PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch

Calcium perch naturally trims the nails and beak of your bird.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Review 1 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Broke when trying to set up.

March 6, 2014
by GCCforLyfe
fromMinneapolis, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm not a very strong person or anything, but somehow I broke this perch. I was screwing on the metal plug when the perch snapped in my hand. I was only holding the perch in position when it did break so I don't believe I did anything wrong. I hate to be the person who ruins a product everyone seems to love but I wanted to let people know how delicate the product really is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Good product

November 12, 2013
by Rachav
fromBirmingham, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These perches are a great way for my birds to get the calcium they need.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Awesome!

July 20, 2012
by Farmgal13
fromLakeville, Mn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this perch for my 2 parakeets, sky and angel. They love it! They rub there heads on it, and then there heads turn pink! Very cute to witness :) they chew on it all the time.! I had it for about a year, and they just "finished" it. Time to get a new one! Best $5 i have spent on a perch ever.... BUY THIS! Your bird will love it!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Didnt use for a bird....

July 9, 2012
by HollyH1221
fromMadison, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I rescued a neurologically challenged gray squirrel in Wisconsin who had fallen from her nest, which was pretty high in a tree. she was so docile that we let her climb freely around our living room. she always climbed on top of our curtain rod. she was already strange. but after she fell she temporarilly paralyzed her back legs. we did our research and figured out she needed calcium. i read up on calcium and figured out she needed cuttlebone. i know this product isnt cuttlebone, but it is very similar to what we got. it worked great, she slowly regained control of her legs and went off to live with more squirrels in a wild animal rehab. center. she may be deemed unreleasable due to her issues, so we plan on buying her this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Parakeets love it!

June 3, 2012
by luvabird
fromAnn Arbor, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I have 2 parakeets and they both love it. but sense that's their favorite perch they are always on it and there's lots of droppings. they are always eating it and trimming their beaks but I don't like when they eat it because there is droppings on it and no way to clean it.
Pros: durable
Cons: difficult to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

turns heads pink!!!

June 18, 2011
by eviekiki
frommiami FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i really like this product. and so do my 3 parakeets. they use it to scratch there head and it turned tere heads pink. its kinda funny 2 see. but they loved it
Pros: durable, Keeps Nails Trimmed
Cons: easily destroyed, difficult to clean
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Alright

March 22, 2011
by BirdLover36
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
My bird loves to perch on it, but it doesn't chew it.
Pros: durable, Keeps Nails Trimmed
Cons: Difficult to Attach, difficult to clean
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

cudee

January 1, 2011
by cudee
fromnew york
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
This perch is turning my birds feather pink they both have a pink hue to them.. and the manzanita swing with the yellow rope turned my white birds feathers yellow.. They need to stop with the dyes
Pros: birds like it
Cons: perch dyes the birds feathers
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

love it!

November 2, 2010
by hamsterlover97
fromhillsborough, nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
my parakeet loves to chew on this and it is good for him too! i am glad i bought this product!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

great

August 3, 2010
by animallove13
fromspringville, ut
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
i love this perch my keets like to eat it and they just love it i would recommed this product. Another thing sometimes it may be hard to get all of those vitamins in your keets diet and this is a great way to do just that.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Penn Plax 5 Calcium Perch
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Great product

April 7, 2008
by luvmyparrots
fromJ-town ND
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I have this exact perch in the cage w my lovebird (had one in my parakeets cage which have since been rehomed) My Junebug (lovebird) will not touch a cuttle bone or mineral stone but loves this perch. Infact aside from the rope perches this is where he can be found when he's in his cage and not chasing around his balls.. I will buy this again
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.