PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit

This in-tank meter rapidly warns you of water quality changes.
Overall rating:
2.7 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
5 of 10(50%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Review 1 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

pobodies nerfect

March 3, 2013
by zoowee
fromgta ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
it takes a day to start reading right but once working it reads changes fast. color scale on ph is hard to read but thermomiter and nn3 are great. I use it to tell me somethings changed in my tank then pull out my liquid test kit. Im over stocked with fish so changes happen fast and often making this unit handy but if your tank is properly maintained and not over stocked then save your money and get a test kit and old style thermomiter. besides this is a big unit and would cover half a 20 gallon wall. so unless you have a big tank its not for you
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Terrible

July 31, 2012
by Greytz
fromGeorgia
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is a terrible product that never even registered in my tank. It was costly and a waste of my time effort and money. Don't bother with this thing.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

dont waste your time and money

July 3, 2012
by aan2381
fromhaynesville la
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought it thinking for this much money it should do well and considering it was suppost to test for several things-i thought i was getting a deal. boy was i wrong- first it takes forever, 2nd you really cant tell the difference in the colors on the chart not to mention that they are not right. it kept showing that everything was to high so i added some things and there wasnt a change in the tester. after doing this several times i took a sample to petsmart and everything was fine-so i took it back thinking i got a dud the 2nd tester was the same way-so i guess im just out the money and alot of time and chemicals. do your self a favor and just dont bother- go get the little box of testing strips!!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

NEVER AGAIN!

March 11, 2012
by Fishfreak01
fromMississippi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
DONT BUY! Worst product ever! Doesn't work AT ALL!
Cons: didn't work, hard to use
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Awful product

January 3, 2010
by AngryAquarium
fromAdairsville, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
I saw this product online and decided to buy one when I went to Petsmart last week to pick up fish supplies and dog food. When I got home, I stuck it in my 55 gallon aquarium and waited the required 2 hours for it to start generating readings.
Here are the problems I have with this meter:
1. Even though it says 2 hours before it will generate readings, I waited almost 5 hours for it to become fully active.
2. The color difference in the comparison charts are so small that it is nearly impossible to get an accurate reading.
3. The accuracy of this meter is questionable. I had a pH reading off the chart so I decided to compare it to the pH test strips and liquid pH tests that I have. This product was showing a pH reading of about 8 while the other two tests showed a pH of between 7.0 and 7.2.
4. The thermometer is about 4 degrees off. It displayed a temperature of 84 degrees F even though my digital multimeter thermometer shows a temp of 80 degrees.
I was so disgusted with this product that it is now in a trash bag on its way to the landfill.
Pros: none!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

June 21, 2008
by alpine162
fromCHicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
3 in one, the best thing out there. Too bad you have to replace it quite frequently but it gives you constant readings that react within seconds
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews

Too large for a small tank...

April 3, 2008
by nonommy
fromWashington State
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews
I didn't realize how large this was until I got it home and put it in my 10 gallon tank. It takes up quite a bit of space and I'm wishing I would have just bought test strips. I do like that it constantly monitors PH and nitrate levels. Another reviewer said the thermometer was inaccurate but mine seems to work alright. I've only had it a few days so I'm unsure how long the sensors will last before I'll need to replace them. I do wish the PH strip went up to 8.0.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

Convenience doesn't always mean it's better

October 15, 2007
by bluedragonep
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews
While it seems convenient to have your pH, NH3, and temp all in one reader, it really isn't. First, while the large strips offer a greater area for comparison, the color increments are too similar to distinguish the difference on the pH side. The ammonia side is easy to read. The thermometer is inaccurate and is hard to read. The strips are supposed to last 3-4 weeks, but I have found that they last 2-3 weeks. When the strips start to go bad, they don't read correctly. This is bad because a strip failure could be confused with an alert to high NH3 levels. While it eliminates the need for frequent testing with test strips or kits, you still need to check the pH and NH3 with one of the test kits or test strips to make sure the Live Meter is still reading correctly and so you know when it is time to replace it. I liked the easy viewing of the Live Meter, but the Master Test Kit, is too cumbersome. I recommend going with the separate pH and NH3 Live Meters instead. They take up less room, but are still just as easy to see, even though it sometimes takes a little bit of effort to distinguish the colors.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

I love this thing!

September 4, 2007
by kaywee
fromSt. Pete, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
I recently purchased one of these, and I love it. I am a worry wart about my water parameters, and the live meter allows me to monitor both the pH and NH3 quickly and easily. The pH meter is a little hard to read when it is bewteen colors (values) but the size of the strip helps a great deal. I definately recommend this product!!!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Live Meter Master Fresh Water Test Kit
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product