PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Habitrail OVO Pad

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Habitrail OVO Pad

Habitrail takes another step closer to duplicating the natural burrowing environment of hamsters, while at the same time offering an easy to maintain user-friendly environment.
Overall rating:
4.152 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 103
79 of 105(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Habitrail OVO Pad
Review 1 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

AWESOME!

August 24, 2010
by xSteff
fromKitchener
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This thing is sooo great. Everything works awesome and my little hamster loves it. I got the add on with the tubes and he loves running through them. For those of you who don't know how to use the water thing. Basically it drips to the bottom of the piece and your animal will drink it from the bottom. thats why its shaped like a little bowl i guess. Hes not suppose to drink from the nozzle. If you fell like he doesn't have enough water just squeeze it. but if you shake it like it says in the directions it will drip all day and you shouldn't have to squeeze it Hope thats helpful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

July 24, 2010
by leafs28
fromOnatrio
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
i love the look on this cage i had trouble setting it up but now it doesnt take long to clean
the only problem i have with this is is the cage starts to get hot and stinky it doesnt have many air holes in the top making air ventilation a little harder
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews

The Cage is...

July 12, 2010
by Jenmicelover
fromTexas,Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
OK... the cage is good but it got stuck to close. The water thing i have bought 2 of the water things and they both did not work... first no matter what my mouse did she could not get water out of it. Second she still could not get WATER out of it... so i bought a glass normal one (used bubble wrap to keep it in place) and now i am looking for a new cage. DO NOT buy it unless you want to have to buy 500 new water things so your mouse will live.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

Get the OVO loft!

May 30, 2010
by abercrombieskirt
fromN-O-T-L Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
So my sister wanted a hanster, and of course i had to sit through it. I begged my mom to get this cage and she said no. I saw the OVO loft their and I was like GET THIS ONE!!! and guess what?Another No way, im not spending $75. So we went home (not returning with anything) and i decided to look up the loft. my dad said it looked nice until my mom said how much it costed. We went to check out petsmart and they had TONS of OVO supplies. eventully we got it! Lauren's hamster Coraline love the cage! its huge! she's addicted to the wheel and she loves the cozy hidaway. the only problem is she does not know how to drink from the water bottle. or where to find her food
Pros: cute design, easy to carry
Cons: tooo small!, leaky water bottle, food to high up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews

March 9, 2010
by MellyMel
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
I was drawn into this project originally because it wasn't a wire cage, but it also wasn't an aquarium tank. I've since switched to a tank and I don't regret it. The problems I had with this habitat was that one side of the top always popped loose, so I had to make sure it would stay, but the simplest movement would dislodge it again. I did like the locking rings for the tubes that connect up and in fact I still use those and some of the tubes, but the actual habitat is what I dislike. I have two dwarf hamsters and while they had plenty of room to run around they couldn't get up the steps to the food dish and the wheel had holes in it and I worried that their paws would get stuck in them and they would injure themselves. I can't imagine putting a syrian in this habitat either. It seems too small. I found the entire system a pain to clean, but then I suppose that comes with the territory if you're buying a cage that comes with tubing. I like the other products from this brand, it's just this one that I don't like.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

It's about time!!!

January 17, 2010
by leajed3
fromConnecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
"Finally!! A habitat that is sturdy, well made, easy to use, and fun for the hamster. This habitat is the third that I have bought that have the tunnels that "snap" to the cage and the other two failed miserably. After reading the great reviews, I reluctantly went and purchased an OVO habitrail with the stores guarantee that I could return it no matter what! So, I brought it home and put it together (a breeze by the way) and was amazed at how sturdy the tunnels were even before I put Henrietta (a teddy bear hamster) in it! The tunnels on the other ones that I bought wouldn't stay vertical and popped off whenever she stepped on them so I was skeptical but the locking rings are awesome, they do keep it sturdy! Also, my hammie loves the space, which I was also worried about but it is plenty big enough. She loves to climb and explore and I am so glad to finally get her out of the sad little 10 gallon tank she's been in while I spend so much money on cages that are poorly made! So finally...someone got it right!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

