PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Lee's Kricket Keeper

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Lee's Kricket Keeper

Make keeping and dispensing crickets an easy task with this kit.
Overall rating:
3.654 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 51
34 of 52(65%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Review 1 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

Very Helpful

August 13, 2010
by peltingmot
fromBoston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love this product! It's a great way to feed your pet reptile or amphibian without ever having to touch a cricket. The crickets love the black tubes to hide in. Keeping part of an egg carton keeps them from getting too packed in the tubes and allows them to feel safer while eating. I put the calcium directly in the tube, attach the other clear end and spin and turn it to coat the crickets. Finally, with most crickets in the egg carton you have about 2-5 crickets in each tube. I've found leaving the tube open on one side in the terrarium and tilting it up allows them to crawl out on thier own so you don't have to get calcium all over your pets habitat.
Down sides are that the tubes are very hard to clean and the box cover lids for the tubes are very flimsy. But no crickets have yet to escape!
Pros: no more handling crickets, keeps crickets in, easy to use
Cons: hard to clean tubes, plastic is somewhat flimsy
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Awesome!

September 5, 2008
by reptilezoo7
fromLafayette, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I keep a lot of crickets for my reptiles and amphibians and have three of these of various sizes. They are the best thing for keeping crickets and are easy to use for feeding. The crickets hide up in the tubes so you don't have to catch them. You can put the end of the tube right into the reptile enclosure or into a container with calcium/vitamin powder. You basically choose how many crickets to feed by how hard you shake the tube. :)
You might want to have two Kricket Keepers so you can rotate them for cleaning. Use up all of the crickets in one container and then clean it once it's empty. Then the new group of crickets goes in the clean container so you can use up the older crickets in the other one.
I like to keep the pieces of egg carton that come with the crickets in there also because the crickets like to hide in them (I like to keep them happy while they're here!). When the number of crickets starts getting low in the tubes, I just pull out the piece of carton and they go up in the tubes.
These come with little containers for feed and liquid but you might want to add more. The larger plastic lids from gallon bottles of water work well.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

This is a must have!

September 11, 2006
by Rosebud
fromNY
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I was in Petsmart one day getting some supplies I needed for my (soon to be frogs) tadpoles. I was looking for a cricket cage to keep my crickets in, and that's when I saw this... a wonderfully built cricket cage! I purchesed it and it keeps all of my crickets where they should be, in their cage! I no longer have to worry about chasing crickets all around the house as I had been dreading before I bought it. And it's also really, really easy to get the crickets out when it comes to chow time! I most certainly recommend this product to all reptile or amphibion pet owners! It's a must have!!!
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Absolute waste of money

September 5, 2013
by Lizardlover89
fromTuscaloosa, Alabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
I bought this for my leopard geckos and my bearded dragon to keep their crickets in thinking that it would be a great cricket keeper... WRONG!!!! It wont even keep the crickets. The crickets keep getting out!! I am very unhappy with this product!!
Pros: easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

Very convenient!

April 18, 2013
by Made0fWax
fromGlenpool, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
This product is perfect for me. I hate touching crickets, and with this keeper I don't have to. They climb into the little tubes so you just have to shake them into the cage.
I have not had any problems with crickets escaping through the ventilation holes or anything. They can't even get to them, much less escape through them.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews

It's okay

April 17, 2013
by Blaze20
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
35 crickets may be a little to much. Yet my fire bellied toad eats well from the cricket keeper. It isn't scared when a gently tap the crickets in with the black tube. More then hafe of them go into oen tube. Yet that cricket keeper is hard too clean. When your taking your old food out, and water , it becomes difficalt.
Pros: sturdy
Cons: hard to clean
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews

Good for LARGE crickets not Small.

April 3, 2013
by iBored91
fromBrooklyn New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
I purchased this a year ago when I got back into the Leopard Gecko Hobby. Also keeping in mind I wouldn't have much contact with the crickets. I put small and Medium crickets in here and within minutes I had crickets all over the place. The crickets get through the ventilation grids. Out of the time I've had this about 40% of the time the crickets will be in the tubes. For the price and lack of efficiency you are better off putting your crickets in a Sterlite bin and use toilet rolls. This product is best used if you want to keep LARGE crickets for a short amount of time.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews

ok...

March 25, 2013
by beardielover5000
fromutah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
works ok but the crickets didnt even go into the tubes.
plus i hate crickets
Pros: easy to clean
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

this is great!

February 23, 2013
by ratlover177
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
You don't have to touch the crickets its easy to clean some people say that the crickets get out but so far that hasn't happen.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Crickets escape

February 12, 2013
by ecb97
fromMississauga, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
At first glance it seems like an excellent idea- which it is! The tubes are quite effective in wrangling the crickets and easy to shake out into the habitat. But i repeatedly found crickets wandering around my house. I wasn't sure where they were escaping from at first i thought maybe the gaps near the lid so I plugged those up but then it ended up being the small spaces above the tube opening where the hinge for the flap is. I had to tape over it. Once it was fixed it worked fine but I lost a lot of crickets and lets just say that some people in the house were not happy with finding them.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews

A for idea, F for design.

