PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System

Embrace clean living! Your feathered friend will love her new living environment and you'll enjoy the time you'll save cleaning up! The Clean Life System allows more time to enjoy you birds and less time cleaning up after them.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
14 of 15(93%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Review 1 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 15 reviews

Clean life? NOT

September 20, 2012
by femailmailman
fromSicklerville, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Hardly a clean life with this cage. It does little to keep seed in the cage. Also, where the cage clips into the base there are openings....2 at each clip on the front and back of the cage. So that is 8 openings for debris to fall out.
Where the tray slides in, there is also a gap along the entire side, at least a half inch or more running the full depth of the cage...so at least 13 inches. When my finches flutter about...all the seeds come out of all these opening. What a waste.
Plus there is only one large door, easy for my finches to escape when I open it. Not in a convienient location at all. Only thing going for it is the fact it is roomy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Not big enough for a cockatiel

May 7, 2012
by Lorenzo
fromToronto
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this cage and it is nice but it was not big enough for my cockatiel. Its back feathers were always touching the cage and they got ruffled. It was hard for her to turn around. I would recomend it to budgies but NOT a cockatiel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

put it together correctly

September 17, 2011
by theark
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I like this cage very much, and so does the young budgie I bought it for! But I did assemble it wrong at first. Three panels arrive in the box attached and the back panel is separate.
Avoid my mistakes by making sure to assemble the back panel with the top "hooks" pointing outward (as they do on the front panel), or the top of the cage will appear secure but actually can easily collapse IN on top of your bird. Also because the seed tray slides out to the side, it is important to assemble the cage with the slide to the left or right (as appropriate) if you intend to set the cage in a corner. Make sure to snap in the bars all the way around when you set the cage onto the base. It takes a firm push at each connection to get the wire top to click into the plastic base.
I expected blue and white but they shipped me the one in all black and it's very sleek looking so I kept it.
I love it actually. Very easy to layer newspaper in the seed drawer for fast cleanups, too.
Pros: sturdy, price, easy to clean
Cons: difficult to assemble
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

A versatile and innovative high quality cage.

September 13, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
(click to see the video)
The prevue clean life cages are really awesome in my opinion. These cages have so many great features that aren't found on most cages of this size. The seed catcher base is brilliant. It doesn't catch all of the seeds that my birds fling out but it does reduce the number of seeds on my table and floor. The base also snaps onto the top of another prevue clean life cage of the same size. The wire grate slides out of the cage without having to take the cage apart. This makes cleaning simple and does not disturb the birds. The large door is fantastic. Everything on the cage met or exceeded my expectations aind I would purchase another one if I needed another finch cage. My only complaint is that I had to do some bending of the large door latch to stop the door from rattling.
Pros: built in seed catcher, large door, snaps onto the top of an identical cage, easy to assemble, floor grate slides out, lightweight with well placed handles
Cons: large door rattled until i did some bending
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Awesome cage!

August 21, 2010
by Scooter1
fromCalifornia, SD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought this cage for my parakeet amy and she loves it! It's really big for 1 parakeet but i can fit all her toys and perches in it easily. I just got her 3 weeks ago and she really seems to be adjusting. I love how big the door is and the pull out tray makes cleaning a snap! I took the grid out and zip-tied it to the cage stand since the stand was too wide. (The stand was on sale for $11!) I highly recommend this cage for up to 2 parakeets or a cockatiel or small parrot! :)
~Madeleine and Amy <3
Pros: huge! pull out tray makes cleaning a snap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great product

July 20, 2010
by parakeetlover58
fromLayton,Utah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have a slightly larger one. The cage is easy to clean because of the pull out grate and drawer. Its also very roomy and can fit a lot of toys. Its a little heavy when moving it around. It doesnt come with instructions in case you need to disassemble the cage. overall its great! my parakeet loves it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews

NOT a clean life with this cage!