Amazing

January 17, 2010
by Day17
fromMarshfield,MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
I got the loft one of these. They have so many ways to watch your hamster and are built perfectlyk for them. The only Bad thing is the water bowl thing keeps leaking down. But my hamster just drinks it so it turned out fine.
Pros: everything
Cons: water bowl
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews

December 29, 2009
by Holly291
fromEdmonton,AB
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
Cleaning this cage is easy enough, but every time a latch is opened it takes forever to line up the sides again in order to close it. Also, our hamsters can't figure out the water bottle either.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

Fun and safe

December 27, 2009
by hamsterluver4797
fromEau Claire, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
My hamsters really like this cage. I also got the adventure pack that goes with this cage. It gave them more breathing space because they have more to explore. I have two baby black bear hamsters so it is a little hard for them to get up the sides but if they try they can make it. The other thing that worries me is they can't figure out how to use the water bottle. They lap up the water if I pour a little out. I would recommend this for people with Syrian hamsters more then people with baby or dwarf hamsters because the sides are a little difficult to climb. They also really like the wheel and the little hiding spot under the food dish. They curl up and fall asleep in there a lot. The assembly is great too because the directions are very easy to follow. Overall this is a wonderful cage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

great for dwarf hamsters

October 22, 2009
by hamstersitter
fromWhitby, Ont.
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
I have many friends who use this cage- they all have dwarf hamsters. Personally, this cage looks quite small for hamsters, yet it is perfect if you purchase the other habitrail products. If you have a hamster (not a dwarf) its better to get a roomy-er cage.
Pros: perfect for smaller hamsters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews

Not that good

September 1, 2009
by StrawBerriTwist
fromUtica,Ny
What is your gender?F
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
My parents got me a dwarf hamster. I picked out this cage for my hamster, my parents put it together and after a day he escaped! I made sure he would not escape but he did. I was so sad. I asked for another pet, but I can't get one for a long time.
Cons: easy to escape out of
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

nothing is wrong with it!

August 19, 2009
by maddyhammygirl
frompulaski,Wisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
this is such a great product. i got my first hamster about a month ago and he loves it! he's arussian dwarf hamster so he fits perfectly! theres nothing wrong with this cage at all!
i reccomend this cage for dwarf hamsters and mice
Pros: its perfect for my dwarf hamster pumkin!
Cons: nothing wrong with it!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

It's a decent cage, but...

August 15, 2009
by buddy1630
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
I have had this cage for over a year, amd am on my 3rd hamster in it (God bless the 2 dead ones) And it's too small if you just buy the basic. Of course i decked mine out, bought the 2nd big globe thing like the orange and white one but only it's blue, and bought 2 or 3 expansion kits, i think i spent near 100 bucks (which is too much). It takes me about an hour to clean everything, and i'm not including putting it back together and getting the bedding in. But i got gizmo a new cage because there are these pieces of the top of the cage that gizmo likes to chew on and I CAN'T TAKE THE NOISE it keeps me up all night i've put things up trying to block him from getting to them and he chews through them and he recently found the 2 in the blue part so now he chews them too! You better hope your hamster doesn't start chewing on those pieces. I purchased the crittertrail X, it's pretty cool it glows in the dark! much easier to clean too, it's also a good cage. Now i have to figure out what to do with THIS cage...
Pros: expansion kits make it huge, fun for hamsters if you expand it, tough cage
Cons: difficult to clean, chewing, the cage alone is too small
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

Good if you really love your hamsters

August 12, 2009
by Zellisa
fromHolly Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
I love it! Its hard to set up if its your first time but you will get used to it. Cleaning is kinda hard but it is totally worth it, and you only have to clean it like every about 2 in a half weeks. The wheel is silent and the water bottle does not leak. I highly recommend it!!! if you but this you should buy the accessorizes to this it is very satisfied!
Pros: no leaky water bottle, silent wheel
Cons: hard to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

My hamster loves it!

