PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds

Parakeet Playground
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
4 of 12(33%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Review 1 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

My parakeets hate this.

August 5, 2012
by Farmgal13
fromLakeville, Mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this for my 2 parakeets, Angel and Sky. They hate this play stand. It was very hard to put together. The glue would not stay, and the colors bled from me touching the woood to put it together. My birds didnt do anything while on this except look bored. Do not buy, invest in a better play stand.....!
Cons: price, easily destroyed, stains
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

awsome

May 11, 2012
by ariconnie48
fromnew hampshier
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
i got this for my parakeet. it is a good playgym. dont wash the wood it will bleed. it didnt bleed because i didnt wash the wood. the swing falls off easy. my parakeet likes the top perch. the rock like toy was useless but i like it anyway. my parakeet uses evry thing exept the rock toy. i set it up without glue. i kept the glue for broken toys. the place behind the perch is hard to clean but the rest is easy to clean. i got it for $14.99.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash, price
Cons: stains
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Not a good toy

February 19, 2012
by CrashCheetah
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
I got this for my Parakeet Millie. I had it on my desk and she just stands on the rope and does nothing with it. Most of the time she just goes to sleep or would rather climb and chew the random objects on my desk instead of this toy. I also hate how it bleeds when wet. I also hate that the glue is not labeled. How do I know it's really a safe glue? It could be something cheap like the coloring used in the wood. I would not recommend this toy if you love your bird.
Cons: price, easily destroyed, stains
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

awesome

November 8, 2011
by CHESTERTHEHAMSTER
fromTexas,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i use this for my hamster cleo she loves this she climbs on it all the time. Her favorite thing is the bell and the ladder i will recommend this to anybody with a bird or hamster.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Meh...

August 30, 2011
by Rosetail
fromEugene, OR
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It seems a bit small, I had no trouble with puting it together or anything, it was so easy I did it in the car on the way home. Frankly though, there aren't a whole lot of activities for my bird though. My parakeet, her name is Mouse, seems very bored when she is on it and refuses to go on the swing because it is very small and the bell is to close to her head. When I try to get her to play with it she just climbs up to the perch area and sits there. So I wouldn't suggest this as a toy but maybe as a perch for outside the cage. I also have been using the bell and ladder for inside her cage, so I didn't completely waist my money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

June 7, 2011
by Wyvernfire22
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
My two parakeets hate this play stand. It was hard to put together, the glue wouldn't hold, the colors bleed all over, and it wobbles and falls apart when they use the swing or the ladder. They lost all interest in it within a week. I opted for a perch that attached to my window sill instead and they like it much better.
Cons: easily destroyed, stains
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Not so Great.

January 13, 2009
by Ponto
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
I have 2 birds Charlee(F) and Teddy(M). Teddy just sits on this and he looks really bored on it. Charlee is just plain scared of it. But she isn't scared of my other playground. I don't know, but its not that great. The swing keeps falling off too. I don't think that's very safe for charlee or teddy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Poorly Made!!

February 15, 2008
by Anonymous
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
It's WAY too expensive and it doesn't even fit in my cage! And when I take my Parakeets out, they just sit here and do nothing!
The dye from the ladder wears of if you wash it. Also, the swing keeps falling off! Don't buy it! It's not worth the money!
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Very dissapointing

December 10, 2007
by CailinBirdLover
fromSparta, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
This play gym is very poory made. All the dye came out when my bird knocked over her water bowl, then the bottom of the gym was covered in bubbles and the birds ripped it all up. Also,(when it was still all in one piece) all the parakeets did was sit on the top. It did not encourage them to play. To make things worse, the swing was way to small and it kept falling off. Never, EVER waste your money on this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

not so good

November 30, 2007
by daniela41
fromcanada,ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
this toy isn`t that great by my mind.Since its 60.00$ the bird plays for about a week or two than gets bored.Its way to expensive and not alot of activities to do on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

good exercise for birds and it is safe!!

July 27, 2007
by 5goldfish
fromCupertino, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
sell it in bigger sizez. the birds like it than get bored of it after a litle. kind of good! i would not buy this if you were one of those kids that thier mom let you buy a bird a buy the bare esentials to save money, dont buy this!!! cuase its very eeexpensiv
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Penn-Plax Small Bird Activity Center for Parakeets/Small Birds
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Safety 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews