that then the stench of urine and fecal matter :D.
It absorbs well and keeps the smell very low compared to some wood shaving bedding i have tried in the past.
One thing about this bedding is that it is loose and their wheels would move around the tank but that's not really a problem.
I did see my mice nibbling on the bedding but they were fine still.
Its Great IMO
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews

Not Recommended For Guinea Pigs

June 26, 2011
by RileyisaRiot
fromSt Catharines, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I found this stuff to be very dusty. My Little guys kept sneezing. They were covered in dust all the time. Bad for their respiratory system.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews

Disappointing

June 20, 2011
by Trickery
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Can I just say it was disappointing? Seriously.
It kind of eliminates odor. Like they did add that feature, but couldn't be bothered to add some effort. The cage STUNK! Really badly! Not as bad as when I used this felt stuff from a craft store, {{ which I do not recommend doing! }} but it was so bad it got to the point where my siblings wouldn't even come in my room {{ where the cage is located }}! Oh, and this was before they were litterbox--trained.
And it is BEEPING messy! Sure, rodents, especially rats & mice are known to kick bedding out, but this was ridiculous. It was as light as a feather, literally. They simply walked on it near a corner of a cage, and it would go out of my Critter Nation cage {{ which I highly recommend }} . It would also get stuck to my rats' pelt, so everyday, I had to have a special time just to pick it out of their fur!
Now a days I use it for litter, because we still have some left. I use Eco bedding now, which I recommend!
Cons: messy, Doesn't Eliminate Odor
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

Works well!

December 29, 2010
by bunnymama17
fromElyria,OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this product to use as litter for my bunny, Cadbury when I first brought him home. It covered any smell and he seemed to enjoy it. The only thing was that it stuck to his feet and eventually got all over his cage. Overall a nice product and works well as litter for dwarf rabbits.
Pros: no smell
Cons: stuck to bottom of his feet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Inexpensive, great for hamster cage levels

December 20, 2010
by Menne
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My hamster cages have the ledges, and I was tired of having to wash the ledges every week. So I decided to try this out on the ledges and it stayed there quite nicely.
It kept the shelves very clean and needless to say I am very happy.
Pros: inexpensive, great for hamster shelving
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Stops Smells

August 30, 2010
by beckwife
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We used this for our Sirian hamsters when we had them. We now use it for our Robos and our guinea pig. This product is perfect for those that have allergies like I do to trees and therefore can't use the Aspen bedding. When in our house, visitors can't smell our animals.
Pros: absorbent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 28 reviews

Messy little pieces, got stuck in hamster wheel

August 30, 2010
by Leola
fromLondon, ON
I had used Carefresh before but decided to try this bedding. The pieces are much smaller, and would get stuck in my teddy bear hamster's tail. The tiny pieces would also get stuck in the hamster wheel and the wheel wouldn't turn properly. Since the pieces are so small, I found they also made a bigger mess (outside of the cage) which was more difficult to clean up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Eduardo seems to like it.

July 9, 2010
by Kimib79
fromEverett, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this stuff. It's the only one I've tried that keeps my room from smelling like a petting zoo. It vacuums up easily and I don't worry about him smelling pine fumes.
Pros: keeps the stink at bay
Cons: i have to make a trip to the pet store every week
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

FANTASTIC

June 2, 2010
by ihavehamsters
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is really great bedding,is super soft and cozy,and just everything about is is wonderful. It is a very big bag,and comes with a lot of this bedding. I am very happy with it. I am getting my 2 new hamster tomorrow,hopefully they will love it too.
Pros: everything is great
Cons: nothing wrong with i
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 28 reviews

horrible worst ever

November 29, 2009
by cheeriomouse
frombloomington,MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
dose not work smells very very bad and needs to be cleaned every 3 days
Pros: nothing worst product ever
Cons: not good for mice, smells horrible, cant last or absorb anything, so small, corn bedding
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

It's okay...

January 26, 2009
by Mallory1014
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Eh, not the best bedding. It's really small and really hard to clean up. There are some HUGE chunks in there and my hamster gets annoyed when he has to push them out of the way. I've seen better. I recommend SunSeed Fresh World bedding! ITS DA BEST ^_^
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great!

September 1, 2008
by Oreo13
fromOntario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This bedding absorbes really well! It looks natural, and doesn't have any weird smells lol. My hamster loves digging and storing food in it=) I would recommend putting litter pebbles mixed in with this bedding because the smell doesn't start up as fast.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kaytee Soft-Sorbent Earth-Friendly Bedding
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

Messy

February 28, 2008
by Care
fromGrand Rapids, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product absorbed odor really well, but thats the only nice thing about it. My rabbit would fling the bedding everywhere, and the bedding is not fun to clean up. The bedding also would stick to her coat, which I found very annoying and I'm sure she did too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next