PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics

Give your exotic critter the comfort of a deluxe 3-story home with over 8 square feet of living space!
Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 90
83 of 95(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Review 1 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Good cage, Sturdy, Big

February 28, 2013
by AubreyLovesRatties
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this cage for my two female rats to start with. It was easy to assemble if you have two people. The cage is very sturdy, spacious, and nice. The only problem I had was one of the bars was broken, so it made a 1 inch bar spacing. I fixed it by twisting a paperclip and now they can't squeeze through. I soon filled the cage with tunnels, hammocks, beds, etc. And then I bought two more rats. I may end up buying a bigger cage because it is at its max with four rats. But as soon as my girls came home from the petstore/breeder/rescue they were exploring the cage and having a blast. One of my girls loves to climb the bars. They all love the hammock after I put in a few bandanas, it makes it more comfy. The wheel is alright as far as the spacing. The only problem is that I have it hanging on the side and one of my rats runs so fast that it becomes pretty loud. I need to take it down. The base in pretty deep and most of the shavings stay inside. The only thing I dont like is that the urine gathers in the little groves of the levels and becomes a river. When I clean it, I wipe down all the levels and wash all the beds and change bedding. So its back to its original cleanliness. But its a pretty great cage overall!
Pros: sturdy, stylish
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Great for Rats.

February 2, 2013
by MinxAlibis
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Overall, it is a great cage for my two female rats.
Pros:
I have two female rats now but the cage could hold one or two more females easily. IMO it would be a little crowded for more than four females though.
The bars that are not only horizontal, but also more closely spaced together than the one inch spacing used in ferret cages. Younger and smaller rats will not be able to fit between the bars, if I want to add more in the future. One of my rats loves to climb and the horizontal bars make it easier for her to do so.
The shelves and ramps are made of a sturdy plastic, which makes them easier to clean. They are easy to wipe down a few times a week, so I only have to remove them for the deep cleaning session every two to three weeks.
The plastic base comes off easily to clean. The base of the pan is deep enough so the paper litter is not kicked out of the sides. My rats also don't chew plastic much so the corners are safe. I could see how heavy chewing rats could chew the base and escape though.
Cons:
The sides of the wire cages did not meet as well as I liked. Used plastic zip ties in a few strategic places to make sure no one got out.
The running wheel was noisy and came a little bent out of shape. The wheel is NOT good for rats. They can catch their toes in it while running. In the week before I got it replaced, my rats were fine with it though. No accidents.
I do not like how the cage doors latch to the cage. The latch is good but tucking the latch under a wire above the door to keep it shut has already bent the wire bars a little. Also, the cage could use a door on the top, but it's not a big deal for me.
I wish the plastic cage base was attached better to the wire cage part, maybe with a wire connector instead of two plastic clips, but it has held up well enough.
Overall, it is a good home for a few rats of any age, at a decent price. If you want enough room, but don't want to spend a lot more for the pricey cages, this cage is a good buy, if your rats are not heavy chewers.
Pros: easy to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

PERFECT RAT CAGE

January 13, 2013
by AkiHope
fromCarolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love this cage. I connected two of these cages together to give me plenty of room to fit our 12 Rats and its perfect. Our rats love this cage we are soon looking at getting two more and attaching them. They are sturdy even when you stack them they still hold up and its great. Our rats love this cage the bars are perfect They do not make too much of a mess on the outside of the cage being the bars are perfectly spaced. I just wish the price was a little better on it being I purchased a cage for 130 on here and its just as good as combining two of these.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Love this cage!

January 7, 2013
by HandsomeLillySunny
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
This cage is a very good quality cage. My chinchilla loves the levels in it so he can run as much as he wants. I love how the food bowl is built in on of the levels so he can't dump the food out. Also, my chinchilla absolutely LOVES the exercise wheel. He runs all day long on it! Definitely a good buy, worth the time and money!!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

HIGHLY recommend! Rats love it!

November 17, 2012
by JewelyCat
fromWilmington, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Wow! One of the best cages I have seen in my LIFE! It only took ten minutes to set up and it's really sturdy! This cage can comfortably hold four rats. I'm definately buying a second one and getting more rats! It's a lot bigger than I had originally expected it to be!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

This cage is so huge!!

September 27, 2012
by RattieMomoftwo
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this cage! I just received it last night, took it out of the box and couldn't believe how huge it was! Easy to put together! I didn't have trouble with the platform or ramp clips snapping off. I did not receive a water bottle, but the hammock that came with it is very nice! It has soft "fur" for the lining! My two girl rats were afraid to go in it at first because it is so much bigger than the old one, but once they got in, they investigated all corners! Climbing, and running around! I did not put in the wheel because it is a wire one and I don't want them hurting their feet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Fantastic cage!!!

