PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Super Pet Rollin' the Hay

Rollin' the Hay Ball
Overall rating:
3.633 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 57
42 of 60(70%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Review 1 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 60 reviews

My Piggy LOVES this

August 13, 2013
by LuvMacky
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product is great for piggies. My piggy Macky, loves to eat from this, it's almost like a toy to him. It's fun to watch him play with it!
Pros: durable
Cons: leaks
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 60 reviews

My rabbit is uninterested...

July 26, 2013
by sparkyandmarie
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
got this for my rabbit, filled it with hay, and he hasn't touched the hay since we've gotten it.... don't recommend this product at all, not to mention that the door doesn't stay closed to keep the hay in :(
Cons: poor quality, leaks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Messy!!!

July 5, 2013
by Cavycrazy11
fromTX
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When my guinea pig rolls it the hay gets all over the ground and it is messy
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Must refill often, but the bunny loves it

July 13, 2012
by m0ka0nly
fromToronto, Ontario
I thought this was a great idea as opposed to a hay manger. The ball fits a lot of hay inside and I make sure it is packed in tightly. However, it does create a bit of a mess as my bunny consumes the hay because hay falls out of the bottom into a pile on the floor of the cage. My bunny has learned how to turn the ball with her paws to get at the hay.
The door closes securely and latches in place. However, the only design flaw is that once the ball is half empty the hay no longer pokes through the bars, making it very difficult for my bunny to get at it, even by spinning the ball with her paws. All the hay sits at the bottom of the ball which is impossible for her to get at if the ball is mounted close to the floor or if it is sitting on its frame. I have to make sure the ball is full at all times.
It is a great idea, but it has its cons.
Pros: durable, easy to clean
Cons: leaks, Doesn't Hold Enough Food or Water
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 60 reviews

My Chinchilla Loves this

January 23, 2012
by shaheen
fromLaHabra, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Chinchilla Loves this to eat hay out of and too chew...
It serves its purpose and after two years still has not broken. :D
Pros: easy to clean, Spillproof
Cons: leaks
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Decent Product. Didn't work for me.

December 2, 2011
by Nurski
fromSchaumburg, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I think the idea of the hay spinner is a good one. I thought the product was durable and had no issues with the door coming open as some other reviewers did. My issue with it was that it made a huge mess. I would stash it full of hay but once my chin started eating some it'd fall out all over. While I could have lived with that, I also noticed chew marks on the plastic by the metal bars. Plastic is very unhealthy for chins so I decided to stop using it. A pro is that my chin Mochi did seem to have fun trying to get the hay out. I would recommend this to owners of other small animals (besides chinchillas) who don't mind a mess.
Pros: durable
Cons: leaks
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Okay, but NOT for chewers!

October 2, 2011
by Jennalovesanimals
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had this when I first purchased my chinchilla. Bad idea. I'm not sure what I was thinking with plastic. The plastic was broken, parts chewed off and all. But, it is okay if you don't have a chewer, or a Chinchilla. I would reccomend this for other animals though. Other than the chewing fact, it held up pretty good!
Pros: easy to clean
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 60 reviews

love it!

August 4, 2011
by thatgirlmiranda
fromRalleigh, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i have 2 chinchillas, and beore i got this my chinchillas would never really eat their hay. Now i fill it at night before bed and it's gone in the morning!! they love to play with it too, it's usually flipped over or somewhere else in the cage (its not hooked onto the wall), they LOVE it!!!!
Pros: easy to clean, durable
Cons: leaks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 60 reviews

It's great!

July 25, 2011
by Dogs101
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My guinea pig is jumping for joy when she sees me refilling it. The door swings open after awhile, so I used a twistie tie to fix it. It's so cute when she jumps up and rolls it with her paws. It's really nice!
Pros: easy to clean, durable
Cons: leaks
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 60 reviews

Fun, effective and hygienic!