August 11, 2009
by Lilib101
fromtexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this for my second hamster back in june when it went on clearence. my hammy loves it! shes a winter white dwarf. the wheel is pretty quiet but i can just barely hear it, the water bottle is cute, but she barely drinks from it because she cant figure out how to use it. and since the two doors slide, they connect on the side, and the one for the back door pops out on one side. its VERY easy to assemble. i recomend it for a gerbil, dwarf hamster, and mice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

Pretty good; just a few problems

August 8, 2009
by Erykah
fromMiami, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a really cool hamster cage. My hamsters love the hideaway. There are a few problems I have with it though. First, the holes in the wheel were too big and my hamster's feet kept slipping through. I fixed this by taping both sides. The water bottle is in an awkward position. My hamsters were able to figure it out after a few days, but it doesn't look very comfortable to drink from. At first my dwarfs had a problem with the stairs to the food bowl, after a day though, they figured out how to do it and are now flying up and down them. if your hamsters are having a problem with the stairs, don't worry. They should figure it out quickly.
Overall, a very good product.
Pros: escape proof
Cons: holes in wheel too big, water bottle in a weird position
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 105 reviews

Not Good For Mice

July 31, 2009
by MissHinasaki
fromDubuque, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got a good deal on this habitat when it went on clearance so I didn't have much to complain about at first. I used it for about a month and a half with 3 mice (had a lot of tubes and the little side rooms because it's a bit on the small side) but the ventilation was so bad that I had a terrible ammonia build up in less than half a week!
The bottle works okay if you put a bit of paper towel in the metal part but after awhile even that didn't stop it from leaking all over the table! The wheel was pretty quiet, but I wouldn't call it silent. I thought they would have trouble getting to the food dish on top so I got them one but I found them sleeping in the top anyway!
I don't know why people complain so much about putting it together. It comes with easy to follow instructions. Cleaning was easy enough, it was just difficult to dry the top since the layers slide over each other.
I would recommend this maybe for a hamster, but only with attachments since it's so small but it's absolutely terrible for mice!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, easy to put together
Cons: rodents get upset without corners, terrible ventilation, leaky bottle, too small by itself/need attachments
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews

okay cage

July 26, 2009
by kate101
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
My family just recently got a hamster named Lily. We picked out this cage because it had such high walls that we thought Lily would never get out. We were right, because she has never escaped but the cage is not very well put together. None of the latches ever stay on correctly, so my dad always has to fix it! The cage is very hard to clean because it has so many tight spaces that you cant even get to!!!! This cage is also very small, so two hamsters would be to much!
Pros: your hamster has many places to run
Cons: hard to clean small and dosn't stay together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

Awesome cage!

July 22, 2009
by hamsterandcrabgirl
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
I got this cage because we were going for a trip and i needed a carrier. This worked really well! My Hamster Cuddles loved the OVO and had the best time ever on our trip. She quickly adjusted and loved the home.
Pros: everything!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Habitrail OVO Pad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews

Winslow Loves It !

July 19, 2009
by JasmineAndWinslow
fromMississauga, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 105 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 105 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got a Russian Dwarf Hamster yesterday and bought the whole Habitrail Suite... and Winslow LOVES the OVO Pad..he loves going in the little sheltered part behind the wheel. It was easy to put together... I just looked at the box..and didnt need any instructions... The bad thing is that the stairs to the food dish are too steep for Dwarf Hamsters. Winslow doesnt use that anyways though cause his food is in big chunks... but he tried to go up there and see what it was and he couldnt get up..The wheel also squeaks a little bit and I couldnt sleep lastnight so I have to take it out at night... other than that its a GREAT Product..
Pros: a great adventure to all hamsters, easy to clean, easy to take apart, water dispenser is lovely for winslow
Cons: stairs are way too high and steep, the green den is too low dwarfs cant get up easly, wheel squeaks a little
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next