September 1, 2012
by maggierocco12
fromColorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this product! It's so spacious and my rattie has plenty of room to run and play. She is not fond of the hammock but she might warm up to it after a while. I did put towels in the hammock so that it was a little more comfortable, because the hammock is plastic. I also took out the wheel because i heard that wire wheels were bad for their feet. I did replace it with a wheel with no wire. Over all this is the best cage i have ever seen! it's big enough to probably hold at least 3 rats if not more. I found putting it together kind of tricky but not too bad. It is so fun to watch her run up and down the ramps! I LOVE this cage! :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 95 reviews

Think about the long run!

July 31, 2012
by masquerademegan
fromConnecticut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got this cage for my two rattie girls, thinking it'd be a good temporary one until I upgraded. IT DIDN'T LAST A MONTH.
The plastic bottom is bad for rats...because they can chew a rat-sized hole overnight. I understand it's going to happen with plastic cages...but I've never had a cage go so fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

Pretty good cage.

June 25, 2012
by Punkatude
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Considering the price - it's a fairly decent cage. I wanted a cage big enough for my two ratties but I didn't want to spend the money on a CN. I love how big the cage is and the two doors on the front are very nice, it'd be nice for a door on the top though. I opened the box and threw out the wheel automatically. I heard a lot of poor reviews about the hammock and I completely agree. It's a tough plasticy material. It doesn't feel comfortable at all. It went into the garbage, too. The cage itself was confusing to put together. A lot of the hooks were bent in and I had to bend them out just to bend them back in again once I got it all hooked together. Two of the loops that the hooks go in were put on the wrong bar so I had to tie that side with wire which created huge holes between all the sides. I had to use about three pieces of wire on each side. It's not the most attractive-looking but at least it keeps them in. The black plastic hooks that are supposed to attach the cage to the base don't work what so ever and so the cage doesn't actually attach to the base. It'll sit in the base with a little bit of a struggle. To me, the cage isn't very heavy. It's just really awkward and when ever I lift it I have to lift it by the base and that's really annoying. I haven't had any issues with them chewing the corners or the bars so that's really really nice. A lot of people complained about the bowl that comes with it - I haven't had any issues with it. I already had a bowl so I use the black bowl for their fresh foods. Besides the loops being on the wrong bar- the cage is really nice. Not sure if it was worth the money, though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

love this cage!

June 21, 2012
by Rachie93
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this cage when I got my cavy and I love it! The cage is huge and has a nice deep pan. The shelves sit on the wire and can be adjusted to any height that you want. I love how big the doors are and the shelves are not too narrow or too wide.
The cage can be a hassle to clean because it is hard to get a good grip on the wires (maybe if you add handles on the sides it will be better). It is also hard to get the shelves out and back in. I like the design of the shelves because the wast will collect in the grooves but if it had a little bit higher sides it would be a lot better because the wast often gets kicked out when my cavy runs up his shelves. And the hammock is the cheapest hammock that you could possibly find anywhere!
All in all, I love this cage and I am planning to buy another one to house my chinchillas. It will need modifications because chinchillas eat plastic (take out the plastic shelves/ladders and replace with wood shelves & no ladders) and I'm going to add handles to the sides of this one to make it easier to lift and carry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

Good product, would reccomend.

May 18, 2012
by onisuika
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This cage is overall, a good buy.. If you're buying it from petsmart. I just got my two new boys, Beau and Riley. Unfortunately, I did not have the time to wait on my cage to arrive, so instead of ordering it online, I decided to go pick it up at a store. Unfortunately, my store did not have it in. SO, after trying to find a place who had it (I wanted this specific cage, since it got good reviews) I found it at a different place. I payed a lot more for the cage at the other place.. 99 seems to be, in my opinion, a pretty fair price. So that's a plus, if you order online. Although, I cannot say what the quality will be after shipping, it was in perfect condition when I received it from a store.
The assembly was a little challenging. I was by myself, and the cage is really quite large, so putting it together was a task.. But certainly not complicated. It's mostly common sense.
It's fairly easy to clean if you keep the shelves wiped down. Meaning, instead of waiting forever to clean it all.. Just occasionally wipe the shelves. It makes it easier when you do an allover clean.
Overall my two boys love it so far. There's plenty of room and lots of space to hang toys and hammocks.. The cage seems to be in good condition and holding up well. The only regret I have is not purchasing it online through petsmart. I could have gotten a critter nation cage for about the price I paid for this cage. But as I said before, it's a good price on this site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

My chinchilla loves it!

March 28, 2012
by stacystasis
fromRialto, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I wanted to swap out my chinchilla's old cage for something bigger. When I saw this cage I thought it was perfect because she would have more jumping and running space. She loves it! She likes running from the top ledge all the way to the bottom and she especially enjoys the hammock.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Pretty good cage.