May 4, 2011
by Luellajean
fromFort Worth, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My 2 dwarf rabbits love this hay apparatus! I keep it hung inside their cage and they enjoy spinning it and munching the hay inside. It's easy enough to remove and refill, but not so easy that my michevious bunnies can get it open! I also love that they pull out what they eat, so there's a lot less waste than I would expect with a manger-type hay holder. So glad I bought this one, and you will be too!
Pros: durable, Spillproof
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Not the best!

March 20, 2011
by LoverofHammies
fromWA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two Guinea Pigs , and i got this for there hay and you put it in there its working fine but then when they eat most of it the rest of the hay gets stuck in the middle so i have to put more in everyday wich that really is not a prob , but the little peices fall out everywhere!! and my Piggies just pulled out the hay for fun! So it was everywhere!! Now i just put on the bedding on the floor and they eat all of it and it stays in one area!
Pros: easy to clean, durable
Cons: leaks, Doesn't Hold Enough Food or Water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 60 reviews

March 5, 2011
by shaws1
fromKY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
My guinea pig just loves to eat the timothy hay from this, she can't open it herself and even if she doesn't want to eat the hay at a particular time, she loves to play with the wheel by spinning it!
Pros: easy to clean, durable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 60 reviews

super pet rollin'

February 23, 2011
by luvmypet
fromalabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my pet, and when I put hay in it, it mostly fell out of the ball. This is a waste. I had to through out alot of the hay that fell out. I am going to return the item back and get refund. I got this so it would be easy for me to clean up and for my pet to get the hay and also play with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 60 reviews

Great Hay Rack!

February 7, 2011
by GuineaMoo
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Love this idea! I was kind of cautious before buying it because others said that the door kept swinging open, or their guinea pig would constantly knock it off the wall. But I have no problems, and the pigs find it easy to eat their hay!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 60 reviews

Its good but..

December 26, 2010
by Animallover34
fromChicago, Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My guinea pigs really like this, but the door has been flying open a lot and is REALLY hard to shut, and when i put the door in the ball the door falls in.
Pros: easy for my guinea pigs to reach and eat from
Cons: the door flys open a lot, the door is hard to shut
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 60 reviews

December 16, 2010
by BettaBuddy19
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My rabbit doesn't like this. It's hard for her to get the hay out. Now I just put her hay in a wooden box and she goes inside to eat. This thing was a waste of money. It's hard to open and shut the door and to get the hay inside. Plus it makes a mess.
Cons: rabbit hates it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

My rabbit LOVES this!

June 6, 2010
by BunnyLuver234
fromSeattle, Wa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My bunny loves this! its easy to fill with his timothy hay, but the only thing i hate about it is the door flys open sometimes and im worried if it hit my bun while hes eating!
Pros: good for supplying hay to my bun
Cons: door opens
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 60 reviews

I love this....

May 10, 2010
by ilovemybunny8
fromMD
and so does my rabbit, she has fun while eating and keeping hay off the bedding in her cage.
Pros: fun for rabbit, no hay thrown all over
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 60 reviews

Not the best.

March 7, 2010
by taylor1234567890987654321
fromDenver, CO.
my guinea pig always knocks it off the side of the cage. guinea pig gets trapped behind. got rid of it after a few days and used one of the sides as a bowl for the hay that used to be inside. it was good at first before the hay started falling out.
Pros: you can use one side as a bowl, good when 100% full
Cons: guinea pig always knocks it down, hay falls out, temporary, very very messy, guinea pig hates it
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Super Pet Rollin' the Hay
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 60 reviews

Not really enjoy it

March 5, 2010
by DarkDragon
fromHouston, TX
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My rabbit doesn't like this very much because it is hard for her to get the hay. It sounds like a cool idea but actually harder than it looks to load timothy hay. It also takes up space, so only recommended for large cage.
Cons: hard to load hay, hard for pet to get hay, take up space
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next