June 8, 2010
by revbyers
fromshelby, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased this cage for my four finches a few months ago. It does nothing to keep the seed in so dont be fooled by the name. The clips that hold the cage to the bottom break easily. Other wise it is your basic bird cage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

very roomy

September 23, 2009
by bestcageeverrr
fromManassas VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This cage is very roomy and attractive. Easy assembly. Little Pricey though. My two budgies and I love it!!!!
Pros: roomy, attractive, easy to clean
Cons: pricey
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Excellent cage

July 2, 2009
by MaxsBigBuddy
fromstamford ct
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I've had this for a year now. It is easy to clean. Good size. I have it hanging from the ceiling by the 2 handles and it holds up well. Replacement parts are available from Prevue if needed. The only thing is it is a tad expensive now. They were $60 last year - not sure why such a big increase in price.
Pros: great design
Cons: expensive
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great Cage for the Money

March 27, 2009
by tielmom
fromSaratoga Springs, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
This cage I have in a larger size and it is home for two cockatiels. It was very easy to assemble. It is light weight and easy to move if needed. I like the idea of the seed catcher being the base, therefore now pieces to put to together or clean - just clean the base as one unit. The separate grate and bottom pan are easily removed for cleaning. I have been shopping for cages for a few months - all price ranges and decided to go with the less expensive and I am glad I did. It is perfect and the cost did not break my bank. I would recommend this cage for cockatiels and smaller birds.
Pros: easy to assemble, very little mess outside the cage, light weight, seed catcher is the base - no extra parts, stackable
Cons: no breeder door, stand is optional and extra $
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Decent cage

February 10, 2009
by PetFriend
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
I purchased this cage for my lovebird. It is a good size for him. He has plenty of room to move around. But if you need to move this cage make sure to hold it by the bottom. Twice when moving this cage, the bottom just fell right off. Thankfully the bird wasn't in the cage when this happened. I made sure to lock the wire part in place, but they are just not secure. Since they are plastic, I can't think of anyway to fix that.
Pros: seed guard at the bottom, very easy to change cage liner
Cons: bottom doesn't lock in securely
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Wonderful Cage!!!!

November 3, 2008
by Windwish
fromMD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I bought a smaller version of this same cage for our Cockatiel, so when I got my Canary Wing I knew I had to have the same cage.
I have now purchased two of these cages and I can not say enough good things about them. My 13 year old son can manage his birds cage (Teil) cleaning quickly and the guard keeps the seed mess down to almost nothing.
I have this exact cage for my Canary Wing (Brotogeris) and I love it...plenty of space, easy to clean and attractive. It is all they say it is and more..
Only complaint I have is that PetsMart does not carry a stand for it..and the one they had on disply for the smaller version of this cage seemed flimsey...
Pros: easy to clean/roomy/wide cage door, attractive and the seed guard really helps to keep, the mess down/attractive cage
Cons: no decent stand to buy to put it on...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

Great!!!!!!!!

July 5, 2008
by Lemonsmom
fromFayetteville, GA.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
I have had the bird cage for two years now, for my bird Lemon. It's great. I've had no complications with it. It's easy to clean and easy to access everything in, that I need to! Best buy ever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews

great for it's price

June 25, 2008
by silvie26
fromChicago, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this two years ago for my cockatiel and thought this was the best cage for it's price range and size. I wanted a cage with a skirt and that was easy to clean. The slide out pan tightly fits into the bottom part, and as a result, few seeds can fall in the "space between". I'm not sure this is the same size cage as mine (hard to tell from the picture), but mine has three levels and lots of space for my bird to move around (and more room to hang toys!). It comes with two white plastic perches (not so great) and two food/water bowls. There's a big front easy-access door. The grate on the bottom can slide out to be cleaned. The whole bottom part is plastic and I have had no problem wiping stuff off with water and paper towel. The top wire "cage" part detaches from the bottom part, and sometimes I take the bottom part outside to spray it down with a hose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Prevue Hendryx Clean Life Bird Cage System
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews

Clean Life Cage System

March 18, 2008
by MaggieC
fromDurham, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 15 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 15 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 15 reviews
We and our two parakeets are really enjoying the versatility of this cage. We are able to put a variety of toys in the cage so that the birds are busy and happy. It is a bit of a problem cleaning the bottom of the cage and a bit time consuming. Overall we would rate the cage a B+.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.