March 17, 2012
by Chrishasloadsofpets
fromColumbia, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this cage for my rats and they absolutely love it. It's big and looks nice. I have more rats and am probably going to get another one of these cages.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews

This is a pretty good cage.

March 11, 2012
by PennyAmy
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The first thing I want to say is that this cage is way bigger then it looks in the picture! I was so shocked when I pulled it out of the box. And you'e better off not reading the directions. When I read the directions I got so confused and frustrated. Now that I have to take it apart to clean it, I have no problem reassembling it now.
One thing I really hate about this cage though is that my two little babies always kick the shavings off the shelves so they make a mess on my carpet around their cage! It's quite annoying. I also had to buy a new hammock because the one it came with broke, and I bought a silent wheel because the original one was too big and loud.
Otherwise I think this cage is great. Now that I have so much room I want to get another rat. I love my two little girls. They're only 7 weeks so I'm just nervous about getting another one.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

wonderful

March 5, 2012
by Ratmomofmany
fromLansing, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
purchased two cages recently for my 12 ratties 6 girls and 6 boys, they love all the room they scamper up the ladders, if they could talk they would say thanks for the bigger cage.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

love this cage!

January 21, 2012
by ambi
fromPhila, pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
When we got our 2 female rats we thought the rat starter cage was big enough and it was for a little while but then they grew. We searched and searched for an affordable big cage and after reading reviews picked this one. It is huge, much bigger than picture, they have sooo much room to run and climb and lots of room for hammocks and toys. We took out the food dish and added a fun tube, they love it. The only con is The hammock is plastic, and we do not use the wheel. It was not to hard to put together. Like other reviewers said when the shelf get urine on them it collects in the grooves but all we do is wipe them once a day, it only takes a minute. When we do a complete cleaning we do not take the shelfs out to clean it we just take off the cage part and hose it in the shower and clean and empty the tray. Not to difficult but could be easier. My rats do not chew the base so I cant comment on that, they have lots of toys to chew. If you do not want to spend he money for a critter nation this is deff a great cage for ratties.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 95 reviews

HATE THIS CAGE!

August 24, 2011
by Taylor088
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
1 / 5
1 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 95 reviews
i have this cage for my 2 ferrets & its horrible! its so hard to clean & kinda heavy! its hard getting a grip on the cage to pack it cause there isn't enough space between the wires! the doors isn't big enough to do anything & hanging there beds is such a headache! this cage of mine will be going up for sale! It's not worth the price!
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Best cage for rats!

July 4, 2011
by raty
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews
This cage is one of the best cages on the market for rats! I did a lot of research before I bought this cage, and I'm so glad that this is the cage I got! The picture doesn't do it justice it's so much bigger than I thought it was. I even measure it out before I ordered it. It's so large that you could easily house 4 or 5 female rats and 3 or 4 male rats. I'm actually going to get more rats because I have the extra room now. My rat Nicki loves it! It has so much room for her to move around and play in. She loves to run in the wheel and she loves to lay in the hammock! The only bad thing about this cage was the assembly it took me almost two hours to put it together but it was worth the time. Yes this cage is kind of expensive but for as much room as you get it's well worth your money! I love this cage and my pet rat does too! Get this cage you will love it!
Pros: stylish, sturdy, easy to clean
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Great basic cage!

June 17, 2011
by Misbehavior
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
My 3 month-old male rats adore this cage after being picked up from the shelter in the smallest hamster cage I've seen; it was only has big as both of my hands. Might have worked as a carrier for crickets or something.
Anyway, the cage is SO much bigger than it seems!! I definitely (happily) underestimated the size of this beast. The base is really deep, once again ENORMOUS, the ramps are a cinch for these little guys to clamber up, the shelves are wide and fit a lot of toys and most importantly, don't sag, the wires are horizontal - extracting vertical leaps of joy from my boys, and it has two doors (an upper and a lower). The doors have to be 'broken in' and are hard to operate initially. The wheel is squeaky and falls apart easily, but I wasn't planning on using that anyway.
Pros: stylish, sturdy
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Deluxe My First Home Cage for Exotics
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 95 reviews

Great cage

June 5, 2011
by Jedilee
fromRoanoke Virginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 95 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This cage is best for rats & smaller animals. Its to small for chinchillas & surgar gliders. I had this cage up in an hour. The selfs were hard to get in. But ive always buy the superpet cages for my animals because they have replacement parts online should i need them. I havent needed any yet! I didnt like the wheel but my rats love there new home! I found merlin sleeping in the food bowl this morning! This cage is worth the price!
Pros: stylish, sturdy, easy to clean
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next