January 3, 2013
by preludecurtis
fromVirginia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The Idea of the cricket collector is genius but i had to tape up holes to avoid cricket escapes? 3 Stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Makes meal time easier and more affordable

December 12, 2012
by Alesia
fromTwin Falls, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have three beardies, two babies and one adult. This keeper allows me to buy crickets in bulk and be able to purchase crickets much less often thus saving me money ( where I buy them bulk is cheapest) and time. I just throw in cricket food water gutloader blocks and their good to go.
Its so easy to remove the tube and shake out the crickets into a smaller container where I can powder them with calcium and vitamins. This product isn't a must but really convienent and makes feeding time much easier with less escapes during transport into powder container. It is bit expensive and a regular critter keeper can do as a holding tank for crickets but it does NOT match the convience this product holds. The price makes me consider this a product a luxury.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews

Good design, but too many escapees.

November 5, 2012
by Tarantulaowner
fromKelowna, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
At first, I loved the tube system. It works perfectly. But it's so easy for the crickets to escape!! The air slots are way too big, and the crickets can get through the space around the hinge for the tube flaps. A lot of tape solves the problem, but the tape needs to be removed and reapplied every time you feed your pet.
I got the smallest All Living Things Critter Tote instead, and the crickets never escape. It doesn't have tubes, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Crickets escaping

August 26, 2012
by Viper626
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
I thought this was a cool little thing for a good price so I bought it for my leopard gecko. Ive had my gecko for about a week now and have already gone through 86 crickets. He didnt even eat until the 3rd day I had him which means AT LEAST 40 of these crickets have escaped. Now I have to go spend MORE money to buy another type of keeper, plus more crickets ! :(
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews

Awesome at first, but doesn't last long + escapees

July 16, 2012
by Anonymous
fromKentucky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
I bought mine a while back and the day after I got it I realized the bottom was cracked and less than 2 weeks after I got it (maybe less then one week) the plastic caps started cracking. The small crickets also escape easy if they manage to jump to the rim, because they can grip it up there and work out by where the tubes go in.
Unless you get a large one, do not put their egg cartons in there! They'll use them to get up higher and get out.
Also, when I started using full grown crickets, somehow one still managed to escape. I can't imagine how, but there were 3 when I left them and two the next day.
If you do get one, get a big one.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
Cons: flimsy, size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

Good but flimsy

July 12, 2012
by 1GreenAnole
fromPhoeniz, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews
it is a good cage but it is very flimsy and will break easily. Other than that it is a good cage. I have 1 green anole and it was being eaten alive by crickets so i got the cage and he is much better.
Pros: easy to clean
Cons: flimsy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

Does the job.

July 2, 2012
by ChelseaSz
fromLivonia, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
This is the only functional way to keep/catch your crickets. However, the tube caps (the clear plastic tops) are not so stable. Almost all of mine have cracked/broken. This keeper does the job, though! I recommend it, but maybe be a little more gentle with it!
Cons: flimsy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Thing is junk!

June 27, 2012
by klvance19
fromSouth Bend IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews
The crickets just get out. We buy more than were able to feed to our pet. We've taped the trap doors and the flaps and we ended up having to tape half of the air slots going across. Will see how that works but it's not worth all the hassle! DO NOT BUY
Cons: hard to clean, flimsy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

It does the job with few problems

May 30, 2012
by DerpyTurtle
fromElk Grove, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews
I never fed my turtles and my bearded dragon, any crickets until I got this. I have read many reviews about crickets being able to escape, and that is the main problem about this kricket keeper. There are little holes above the tubes, making small, baby crickets able to escape. I have had a few minor issues with that hole. One baby cricket came out and i'm just lucky I caught it in time. I guess you can just put something over that hole like some tape or mesh with tiny holes, and just take it off later.
It is an excellent thing to get, but like I said, it's best to get bigger crickets so they can't escape. Other than those holes, you basically hold responsibility for what happens.
Pros: sturdy, stylish
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lee's Kricket Keeper
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews

Crickets escaped!

March 5, 2012
by petlover56
fromIllinois, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 52 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 52 reviews
I bought this product for my leopard gecko's crickets. This ''cricket keeper'' did not properly keep the crickets safely in the container. This is the story- One day I was home alone and I walked downstairs and there it was, a cricket! I was very angry that this product was supposed to keep the crickets but it didn't! I told my father and he said,''Oh, I've been killing about 10 every day!'' I was like,'' Oh, I thought it seemed like they were decreasing awfully quick.'' Also the tube things were very hard to take out. The tubes also bothers me because when I was transporting the tube to the cage, crickets were falling out. I recommend buying a tupperware container, and housing your crickets in there, you can just cut a hole in the top and shake them in. I don't recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: stylish
Cons: hard to clean, size
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next