PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tetra Whisper Air Pump

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Tetra Whisper Air Pump

New design provides reduced noise and vibrations.
Overall rating:
4.015 / 5
4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 136
102 of 137(74%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Review 1 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Tetra Whisper Air Pump Excitement

November 13, 2006
by misty2440
fromTy Ty, Ga
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
I bought this pump after many comparisons and consideration of the different fish in my tanks. While breeding fish for a number of years with various size tanks, I have now found the ultimate air pump for bubbles, or just energizing the water in the tanks. The pump runs quite, comes in different sizes to fit most needs and my fish love the extra energy in the water.
I would highly recommend this pump as one of the best and it has proven to be a great performer as well as cost effective for the years to come.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Works Great!

March 13, 2014
by Gclo
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 137 reviews
Ive had this air pump for my 10 gallon tank for about 5 years now. IT is extremely quiet and works just as well as it did 5 years ago.
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Extremly quiet, great bubble production.

March 8, 2014
by chucktownfishguy
fromSC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Got this airpump (whisper 40) for my 29 gal bowfront FW aquarium and have been very pleased. I have it connected to a 6" long airstone along the side of my tank. I had it on a timer the first day, and when it came on the second day it was LOUDDDDD (like extremely loud, thought about taking it back) but within a few minutes it returned to being silent (im guessing it just had to work harder to pump the water out of the airstone that it had absorbed over night). To prevent that again I just leave it on 24/7 and its quieter than all my old airpumps in the past that were only a fraction of the power of this... To those that complain about it being loud, give it some time to push through most of the water soaked in the airstone and see if that resolves the problem, bc it truly is near silent.
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Quite noisy but excellent performance

March 7, 2014
by KbeeBeatz
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
I must say that it does make a lot of noise. I have both the 20 and the 40 which is no different than either, but that the 40 has more of an output than the 20. I eliminated the noise by putting a cloth under it to absorb the vibrations. In my opinion, buy the 40 or above. The 20 does a decent job but not good enough. I have a 4 inch stone on the 40 and the amount of bubbles are amazing! It is big and bulky but use the common sense to hide it away from sight.
Pros: easy to install, powerful, lots of bubbles
Cons: loud
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Perfect!

February 27, 2014
by SuznSerg
fromPhiladelphia, PA
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
No complaints, it works perfectly and is truly whisper quiet!
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 137 reviews

TOO BIG

February 18, 2014
by Reefmaster
fromJersey Shore
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Well the box said "Whisper". It is made by Tetra. It does NOT whisper at all. It is big and ugly. Old technology in a fairly modern box. Junked it for Petsmarts own TOPFIN pump. Couldn't be happier with that one! Small, quiet and efficient. I don't even know its on, and its 1/3 the size of the Tetra!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

I like it

February 3, 2014
by unohoo
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this running a 7 inch long air stone in my 10 gallon. The air output is plenty. I have it in a drawer under my tank and it sits on top of a 3" thick cleaning sponge to absorb the vibration as the bottom of the drawer is really thin. You can barely hear it with the drawer closed. I tried it next to the tank and it was also very quiet there but I move it so it would be out of sight. It's a nice little pump.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

So far it couldn't be a better product

January 27, 2014
by dsf33
fromfairfield ct
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I had initially purchased a more expensive, name brand product, and found the fish tank air pump to be too noisy.
I returned it and exchanged the name brand product for the house brand air pump. The house brand is quiet and cost me $15 less.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

It's really quiet

January 26, 2014
by kcpronto
fromMontana
The bubbles make sound of course but this air pump is really quiet! Have split the hose with no problems either, it's powerful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

So quiet

January 25, 2014
by Jenn51
fromSan Gabriel,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Really like whispering sound.. Got the whisper 60, so great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 137 reviews

January 24, 2014
by spookey
fromdenver
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The pump works well but as for it being the reduced noise pump that may be a streach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Great Product with Plenty of Power

December 29, 2013
by JimInAtl
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Very impressive, and super quiet!
This pump, along with in-line flow adjusters, is running 3 tanks, that each have the 30" bubble walls in them!
It works so well, I put it on a timer!
Pros: easy to install, powerful, quiet, lots of bubbles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Tetra Whisper 20 Aquarium Air Pump

December 22, 2013
by SamIamIam
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I exchanged my Fluval Q1 for this pump, and I couldn't be happier. The Tetra Whisper really does live up to the OUTRAGEOUSLY low noise level that it emits. Don't let the low hum fool you, because it still creates a lot of bubbles in my forty gallon breeder. I would highly suggest this item for anyone interested in owning an air pump.
Pros: easy to install, powerful, quiet, lots of bubbles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 137 reviews

too loud

December 19, 2013
by TTie
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
2 / 5
2 / 5 137 reviews
Quite possibly the loudest and hardest vibrating air pump I have ever owned or heard. Thought I was going to replace a really old air pump with a quieter one; ended up returning this item and keeping the old air pump.
Pros: easy to install, lots of bubbles
Cons: loud, Vibrates
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews

This doesn't whisper it shouts!

December 16, 2013
by Balrog
fromHalifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 137 reviews
For a pump that's primary claim to fame is that it whisper quiet, this one certainly seem to be suffering from a bad case of sleep apnea. It should be called the Snore 100.
I have an iPhone app called “Decibel” which measures sound loudness. In a quiet room my existing air pump pushes out 56 decibels the Whisper shouts out at 67db!
I am taking it back to my local PS store in the hope that the unit I have is atypical and only needs a CPAP machine. I will try and test the replacement in-store and report back.
Oh.. And another thing. Power wise this unit didn’t pump any more powerfully than my existing pump.
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…
Cons: loud, Vibrates
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 137 reviews

Quiet air pump

December 11, 2013
by Eleria
fromPalmdale, CA.
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
4 / 5
4 / 5 137 reviews
My biggest thing in having an aquarium is getting everything as quiet as can be.
I set up a under gravel filtration system and I bought the whisper 40 and so far so good. It's super quiet. You can barely hear it if it is set up properly. I would recommend this product to anyone.
Pros: easy to install, powerful, quiet, lots of bubbles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

Fantastic!

November 28, 2013
by goodbetterbetta
fromUpstate New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
This air pump is the best. Super quiet, powerful, and not even that ugly as compared to some air pumps.
It does make a quiet hum, as to be expected with any air pump, but it is so minimal most of the time I can't hear it or it becomes white noise. To reduce the sound even further I just put it on something soft like a wrapped up towel. Just make sure nothing is touching it that will make it rattle like a wire or the wall.
It goes a great job keeping my goldfish tank aerated and I would highly recommend it.
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet, lots of bubbles
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews

Disappointed

November 24, 2013
by CalculatingFrog
fromWoodbridge, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
3 / 5
3 / 5 137 reviews
I purchased this pump to get some movement in the water area of my terrarium. It gave up in less than two weeks. Very disappointed. I have used many air pumps over the years, but this little one, though pretty quiet - as advertised - did not last. The price was great, but obviously not worth a mere two weeks of work.
Pros: easy to install, quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

GOOD AIR PUMP

November 19, 2013
by BPORT
fromLos Angeles, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Nice price, not loud, and powerful. I enjoy this air pump.
Pros: powerful, easy to install, quiet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tetra Whisper Air Pump
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews

GREAT PUMP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

November 9, 2013
by password
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 137 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
The pump is very powerful, quite, easy to install, and gives you lots of bubbles for every one even the cons! I just got this pump today and it works great.
Pros: easy to install, powerful, quiet, lots of bubbles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next